Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

O Christmas Tree

by EthanWebster - Compo Entry

Made in C++, using the wonderful SFML and Thor libraries. A basic RTS clicker game where you plant, grow and sell Christmas trees :)

(You will need to extract the folder before running the executable!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#242Mood3.34
#244Overall3.55
#267Graphics3.52
#336Humor2.68
#352Fun3.32
#362Theme3.87
#391Audio2.83
#498Innovation3.13

Comments

Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:25pm

I,ve played this game for a long time right now, I love it!
You should do this for a living!
I really enyoj this game.
Great work

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Thanks :D I do hope to pursue game development as a career in the future :)

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Very Nice game congratulations

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Nice use of the theme! I enjoyed it

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Nice game !

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:40pm

My graphics card makes the wonkiest of sounds while playing this. :p

Nice job there, although I accidentally killed most of my trees...

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Amazing game, very well done!

Zetym says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Nice, would like hotkeys for selecting seeds, water or trowel though.

Good job doing it in c++ with SFML in such short time.

kailijan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Really good game! You could add some kinds of different employees to help you cultivating the trees. This would add some more financial management.

gv1351 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:30pm

I love the art style

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Fits the theme and the art style is really atmospheric!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Respect for doing a game jam in c++!

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:42am

i like the atmosfer, the fog really fit neatly with the artstyle
the gameplay quite interesting, i love "sim" resource management like this :)

exhidor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Nice game ! the concept is good ! I'm happy to see that you choose the SFML too ! :D

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Wonderful idea ! Well done, you could make a great complete game based on your concept.

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Neat game! As was mentioned, some hotkeys would be hugely helpful - it was pretty tough to manage the trees via clicking only. I only sold 1 tree :(

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:26pm

I'm very strong!! :-) The sound effect are not so good.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:02pm

This is a good example of a good themed gamed

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:35pm

Really nice mood and graphics! The gameplay is somehow confusing... My trees die and I don't know why. I water them and the other thing, but they die eventually.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]