Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

And the world kept on turning

by little-burrito - Compo Entry

I tried to incorporate both themes, but focusing on two button controls. Hopefully no description or explanation is needed for the actual game. Enjoy!

==== BUGS TO LOOK OUT FOR ===

If the first chapter doesn't have walls, something is up. It happened to me on a second computer, seems be something wrong with the Unity build.

One time the last level didn't register that I cleared the level, so I had to enter the trigger a second time. Hopefully that's fixed and you'll get a rewarding end to your gameplay :) If not, please comment here and I'll see what I can do!

If you need to restart a level, you can do so by pressing R.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Mood4.19
#29Audio4.00
#44Theme4.35
#61Overall3.94
#97Innovation3.87
#117Fun3.71
#153Graphics3.84
#443Humor2.44
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09am

Love it! Fun and very pretty! My only complaint is that the chapter screens stay up a little too long and kind of break the flow by doing so.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:29am

Good job!
The presentation is really good, it looks like a finished game :)
The hexagon moves a bit too slow to be well controllable. The concept is really good and the presentation is superb.
Well done!

Indie L says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:36am

Simple,funny and beautiful!I played a lot your game,very cool!

Andrei says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:08am

Wow, that was really challenging. On the last level, the slow speed makes it really hard.
Well done!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:11am

The music is really cool, the mood is incredible and I love the idea. Generally puzzle-solving kinda bores me but this game I loved. Great work!

SirSoltex says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:23am

really liked it, looks really polished and the graphics are nice and simple, could see this being a full game

ddoomus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:40am

This was really cool. It took a minute to get it, but very nice game. I could imagine that being really addicting on a tablet where the rotation of the device controls the movement. A+

MiggyGMan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:12am

I like the mood that it set but it was a little too slow for me at times.

yajiv says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:32am

I really liked the sound effects. Very nicely done :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:27am

nice idea, had fun playing it.
The falling debris is a bit annoying, mostly because it can stand on the "switch" and then it's hard to reach it.

candlesan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:42am

Really liked the game! Creative use of the controls.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:51am

What a mood. It's not my type of game, but I know the people who likes this genre will love this entry. Awesome work guys. Give my props to the musician.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:50am

I liked the gameplay quite a bit. Initial levels were awesome, however with the drop of speed the game became a bit too slow for me (I didn't pass that big world - I guess it was the last chapter). Overall a very well polished, nicely presented and self explaining game. Tablet version ftw :) Good job!

Harsay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Just make the game faster and remove chapter screens and it'll be great. ;)

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Becoming bigger slowed the game too much, making later levels harder by difficulting your movements instead of it just becoming more complex. Other than that, nice game concept.

Good job!

Gap says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:53pm

I love how you made that simple idea create a tricky game. The chapter screens become a little bit annoying.

Another problem is how the game becomes quite laggy after reaching some levels (although i have a pretty good computer). I like the concept, but in its current state it's not working.

Well done!

remiv says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Sorry, on my linux box, your game just Abort.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Really cool mechanics. The level expansion reminded me of LD23 winner (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-23/?uid=12633).
Very nice game.

remiv says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Glad to have swichted to windows to test it: realy good game, with interesting mechanics and cool mood.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Oh my god, so many reviews before I've even had time to review any games myself! Thank you all so much for your feedback. I'm happy I've managed so spread some joy with my little game, and I agree with you all on what you're saying. I think the levels definitely grew too much, and I think it became too punishing that EVERYTHING gets reset when you hit something now that you're moving so slowly (which I agree is too slowly, although it's meant to add a sense of scale). When there was about an hour left and I tried the whole game, I just felt like "Ohh, that's way too slow. Oh well, nothing to do about it now!" :) I think the chapter screens mostly need to be reworked a bit so that they feel nice, and so that they're easier to skip (also the very first screen is fixed in time, but the other ones get canceled when you press a button (after the text has fully appeared), which is pretty unclear behaviour :) ). The intention was also for the levels to become longer, so it would be a bit of a relief to get a little break that showed you that you're at the next chapter. Thank you again for all the nice words and great feedback! Now it's time for to go and review a bit! :)

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Really cool game! thje last level was challenging, yet i still managed to beat it. really lice music and sould effects. the music kept you relaxed, even when you wanted to rage at the last level. great work, especially for a compo!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Brilliant entry. It feels like a complete game, no hitch, no bug. The chapters are polished and the game, although hard (at least for me) was really smooth.

I'm impressed by what you could do in such short time!

However I must confess I did not yet succeed to go beyond the chapter 5. Those enemies are way too fast for my weak skills!

Budi says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Great game - nice audio, good concept - really liked that. :-) The difficulty is kinda high, but it's surely doable.

FIY I've encountered a possible bug - I've finished the level 4 and it didn't do anything. In the second run it was ok. (Sorry, I don't have more information :/ )

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Played till the end. Slower later levels were frustrating sometimes, but not that much.
Physics allow for some smooth movements, you can beat levels in one loooong motion.
Music sets the right mood.
Didn't read about restarting levels using R, so had several situations where my character stuck behind color changers.

Great idea and realization!

tompudding says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Superb. I loved how the levels zoomed out, and the smooth relaxing sounds. It did feel like it went a bit slow though and I got stuck on one level. I made it right to the end once but a building prevented me from going through the gate, gaaaaaaaaaah. Very fun but very frustrating too.

Jod says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Wow. That's just very well done. From the very awesome increase in scale, to the infernal hatred of everything triangular it made me feel!

Loved the details, loved the snowflakes coming from the mountains.
Loved how the game got harder by going _slower_, not faster. Cool design choice (happy accident? :D).
The colour coordination was awesome. Great font, great styling, very minimal and classy!

If I'd have to pick anything to improve, I think a second or slightly larger soundtrack would be nice.

Joror says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:51am

Very simple controls, but nice gameplay with it! Well done! Switched to fullscreen to enjoy the visuals.
Difficulty wise the 3rd one (with the 3 side-locations) just had me failing too much, which kept me from progressing on a nice learning curve. But I tried beyond what I normally would to see what the next level would bring. Alas, my reflexturnhexskills were lacking...

fermenter says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:12am

Really impressive for a Compo, and just impressive in general! Well done, buddy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]