Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Aquatic Growth

by AdenMansonGames - Jam Entry

This game was made in a short amount of time for the Ludum Dare 34 Jam. I did not have much time and this is not my best game. Be sure to support me and download early access to my upcoming game! http://adenmansongames.itch.io/dark

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#557Fun(Jam)3.11
#691Theme(Jam)3.48
#694Graphics(Jam)3.11
#823Mood(Jam)2.73
#839Overall(Jam)2.96
#1001Innovation(Jam)2.18

Comments

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:24pm

nice game, congrats

antonuklein says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:31pm

At over 2000 points, the score text goes into the Health text. Also, your readme didn't have any actual installation instructions, unlike what the itch page said. That's it, really.

antonuklein says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:31pm

At over 2000 points, the score text goes into the Health text. Also, your readme didn't have any actual installation instructions, unlike what the itch page said. That's it, really. It's okay.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Pretty simple game, maybe if there would be a way to escape the enemies, that would be cool :)

zguerrero says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Nice little game, simple and fun!

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:40pm

I suppose I won with 3000 score. There could be some finish screen or something. I liked the feel of progress.

marod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:47pm

It's a very simple game and not very innovative at all...

Kakureta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Cool game. Not very innovative but it's always fun to see a game similar to something you've played a long while ago :)

Soka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:04pm

I won't say the obvious, but that doesn't mean it isn't fun :D I enjoyed playing it but like with agario, I lost interest real quick, good job anyway n_n

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Very agario-ish. It would be nice if you saw your character grow though. Graphics are okay.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Ok everyone, I updates the game with some bug fixes ^-^

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:45pm

*updated

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:13pm

I like the use of the growth theme. This is a cool idea. Reminds me of Agar.io. I think the game would have been a lot better with some sound effects and possibly some mellow music to help set the mood.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Nice game! Needs some improvement, but I like it.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:31am

Great mood, and nice innovation. Would love it with music, but all in all well done. c:

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:42pm

I liked the art style and the gameplay worked ok and you finished it too :)

Also as a side note I always used to use the Jam to finish off a game that I didn't quite finish for the compo, plus although I wouldn't have the Monday off work an extra few hours in the evening would really help sometimes to allow me to make something I was happier with :)

Well done on your game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]