Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growvolution

by pi_pi3 - Compo Entry

Growvolution
(Previously called "The Shrubberry shrubbery eating and tree herring-cutting Dinosaur")

Uhm. What do I write here? Play the game I guess?
It's a "survival" third person slasher. You control The Shrubberry shrubbery eating and tree herring-cutting Dinosaur and must avenge your family. Eat Shrubberry shrubberies, bunnies, deers and, finally, humans to growvolve. You win by eating all the humans.

This game can be launched with itch, itch.io's launcher. Tested on win7 x64. If you don't now what's itch, check it out here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=52767

Controls and instructions are thrown at your face in-game

If you can't find any humans, press G. It will show arrows pointing towards them.

If you get any crashes, contact me

Changelog:
Bugfix #0
- Crash related to xInput controllers fixed

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#240Humor2.90
#704Overall2.98
#705Mood2.64
#711Graphics2.63
#723Innovation2.71
#796Theme3.26
#820Fun2.60

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:30am

I couldn't get past the intro screen :(

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:39am

I had fun, but game crashed when I tried to eat a human

Azor1 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:35pm

It didn't load. Here's the cmd prompt.

C:\Users\Azor1\Downloads\Sseathcd - pi_pi3's LD34 entry\Sseathcd - pi_pi3's LD32 entry>java -jar ld34_mpl_x64.jar
[15:33:28.525] Ludum Dare #34 game-thing by pi_pi3
AL lib: (EE) UpdateDeviceParams: Failed to set 44100hz, got 48000hz instead
Dec 14, 2015 3:33:29 PM net.java.games.input.DefaultControllerEnvironment getControllers
WARNING: Found unknown Windows version: Windows 10
Dec 14, 2015 3:33:29 PM net.java.games.input.DefaultControllerEnvironment getControllers
WARNING: Attempting to use default windows plug-in.
No Controller found; Returning null
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NullPointerException
at com.uniraptor.ld34.Main.initEngine(Main.java:97)
at com.uniraptor.ld34.Main.main(Main.java:322)
AL lib: (EE) alc_cleanup: 1 device not closed

C:\Users\Azor1\Downloads\Sseathcd - pi_pi3's LD34 entry\Sseathcd - pi_pi3's LD32 entry>pause
Press any key to continue . . .

pi_pi3 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Oh shit. Sorry Azor, I forgot to check if a controller was found. Gonna fix it right away and upload the fixed version in 20 mins.

pi_pi3 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:06pm

@Azor1
Fixed

brainybeard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Hey man, overall a really interesting game. Hilarious story behind it (or is that mean to say? :P ) Unfortunately I bumped into a human on my first go but didn't find any more on my second or third playthrough... The graphics have a real nice look and feel to them, looks really retro and arcade like. Maybe add a few more sound effects and music in the future? Great job dude!

jmf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Liked it a lot. Art was great and the the sound effects were awesome. Didn't work for me initially because I had an ancient java version installed (version 6!) but after I upgraded it was good.

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:51pm

I liked it, really neat perspective and sounds.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:03pm

The game worked, but I could not find any humen which was kind of sad.. T.T

yuigoto says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:56am

Nice entry! Really got me hooked on eating and evolving! The backstory is also pretty humorous too! :)

Great work on the engine, the old school graphics and working the concept! The controls also work like a charm!

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Pretty fun game. I thought it was funny how the dinosaur changed into a bubble bobble dragon. A few complaints though: There isn't a time you don't want to run fast, so having a button for it was kind of unnecessary. I also thought the camera angle was a bit too high. But other than that the game is quite good. Nice job!

pi_pi3 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:08pm

@Sheepolution
There is actually a time you don't want to run too fast. I probably didn't make it clear. The deer run away if you're running.

samsquanch9 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Fun game. I enjoyed chasing around the human when I actually found one. Great work!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Nom nom nom, after level 2 I tried to eat human but the humans ate me (dang).
I like this kind of games where you can get bigger and get "upgraded". However at level 2 I was just thinking "welp...getting next level is going to take too long".
Nice overall experience though :>

Yvanor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Simple but quite hard game. I found it quite void, perhaps because of the lack of music, or because there is not a lot of objects in the world. Anyway, good little game, which can be greatly improved anyway ^^

monetai says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:04pm

couldn't find the launcher

Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:13pm

It was a fun concept, especially the "EAT THEM ALL" part, but the mechanics felt a little bit grindy at times.

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:36pm

really nice idea.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Reminds me of the good old days of Spore

f7f5 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:32pm

I really liked the generated world and the graphics, but I found the gameplay was lacking some pace. Maybe you move too slow, or the world is too big (in my 1st attempt I died of thirst because I couldn't find any lakes), or maybe it takes too long to grow...

Shurty says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Hello,
the game worked perfectly for me (x86).
As for the game I like the idea of Evolution (especially dino ! who doesnt love dino ! ^^ )
But I think the dino moovement is too slow. and maybe not enough water resources. I died at lvl 0 because I coulndt find any water. Maybe the rabbids hide the lakes or something :p

Loneshark says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:39am

I finally got enough power to take on a human and right before I got to eat him it looks like the client closed and the console said something along the lines of 'paused. press enter to continue' then shut down on me =(

I think it's a cute game, but the food curve for 'leveling' turns it into a music-less grind (and there aren't nearly enough deer to satisfy my dino's taste for flesh). I'm also disappointed I never got to kill and eat my stray human prey.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Cute game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XwDbETpIdpU

Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:48am

Interesting art style. The fov is kind of weird, maybe try an orthogonal projection, that would also help with the billboard sprites when the pass directly below. Also, the player's color kind of blends in with the background, I think an outline would help. Gameplay was a bit slow, just chasing around helpless animals for a few minutes. Didn't notice a big difference from the level ups, I hoped it would make a big speed increase or give powers. I managed to kill 1 human before another one killed me.

DBRalir says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Interesting game, but too slow-paced for me. Humans are too easy to defeat. Artwork is nice.

I got this error when fighting a human: http://hastebin.com/vatenurohi.txt

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]