Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Burgeon

by matthewd673 - Compo Entry

Navigate a world full of doors, monsters, and amulets to reach your ultimate goal of... well... who knows? Navigate the increasingly difficult levels to reach the end.

I hope to work on this game more in the future to add more mechanics I just didn't have time for as well as a level editor. I'll keep you guys posted!

Your hero can switch between 3 sizes - small, regular, and large
Small hero can fit through small door, regular hero can fit through regular door, etc.

Use blue and red amulets to grow and shrink

Defeat frightening monsters (or lose if they're bigger than you)

Don't die.

NOTE: A game like this requires very clever level design, something that is hard to do in 48 hours. I apologize in advance.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2073Coolness26%

Comments

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Enjoyed this game a lot. It really fit the growth theme.

jachepe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:18pm

A very fun game, good work!

Brandondyer64 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39am

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: burgeon/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:800)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:142)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:449)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(URLClassLoader.java:71)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:361)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:355)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:354)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:425)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:358)
at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java:278)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.jarinjarloader.JarRsrcLoader.main(JarRsrcLoader.java:56)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:42am

No clue on how to run the .jar files

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45am

Can't run the game. I open the .jar and it gives a blank screen.

Fervir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:47am

Pretty good puzzle game, nice puzzles.
The music was pretty spooky.

mukult says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:47am

Good level design!

jigalx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:48am

Don't know how to run jar files :(
This game is too hard!

Move127 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:51am

Very nicely designed puzzles

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53am

Really fit the theme, but i'm sorry to say the music was a tad annoying.

Evannex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:59am

This was really cool! I hope you continue this afterwards. The puzzles were challenging enough to be interesting without being too hard. Job well done!

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52pm

To those who were wondering about blank screens/not being able to run the .jar: To run the JAR you need to have Java 8 installed. Once you have it installed from Oracle Software you can double click the file for it to run. IF YOU ARE GETTING A BLANK SCREEN: Make sure you have kept all the folders bundled together. Extract everything from the zip (including the "res" directory). If "res" is not included, the game will not run. I hope this clears up any issues you guys have had.

aare says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Interesting mechanics, but a bit un-intuitive? What is exactly the difference between amulets and monsters? It looks like they work the same.
Also the tutorial text is very hard to read - I almost missed it the firt time I played.

Aelius says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Cool game but the puzzles are really easy if you start from the back.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:49pm

The level design was great, maybe some harder levels would be good.

Gordy says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Very nice game bro ! ;) (y)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]