Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Temple of Doom and Friendship

by A333 - Compo Entry

Your ship has crashed through the ground right into the very odd looking temple.
The temple is huge - good thing that you've managed to crank up the ancient machine to move around. Controls are weird though.

Basic help:
Feed the plant and it will grow. You will not be able to progress further, so grab that water tank and bring it back. Oxygen will replenish faster if you are closer to the plant and it also depends on its size.

Game features two control modes.
Simple: arrows - go to direction, press together to jump.
Advanced: Shift cycles between jump, turn and start/stop. Space performs selected action. I haven't beat the game in this mode, so it might be unwinnable. Proceed at your own risk.


More concepts:
The plant creates oxygen around it, but it's weak, and the temple is huge. If you wander far, watch your O2 meter. As the plant grows, it will gradually fill the areas with oxygen. The plant will grow if you feed it with nutrients, but the final stages will require fiddling with some alien machinery.

There's no death. If you lose the oxygen or be hit by a stomp, you will be teleported back to the plant.


Known issues:

Sorry Firefox folks, I haven't got enough time to optimize the game. It will lag as hell. Chrome should be fine though.

Moving platforms are buggy. Sometimes you can clip through them. It's good that there's only, like, two moving platforms. Stomps are working much better, so enjoy your stomps.

As usual, no music. Hosting problems ate my last bits of time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#47Theme4.34
#47Graphics4.28
#188Humor3.08
#197Mood3.43
#203Fun3.56
#218Overall3.59
#532Innovation3.09

Comments

525 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:17am

nice game. i love the pixels.
it remain me “Blaster Master” on the NES.
why i cant drive the tank anyway?

and there is aproblem i think.
the controlling is not so good(i mean the jump).
the game is been kidnapped by the theme.
when you trying to fit the themeļ¼Œ the controlling has been sacrificed. i dont think its good for the game.

and after all. its a good game~

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:49pm

The sound was a bit annoying. I like the aesthetics! I didn't really understand what's going on but all in all good work!

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Really good game, the art is nice! But it got kind of frustrating to wait so long for the oxygen to regenerate, still good!

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:59pm

The level design is quite clever on this game. It took me a while to get used to jumping in the right direction, but when I started thinking about it like I just press backwards when walking to jump in that direction the whole thing became much more enjoyable.

A minor complaint is it wasn’t obvious what places had O2 and which didn’t. However still a good game.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Nice usage of the grow theme, found the controls, and high difficulty rather frustrating!

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Really enjoyed the art style, but I have to agree with 525 that, although the controls fit the theme, it brought the gameplay down for me. But overall, you did a great job and it was fun & challenging to play.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Lovely graphics. The "return" sound effect is way too loud.
Took me a while to figure out the gameplay, but after that it was pretty fun.

kiiro94 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Very good graphics, controls worked out very well

Zarkith says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:08pm

The last section was pretty annoying to beat without checkpoints, but the cute ending made it all worth it. <3

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:08pm

awesome! creative and entertaining, controls were very smooth once you get used to them, well done

sitronTe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Great game. Great graphics.
Two button controls doesn't work too well though.
But overall it's really nice

A333 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Thank you everybody! Glad you've like it, and sorry if the experience was a bit rough.

I know the controls aren't particularly good even on standard mode. Should have added the third mode with jump button, but I liked the idea of two times so much I just couldn't resist.
I also agree that sound is bad. Havent' had enough time for it, will try to prioritize better next time.

Oxygen regens around the plant, and if you grow it, the oxygen will regen faster. Probably should made it more clear, but I've tried to design the game so the zones you'd need to clear will always lack oxygen.

If you find that the game is OK with standard control scheme, try the switching one. It was kind of first idea, but after some prototyping I've realised how horrible it was. Left it as a bonus for the die-hard steel plated Ludum Darers out there.

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Quite nice game, original idea. It takes some time to understand how to play, having to go back to refill oxygen, but then it's sort enough and I enjoyed finishing it.

I like the idea of using two buttons combined for jump, I was looking how I jump at first. It's funny because sometimes you intend to go left and then right fast and it jumps, sometimes you want to jump but aim well, it's a funny mechanic for the theme, because one can mis-jump or mis-aim.

Husky says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:09am

I like the way you combined two themes and progress together, it feels solid!

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Like the way the game advices player to go back and restore oxygen but it's boring to wait until it restores.
Graphics are fine!

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:45pm

This was really enjoyable! i really like the concept, and the nice use of the two themes.

VascoF says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:33am

Really enjoyed this, well done :)

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:56am

Great little game. Love the art and enjoyed playing. Well done

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Hey good platformer. Pleased to see something made with coffescript (my game is made with typescript but have to check coffe). Well done!

Milo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:46pm

I liked this game in general, though the controls were quite frustrating - it might be nice if there was some grace period around jumping where controls didn't affect your direction. This was particularly problematic given that everything was timed. However, I thought the graphics were nice, and the level design was good.

BoredOfYou says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:58am

Tedious gameplay

Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Extremely polished entry given the time limit. The gameplay is pretty typical puzzle-platformer fare, though the oxygen mechanic adds a nice bit of tension. It got quite hard, and the controls didn't help, but you kept the difficulty balanced.

The graphics are good, though the protagonist's design seemed a bit odd. I actually assumed they were an alien, until I saw the ending.

The writing is pretty good, though some of the narration at the start was missing punctuation. Also, the font seemed a bit... unsuited to the visuals? A bit too thin? That's a tiny nitpick.

Highly recommended for everyone!

Spoilers below



The ending scene is what made this game stand head and shoulders above all other "escape the ancient ruins" platformers. Beautifully drawn, a nice horrific twist to the story, and also really, really funny. I love this game now.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]