Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Super Bros (that are not Brothers!)

by Xinelu - Jam Entry

Welcome to the Super Bros !!! (well... they are not real brothers... but anyway)

Here another link to play it!

http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/667447?updated=1

Before i forget, they are super bros! Keep then together through the stages, they grew up together, and wish to keep that for the rest of this game!

This is entry is for the Two Buttons :D

Controls - A left D right and both together jump!!



PS: For a lack of time this entry is without sound =(
PS2: I forgot to put credits! So i did a little update just to put the credits!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#488Humor(Jam)2.68
#856Theme(Jam)3.19
#864Fun(Jam)2.70
#880Overall(Jam)2.88

Comments

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:17am

Love the concept, but man it's hard to keep them together. It sounds silly, but I think it would make sense to add a railing to platforms to prevent them from pushing each other off. Also the tutorial message at the start should be shifted a bit to the left so it can be completely seen right from the get-go.

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:30am

Pretty cool concept! I like the idea of having to keep the two characters together. it remimded me a little of how friends were in elementary school.

Just a bit of nitpicking though with the blue boxes. why? the one time the blue box gives insightful information is the point where noone trusts it, or cares about it. and even then, the player could've found out themselves that it wasn't a free fall just by having a slight sense of adventure.

This game has three controls, not two. A,D, and R. this easily could've been fixed by replacing the r button, with a+d to restart.

"the glitch door" was unnecesary, and provided no additional content to the story of the game. this could've been interesting if before the glitch door was found, it appeared as if you were in the last level on the map, but suddenly theres a new path with one more level.

Overall, it wasn't a bad game. the controlls are pretty tough to get the hang of though. as you said you were pressed for time, so overall, with what you had you did great! sorry if i came off as a big jerk. the blue boxes really get to you.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:42am

Reminds me of the mario RPG games.

hcosta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:44am

Really interesting! It remembers me Captain Toad :D

antonuklein says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45am

Interesting concept, but it doesn't feel that great and the typos keep getting to me. Like "hit bellow" (below) and below it says to hit R.

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45am

Really good idea, but keeping them together was a pain(a minor one albeit).

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:47am

Nice concept, and good job being able to manage the camera with two characters. Congrats!

Polona says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:51am

Brilliant idea but very hard to play.

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:03am

Concept was good but the controls execution killed it (not in a good way).

Reisen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:03am

The control scheme is Action 52-esque awkward.

So, you want to do a running jump? Oops, you can't!

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:05am

lol, nub :)

OkaDoka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:06am

Really really enjoyed this. Keeping them together was rough but I enjoyed it.

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:06am

Really liked the concept. I agree with other commenters that it was really hard to keep them together.
Maybe have some safe areas mid-stage where they can easily regroup.
Overall good job!

teamross says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:07am

Cool concept! I enjoyed it.
Fast and clean, good job!

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:08am

Very hard, the characters seemed to get stuck off of each other at times.
I found it hard to play without cheating and using the arrow keys

ruerob says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:19am

Whoa it is hard to play this game. But I like it. I managed to reach the second level and bookmarked it for later. I want to reach the end! But I need sleep first!

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58am

The game has a very nice concept. It's a bit difficult to play but maybe that's just me.

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59am

Interesting concept, not easy to keep them together, it's kind of challenging :)

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59am

Great concept, was tricky to keep them together, but was very fun

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00am

I can not even do the first jump, I am bad :(

djfariel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:01am

Fun game but I removed the duality of the players by a large degree by just walking back into the left wall till they were side by side.

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:01am

Clever. Good concept, charming graphics. Frustrating. Very very frustrating, and a lot of fun!

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:01am

Really liked the art of the brothers and enjoyed the concept. The 2 buttons for jump made the game really hard to play though.

GogglesKitty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:02am

Interesting interpretation of the theme! I don't know if it's intentional, but the arrow keys work and completely defeat the whole "two-button" thing :P

MisterAddy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04am

Simple but fun concept. The arrow keys are much easier to use than A and D. I got a bug on the freefall stage and lost my characters.

SethR says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04am

Interesting and I like concept. I think it work work better if you could move in the air while you jump. The way it is now you have to do these super "quick taps" to do jumps right that left me frustrated a bit.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06am

Great concept, love the idea. The controls were difficult to say the least.

yesandgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07am

Yeah, cool concept! Tough to play though. Not sure if it's design or just me being bad but it's a hard mechanic!

cudabear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07am

Gameplay was a little lacking, in the end this was a pretty basic platformer with two characters to control at once. Controls were a bit iffy, pressing A+D together while trying to also use them to move left/right is a bit cumbersome, though I know you were trying to fit the theme. As a question, why did you make a running animation for the title screen but not use it for the game?

LeetLeaf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:29am

Great game! Cool controls, very challenging!

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:45am

How's the theme being applied here again? I sure had fun though!

johntherobot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50am

The concept is pretty good, but the jump mechanic is rather bothersome. Just challenging to get used to the lack of a running jump. Good job though!

dvdfu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:38am

Neat concept, but it's a little tough on controls. Good job with the fake boxes though!

Dyn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58am

Awesome and hard for me, I like art and concept.
Very good!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:36am

When playing with A+D alone, it was brutally hard. But with A+D AND the arrow keys, it became a walk in the park.

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:54am

Interesting game. Loved the idea.

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02am

Nice puzzle game. Controls could feel a little bit better but I had fun with it! ^^

SpringCabal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:23am

Cute concept, but it's very frustrating to control. If you press a or d too hard when trying to jump, you lose all momentum and jump straight up in the air. Neat concept, but the loss of momentum when jumping makes it very frustrating.

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:33am

Cool fun game and the buttons reminded me of the ones in microsoft powerpoint :D

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:37am

The Masterpiece.

dusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:52pm

hard as hell
really nice idea

muffty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Its so tricky! But its more 'two button control' + 'stick together' isnt it? :D

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:36pm

I agree, concept was good, game was not.

SadSmile says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Cool concept, but i couldnt even beat the first level xD

issa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:52pm

The controls are unintuitive which makes the game feel like it was made in spite of the theme rather than for the theme.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:57pm

cool and creative concept. very challenging

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Pretty fun, but I don't think this works properly on a non-mechanical keyboard (like I have) as you cant move and jump at the same time (unless you use the arrow key 'cheats' which stops it being a 2-button game)

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14pm

controls won't work on mac web...

Muel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Awesome! For something made in 72 hours, the gameplay is neat.
The controls just need to get used to, kinda tricky, but overall I liked it.

So, about that bug, the season pass is already on the preorder?

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Really originall mechanic and fun to play. It's also really hard, checkpoints could be useful. Nonetheless entertaining gameplay.

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:38pm

It would be interesting to see more mechanics that involved distancing the brothers appropriately. I found I was just grouping them together and completing levels that way.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52pm

So original! Some sounds will be nice. I think the game is easy and the controls work really well :D

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Good idea, good game! I enjoyed!!

BuffaloPhil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Love the concept!

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Hum... I like the game! It's great!
but the controls are too difficult >_> The jump control (A & D both together) don't allow to control to move in jump, so you have to find a trick to move freely in the air

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Cool idea, but the controls are difficult. Getting the two to jump and move forward at the same time took me a while to get used to. Nice work though!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:55pm

It is a platformer with broken gameplay. It is not following the theme and the two buttons to jump made the game very hard.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:09pm

This reminds me of Super Mario Brothers (they are actual brothers).

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Secrets had potential but I feel were misused. There was very little challenge in the game. Having to use your mouse pulled me away from the game.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Really cool. One of the smoothets game i played so far.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Nice idea- It was really hard (Which is not a bad thing.

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Might as well have ignored the theme to be honest, it's pretty much unplayable using only two buttons. Not a bad concept though.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Solid game, controls took some getting used to.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Cool game, very challenging

Peekotus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Its so hard to keep them together.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Difficult to play, the two button design didn't work in this platformer.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:33pm

The concept is neat, but the level design should be more forgiving. The art of the characters are pretty awesome too :)

coldman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:37pm

The idea is just great. Too bad the jumps are that hard :/ You should make a post-jam version with smoother movements!

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Tried it several times and while graphically it loads, the A & D don't seem to move them around. Clicked on the game, pressed just about every key I could think of and they just stand there jittering.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:21am

Cool idea but unfortunately I can't really play it due to keyboard chording.. When I hit the jump combination my keys are cancelled out and there's no momentum. Reminds me of Enough Plumbers!

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:32am

Nice idea. I didn't like the blind drops nor the pointless challenge. I did like the little messages. Good Luck!

NoradZero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:05am

Nice concept!

2pae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:09am

Its very nice but very hard too. I love the concept but the controls inputs are a little arcaic. Nice job

SoulBound says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:44am

Its a fun game. I find it a little hard to control the characters, sometimes one jumps while the other does not. I also find it challenging, but not to difficult, its well balanced.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:47am

I really like the idea of the game, but it seems a bit impractical in its current state. Some people have suggested things like gates and rails to make it easier, and I would agree with them. Good job!

DonEngland says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:15am

Good times. I noticed they were easier to control with the arrow keys than with w,s.

Aaranos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:31am

The controls limit the fun of the game for me. I found the controls to be very picky in that you can't hold the jump but have to tap it or you just jump straight up. The arrow keys also didn't jump for me but they did move left and right.

Other than the controls, it's a good game.

Beavl says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:32am

Love games where you control more than one instance of Player. And this idea fits really good with puzzle platformer genre. Interesting. Cheers!

micky says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:48am

nice concept :) really fun and hard :)

Mikhail says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:51am

I liked the game! Great job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:09am

Interesting use of the theme, but difficult controls.

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:22am

very cool concept simple and original, but also extreme hard, i couldn't complete the first stage, only cheating with one character haha, but good concept and good work! the sprites are cute too

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:34am

I can see what you are trying to do, and I think it could work really well, but you need a lot of work on the controls, as I'm spending more time fighting with them than the game's concept (which is where I should be putting my effort).

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:39am

Super unwieldy with the jumping mechanic. Needs to remember which direction you are running when you jump, or at a way to pick which direction you go while holding both keys. Most of the time you just jump straight up and down.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:00am

Pretty enjoyable entry. Really unique concept, but a very difficult game. Liked how you went about jumping. Nice job xD

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:55am

Pretty fun! This is a really cool concept.

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:23am

It seems like a lot of people didn't discover this but the arrow keys actually also work as left and right (not jump though). I used the arrow keys to move and a&d to jump. Made this a pretty darn easy game, actually.

Pretty fun. I liked the last level the best!

Hjalte500 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:22am

The concept and controls were pretty nice but found the graphics to be a bit lacking. Would've been super neat to see something other than green boxes. Also it uses more than 2 buttons and definitely isnt about growing so what the hell?
Also jumping with a+d never worked..

SwitchTeam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:01am

Nice

VideoDog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:05am

Controls are quite frustrating. Jumping is neigh impossible. Nice concept though.

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Very fun concept. But I feel deja vu, this idea is not unique?

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:31pm

The concept is ok, but the control is very strange, its difficult to jump and move, because they stop in air.. I like the game but it needs some fixes, nice job ;-)

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:03pm

It's really tough to control, since you can not jump and move at the same time and the brothers push each other off the edges :(
Nice idea though, wish I could say more but after several tries I couldn't get past the first level :(

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:12pm

The basic idea of controlling two guys was actually good but the rest is not so good in my opinion .. :/
-The controls are actually left/right/up arrows to move .. :/ with a+D ofcourse it gets like hell ( also practically impossible ) so i didnt really like the gameplay (with A+D or without it )..
-it sounds like a game with story( super bros who're not really brothers ) but a sentence or two is no story in my book .. . :|
-there's no animation or whatever in the game while this guys are walking or jumping though they're moving quite a lot in the menus ( it usually should be the other way ... )

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Cool idea! I liked how some of the initial platforming bits were easy to recover from.

It's really difficult to keep them together though. I wouldn't mind if I could stack the brothers, although I would probably be subverting the point of your game!

I'd keep playing around with this idea. You've got a cool one, and I think it'd be need to see a more developed version of it. Thanks for uploading!

Nicolas Gass says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Hard to play. I can't reach the top with 2 guys, but its fun.

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Concept's cool, but it'd be better improved with better level design. It felt like kinda the same thing 4 times

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Imo it would be better to make them not stop each other from jumping. I understand that you might not want players to overlap them walking for gameplay purposes but them blocking each other annoyed me a bit :(

maerzhase3000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:07pm

love the concept. is quite nice :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:39pm

It's a great concept that's for sure! Although the controls get a little fiddly from time to time. I'd love to see what some other types of obstacles could add to the game, as this kinds of ideas usually lend themselves well to interesting spins on platforming.

Good job guys!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Good!
But a bit hard to play :)

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:50pm

difficult to control, but fun to play ;) nice job!

Gornova says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:23pm

controls are really hard for me, sorry but even first platform is hard to do jump on it

shellbot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:28pm

It was a good concept but poor execution in my opinion. Much too difficult to keep them together. I would have much preferred the same control scheme with just one character. I couldn't make it past the first level to see if you did anything interesting.

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:38am

I like the idea, but the controls were really difficult and uncomfortable. I feel like the movement is too stiff? I'm not sure. I hope you keep improving this in the future, it seems like it has the potential to be super good! =D

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:02am

simple to play yet difficult to master :)

gmatsura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:44am

Funny and fits the theme, but I felt like the theme was a hindrance on the gameplay rather than a benefit.

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:47am

Extremely difficult to play! I liked the general concept but I feel that it play much better with a dedicated button for jumping. But because 2 buttons is a theme the a+d jump is a pretty nice solution :D

yuotta says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:40am

This game is pretty neat but the controls are really difficult to keep them on the same course. Would really have loved some audio too! It is a good idea though and I would enjoy a full version! Love that you used C2!

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:52am

Like the concept but it proves unwieldy, having to jump and then press direction ends up missing a lot of platforms and ends to frustration because the two can block each other. Using Up is okay, but kind of breaks the theme? Regardless, that feels like an option for folks who can't press A + D at the same time due to sticky key stuff. Interesting concept, shame there's no sound with it :<

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:36am

really hard to go together...

richardboegli says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:10am

Fun to play, but the A+D for jump makes it a lot harder then if there was another button. But good work on finding a way to jump while still keeping to theme restriction.

guoboism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:29am

Love the concept´╝îbut it's really hard to jump on the first floating platform......

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:54am

The fake text boxes were funny but the controls were a bit clunky, the only way I was able to beat was using the arrows (Which is a bit of cheating)

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Cool concept and fun gameplay, but very hard for me.

Patomkin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:50pm

The concept of two players that are tied together and do stuff together is very appealing. Alas, what I find myself doing is running into walls to get them as close as possible and then simply jumping. Sometimes one of them glitches and stops to increase the distance before the jump and fails said jump, so you need to group them up again.
But I wast disappointed when I found out that you really need only one brother to complete the level - I managed to pass the freefall one by leaving one up and throwing one down :(
But the idea is really nice and with some work and love put into it could result in a good game :)

Baransu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Really hard to play. But I like the concept :)

tribrain says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Cant play :( controls won´t work :(

Wicked7000 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Its a great concept but keeping them together is hard due to the fact that say there is a platform on the right to get to that you have to jump to get to. It means you have to press A+D Then very quickly press D

Split82 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:50pm

The last level was perfect! :) Great job, I had fun playing it. Thanks.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:38am

I liked the concept, but for me it was really hard. It is really hard to keep them together. But nice idea and job!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:45am

The bad: I wanted to get into this one I really did because it was a neat concept but it is very difficult. In order to make some of the jumps they need to be very close together. Also, it took me about 3 minutes to figure out how to let go of one button after I simultaneously make them jump-- that part just doesnt feel intuitive. if you would have put something in to move them closer together on certain platforms or, say allowed one to get on the others shoulders until the next time they land on a jump it would have really shined.

The good: charming, good concept, very true to the theme.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:51am

Fun and charming :) I wish there was a bit more variety in the level design, and falling off a platform into the abyss didn't reset the level...I had to quit and restart. But it's a solid concept that's worth exploring more :)

Big Cow says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Very clever of you to have two that you need to progress. Simple puzzle platformer true to the button theme. Found the running animation quite hilarious.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Love the concept! The controls are a bit unrewarding though.

bradur says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Interesting idea but the controls are a bit rough.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:13pm

It was extremely frustrating that you can't move and jump at the same time without moving your fingers in an uncomfortable way, so I couldn't even pass the first level.

jrc03c says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Like some of the others said, it's a fun idea, but really hard to keep them together!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Neat idea, I love games where you control two characters at once!
It was very challenging to keep the bros together, and the jumping was quite hard to get the hang of, good job nonetheless!

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Wow damn that was hard controls to learn, and even after I did I wasn't good at it! The idea was there, but at least for me the learning curve was too tough :(

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:30am

This was really cool. I didn't realize that you could press "up" to make them jump. Once I realized that, this became far less frustrating. Good game, overall.

23 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:59am

Good idea, but it seems like they bounce off each other sometimes and I'm not sure why?

OctoStudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Really good idea!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Great concept the controls were very frustrating though, the characters stop moving when pressing second button while moving, making the input feel like it's working against you.

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Nice entry, clever use of the theme, but very difficult to control!

punkto says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Jumping and moving is difficult with only two buttons... I can't finish the first level :)

RoynLimb says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Very challenging. Jumping was a little hard since it seems that when you jump the Bros. freeze in place unless you let go of one of the buttons. This is why I found it hard.

kepons says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:30pm

The level design was kind of plain. I felt like controlling one big character, not two small ones. It was a bit humorous, though.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Very cool and tough game! Lovely art and level concepts

barret907k says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:33am

Fell of a platform. No way to get back on. No controls to show me how to reset a level.

SamH says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:10pm

This is too damn hard. My main problem is with the controls: jumping stops the side movement, which is really frustrating.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Hey there fellow Construct user! :)

Completing the levels isn't really a challenge and it's all about using the walls to get both characters togethers and then playing like in any regular platformer.

The game needs more mechanics to make it more interesting, but it's a game jam after all.

Congrats on finishing the game!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Good take on the theme. The input problems killed it for me though. One brother would sometimes not jump when the other jumped, especially when jumping and moving pretty fast, and they would stop moving towards the direction they were previously moving when jumping, which took a while to get used to. Overall, I think a bit different levels would have been interesting (only tried the first two though, because I accidentally pressed R instead of the arrow at the finish line).

drludos says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:55am

I love the concept, very fun to play, yet simple to understand. You should definitively develop this into a full fledged game with more levels! I love the humor with the secret box and the "bugged door" too! Congrats!

axoona says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:19am

The levels could have been more interesting but this is still a very fun puzzle platformer.
I found it impossible to play with A+D only though, arrow keys were necessary.
I suppose that the main screen could just use keybord for better user experience (but its a minor detail)

gloim says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:42am

neat little game. the concept is interesting and the art is nice :)

Skywilly says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:45am

Troll box is trolling !

Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:16am

Nice concept, but it's pretty hard to finish since it's so difficult to keep them together. Jumping left sometimes blocks.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:38pm

The controls are a bit off which makes this game frustrating

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:18am

It would be nicer if you could jump then move without releasing both buttons before pressing one again.
e.g. press and hold a+d, then release d to move to the left while in midair.

Tortoise says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:12pm

enjoyed it but it was hard to keep them together when needed and sometimes one would not jump. good concept.

beetracks says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Interesting idea, but the controls are not very good. They stop when they jump. You need to release for keeping moving. If it was deliberately done this way, I disagree it's a good control. Other than that (and the lack of sounds, of course) I enjoyed pretty much the platforming and the need to keep both together. Good use of the theme.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Pretty interesting concept but the controls make it ridiculously hard.

tazdij says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:30pm

I think it is a really cool concept.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:13pm

great idea and use of theme but very hard to manage the controls! however well done :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:31pm

The two character sprites are excellent, and I love the title of the game. Unfortunately, navigating both characters was too difficult for me. Cool concept, though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]