Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SvardBjorn

by Windmill Games - Jam Entry

One Viking. Hordes of enemies. A final stand.

You play as Svard Bjorn, a fierce viking who has to fight off a growning number of enemies using only two buttons.


Controls:

*Menu*
arrow keys to navigate - Space to select


*Game*
Tap left or right arrow key to attack.
Hold left or right arrow key to shield against projectiles.
Tap left and right arrow keys to attack upwards.
Throw a spear by hitting 3 enemies without taking damage.
Gain an ultimate attack by reaching 10 (20, 30, 40...) combo points.
Hitting an enemy right before they attack you will knock them back.
Press F for fullscreen. (While in menu)


Made by:
Simon Rahnasto - Programmer - @windmillGames(Twitter) - www.Windmill-Games.net
David Rahnasto - Graphics - @windmillGames(Twitter) - www.Windmill-Games.net
Emil Odelius - Programmer
Milan Kovarbašić - Sound design - milan.kovarbasic@gmail.com - @Naxalit (Twitter) - https://www.linkedin.com/in/milankovarbasic

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#33Audio(Jam)4.14
#36Fun(Jam)4.04
#47Graphics(Jam)4.54
#73Overall(Jam)3.93
#109Mood(Jam)3.85
#166Humor(Jam)3.41
#177Theme(Jam)4.07
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:57am

Fantastic entry. Graphics are great, audio and sound effects really add to the experience. The gameplay is nice and fluid and lots of fun to play! Nice job!

philipp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Nice sound effects, juice and graphics. Gameplay is a bit too simple for my taste, but i see the appeal. Also great entry in general, nice work for only 3 days.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45pm

This game is so fun to play! It feels so good to slain the enemies. And the art is amazing and I really liked the Game Feel and the juiciness

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Feels very polished!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20pm

What a great game! Very clever use of the 2 button control scheme, it doesn't feel like a limitation at all and it's very responsive. Presentation-wise the game is fantastic, loved the graphics and the hit effect. Would love to play it on mobile with an online ranking. Great job guys!

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20pm

The Theme "2 Button Controls" forces your games to be simple. While keeping only 2 Buttons, Windmill Games decided to add a 3rd control. With a 3rd way to die, the game becomes a lot more interesting and surprisingly hard to master.

The artwork and the music is also nicely done and fits to the game very well. Though I do understand why you would choose rock, a kind of pimped up version of a traditional scandinavic tune could have been even better. Keep up the good work!

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Good entry.. runs smooth, good graphics and sounds.. nothing to complain really.. wanted to move with the character though :P.. cheers!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:25pm

The game is pretty fun, but it is quite hard right from the start. A little learning curve would have made it more enjoyable. Anyway, the mechanics in place are fantastic and I really love the atmosphere and the music. Good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04pm

A wonderfully polished two-button-brawler, with great sprite art and a rocking soundtrack!

I have to actually disagree with philipp's response, and say I would have prefered it a little less complicated, actually. That's just a personal opinion, but I feel I would have enjoyed being able to knock the spears out of the air more than having to shield for them.

Wonderful showing for the time you had!

hydancer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:19pm

This has really really good art, so good job on that. However, for a game like this to work you need really responsive controls. Take a look at One Finger Death Punch for an example. Whenever you press a button your character should attack instantaneously and be ready for a next attack almost instantaneously (if I were to put it in numbers it'd be below 0.3-0.4 seconds). In your game though each action (except the air attack) takes a really long time. The default animation takes a really long time, so if you have an enemy coming from one side and another from the other close enough, you can't hit both even if you want to because the animation has to finish on one side. The same goes for the block. Because of this I can't say the game was particularly fun to play, but if this were fixed it'd be a huge improvement.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Another amazing entry. Using the special attacks (spear & ultimate) seemed to be prioritised over using the shield, which made it a hard to block every time. What's your high score?

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:16am

Nice work norse fella! I hope see you in Valhalla!

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:00am

Fantastic entry. Felt really smooth and responsive. I did run into a minor bug where a spear thrower ended up spawning offscreen but never moving forward.

Ulydev says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Superb entry with beautiful art!

tobia88 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:32am

Nice work with those graphics! Like the controls too

josefnpat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:22am

Fantastic entry! The graphics were fantastic, and the game was fun! <3

SiENcE says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Very fun game and supercool pixelart! The animations are fabolous for so little time!

Very complete entry.

Karai17 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:29am

Another solid entry from Windmill Games! Simple bit effective game with good controls, music, and visuals. I only have two qualms: return should be used for selecting menu items instead of space, and blocking attacks was somewhat hit-and-miss (pun very intended) due to using the same control scheme as attack.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:00am

Wow! Great game guys. The artwork is brilliant, the gameplay fun, and the music sets a nice rocking mood. Splendid.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:16am

This should have tons of comments! Solid entry, I know people who would play the shit out of this game on their Ipad. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]