Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Crystonal

by Kapura - Compo Entry

Haven't you ever wanted to grow tiny coloured cubes that play pleasant tones? Who hasn't??? Now that fantasy can become a simulated reality with CRYSTONAL, a unity game by Kapura.

You win the game by collecting 3 gold crystals. This is not easy, but the game rewards perseverance.

Use your mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#78Innovation3.92
#305Audio3.03
#364Graphics3.32
#372Theme3.86
#405Mood3.06
#470Humor2.38
#474Overall3.24
#694Fun2.84

Comments

SayRafon says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:03pm

This game is too Hard O.o It's hard to see where you're going actually, is it possible to move the camera ?

icereci says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Hahaha, :I have idea what I'm doing:
Nice tunes, grew some crystals.

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:21am

Downloaded on windows and got this error message

There should be 'crystonal_Data'
folder next to the executable

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22am

When you're packaging the game for download, make sure you include all the directories that the build comes with (in Windows' case, crystonal_data, for example). The executable itself isn't enough to run the game.

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:23am

It's pretty hard, but really cool. The audio isn't all that great, though.

paraboxx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:25am

This is impossible to beat o.0

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:25am

Very innovative idea, really hard to master ;) Mm crystals...

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27am

Intersting game, a sort of grid placement helper would have been nice though.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29am

The game looks nice enough, and the core design idea is solid, but there's a few things missing from the execution.
If your game is based on thought-out placement of blocks, make sure the grid they're on is clearly visible, either by making them large enough to be unambiguous or giving some visual guides.

As it stands, the spinning perspective did very little in the way of showing me where things were (I would've preferred standard top-down camera controls). The tiny cubes meant I kept being a block or two off from where I meant to be.

The game's a bit unplayable as it stands.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29am

I wish I could move the camera to get a better view of what I was doing, but having the little notes play while growing the patterns was a nice touch. Good job for 48 hours!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31am

Was a nice toy, but hard to understand how to get to the yellow blocks (I think that's the goal?) Really neat though!

Membrane says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:39am

The perspective and the slight unpredictability of the purple tool made it a bit frustrating, but I really dig the concept and your tutorialization was great.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:58am

Cool concept. :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59am

Cool concept. Needs some improved gameplay though. :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38am

This is a really unique puzzle game. Its very subtle and interesting. I like the musical element.

sraboy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:39am

I love the concept. I know it was done in really short time but, with a tutorial, this would be fantastic; I feel like it's either too difficult or I'm just not the target audience.

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:40am

Fun, hard but fun

mactinite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:42am

Awesome idea for a puzzle game. Two things I think would have added to my enjoyment are camera controls, and another growth algorithm that goes down.

scottrick says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46am

nice work; It seems pretty easy though, I just would cycle through the colors and put them down all in a row, I never ran into an problems haha! Maybe that's intentional :D

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46am

Its quite difficult to reach any yellow cubes. I only got 1

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47am

I got to say, this has huge potential. My intuition is that I love it, it reminds me of Starseed Pilgrim. But the camera perspective is awkward, so i don't know where I'm going. But great potential, you should be proud.

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:26am

I like the concept and mechanics though it does start off quite difficult. The colorful graphics were pleasant, but the audio was harsh and annoying at times.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Super challenging, but beautiful music! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/aHYNcWsg9Wg

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:04pm

It's definitly not easy. Very interesting entry though, great job!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:22pm

The game is too random, so it's hard to predict how to use the controls to achieve a win.

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:04pm

cool idea, and nice relaxing vibe. it's very hard to tell spatially where the gold cubes are, which compounds with the randomness of the purples (in particular) to make it very difficult to reach any gold cubes.

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:16am

The idea is really nice but as has been mentioned before there are a few things that could be improved on to make it not as hard as it is right now. Being able to control the camera would be one thing and something to get a feel which dot is at which height would be nice, too.

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Grew crystals, heard nice tones. No idea what I'm doing, those yellow cubes are impossible to reach

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Neat idea but pretty challenging

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:31pm

really nice audio and the visuals are appealing too.
Not enough "direction" or "purpose" for my taste though.
Still a nice experience.

zzapp says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:23am

Cool theme idea but the fact you can't rotate your camera to get a better view of the gold squares you're reaching for makes it seriously frustrating.

ragnta says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:51am

It's really Hard, but nice game.

Afendar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:03pm

very very hard to katch yellow cube !!! but very fun game. I really like sound with compo crystal. Great idea, good entry :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]