Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SEED

by sputnik - Compo Entry

left arrow to go left
right arrow to go right
hold left and right to : pick up object, drop object,

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#13Overall4.23
#28Fun4.00
#36Audio3.95
#41Mood3.96
#47Graphics4.28
#86Innovation3.90
#104Theme4.18
#340Humor2.67

Comments

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:09am

This is really fun - if feel like the plants can be a bit indulgent at times, and take too long to grow.

Otherwise, it handles nicely, plays well, and has a great progression of skill.

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:42am

really nice! very clever level design and aesthetic.

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:04am

Very fun, I find it a bit annoying how long picking up takes though

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:11am

I love the puzzles in this! Very good level design, and the art and sound are very pleasing. I agree with salmonmoose though, the plants take a long time to grow...

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Man, amazing idea, amazing graphics, great audio. Level design is great, curve proper. This is complete entry on the highest level. Amazing you did it in 48 hours. GRATS!!!

ajmalr says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Fun mechanics and great level design!

Melusine says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Nice game but the controls where a little bit tricky

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:51pm

A really fun game! The controls are very fluid, and the puzzles get very mind bending near the end (at least for me :P)

I also think the trees could grow a little faster, especially during those first few very fast levels.

keepee says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:17pm

nice looking game but some platforms are a little hard to read. Transitions could be quicker for picking up/dropping/rebooting. i gave you high on graphics but low on innovation because the gameplay isn't interesting. Nice trees though, are you using constructs canvas/paster plugin for that?

loxo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Great game! The game starts of very easy, but it took me a few attempts until I finished the last puzzle. So the progression of difficulty is good. The game is addictive and was fun to play. I liked the captivating atmosphere created by the nice graphics and the fitting audio. I also like the 2-button controls.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Really fun and clever design. Graphics look good, controls are tight.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19pm

An excellent showing - very innovative game and fantastic use of the themes

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Great job! I loved the game! Best puzzle game from the jam that I've played so far.

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28pm

This is a whole package. I am impressed.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08pm

awesome! very good visuals, clever and engaging puzzles, very professional looking for just 48h, well done :)

wongcito says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Very nice game, hope you can move this concept further!

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

This is so far my favorite game this LD - I love the puzzle mechanic a lot, the music and art is great, and everything just fits and controls nicely - well done!

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:50pm

damn the design is great, this is the first ld game that i play all the way through. excelent use of the theme, i wish i made this.

tharealjohn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Excellent! Pretty fun and the level design was good. I felt some just required trial and error to figure them out, but it kept me interested.

phi6 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Very very cute! Great level design, loved it!

luke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27pm

great game design, fun, beautiful, nice work bro!

rogberth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Really great game, but I hate you for that last level haha. Brilliant. The only bad thing I can say about the game is that transactions between levels are two slow... although you only notice this at the beginning

Pusty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Qwesome! I played it till the end! Nice mechanics! Nice graphics! Everything felt right! Good job!

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Wow! Simply wow! I'm blown away, great level design.
I managed to beat it in 40min, because some levels were just mind bending.
It just looks so neat and nifty and the sound is so satisfying.

One minor thing in the early levels (when they are still easy) is that the plant is growing a little slowly which is slowing down the pace of the game.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Really nice!

I really dig the artstyle which reminds me slightly of Meat Boy crossed with Monument Valley and the very 'light' feel of the soundtrack fit the mood perfectly.

Designwise it's very well-done in both the simplicity of the control-scheme as well as the difficulty, which I felt progressed very well as the game continued. I could definitely see myself playing this on my device or the like, as it's very intriguing braintease.

I really can't think of anything negative to say about this game so far in it.

Well done and kudos! :)

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Intelligent, polish, various levels and mechanics.. You've just earned all my respect!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:23am

Very cool idea. One of my favorites.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:35am

The way the game teaches you all the mechanics is excellent. I found myself feeling pretty smart every time I solved a puzzle and really dumb every time I didn't understand it at first, that's a good thing! Picking up the puzzle elements could have been instant, I didn't see any reason for there to be a wait. All in all a very well designed puzzler, good job!

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:30am

I love puzzles and this one is the best.
I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:26am

This is incredibly polished, great work on all levels!!! Hard to believe this is not a jam entry xD

emmes says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:36am

Cool game mechanics, and awesome art design! I really like the hero :-)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:50am

I'm curious whether the trees are procedural? I really like their art style. Interesting little puzzle game. Nice job.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Omg, i'm so amazed by this game. Great tree generation.
Excellent job!

timeshapers says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:22pm

I love the aesthetic, both graphic and audio. I think you managed to develop some interesting game mechanics, but didn't really deliver in the level design. The first challenge I faced was level 18, and it was the only place where it took me a while to figure out how to finish the level with the tools at my disposal. The rest of the levels took me a while only because I had to try out all the buttons to see where the platforms move, since this is not communicated at all.
Also, the plant growing is a bit tacked on, and seems unnecessary.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:31pm

I did not know, you could create an amazing puzzle game with a two button control. :)

Teren says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Probably the best game I've played yet in the compo. Nice job :)

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Great mechanic, love the puzzles!

brainstorm says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Though it isn't really innovative, the surprising use of the grow theme, the duration and the cute graphics makes this a great game.

5/10

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Really fun puzzle game, love how you incorporated both themes into this game!

ssodelta says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Really nice artwork and animations! :) aaand a nice puzzle game ;)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:05pm

You have been featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9hEAf60v38

adsilcott says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:03pm

This deserves top scores in innovation in my opinion. I also love the graphics and sounds!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Great puzzle game. I liked the logical. Minimalist music and aesthetic are pleasant. One of my favorites for this LD session. Well done ++

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:00pm

This is some absurdly good level design you have there. Nice job!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Smart yet so simple mechanic. Nice work!

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Nice entry! I like the graphics and the variety of levels

electric_monk says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Very slick and simple. Loved the music!

EwChap says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:39am

Great game overall. Love the audio design, love the artwork, love the puzzle design. I like the plants at the end that give you a bit of a nice reward for beating a puzzle.

jackrugile says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Excellent game concept and level design. This is one of the best entries I've played so far. The difficulty ramps up nicely and it was a lot of fun. You managed to pack a lot of emotion into the character as well. Nice work!

Pilly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:21am

Great entry! Played till the end. Very impressive that you had time to make - let alone test - all the levels in the span of 48 hours.

Fantastic level design - though it does seem to take a sudden hike in difficulty around level 17 or 18. Not complaining, though - it's one of the few puzzle games where you really have to think about your actions, rather than just "keep trying random things till you solve it".

Kudos for the graphics / audio too - simple but effective in establishing an underwater puzzle-y mood :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Excellent game! Nice progression of mechanics/difficulty, and very pleasing sound/visuals. Movement and some actions felt a bit slower than needed which made rebooting some levels feel like a bit of a chore, but overall, awesome job

LeReveur says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Clever and nice designed puzzle, I liked playing it ! Thank you, and well done !

CPau says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Really nice work! Love the level design!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:27am

love this game! keep it up!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Wow! Very good one! Like the puzzles despite they're looking pretty simple at first half. But last puzzles have good challange! Visuals are great too :-)
Excellent work, yeah!

Gunzil says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:09am

Good puzzles, good use of 2-button controls, good visuals / audio. I found there to be too many easy introductory levels at the beginning vs more challenging ones that take advantage of the mechanics established. It seemed like 80% of the game was just easy levels that introduced mechanics and then there was a 20% at the end where you had to do actual puzzles. The last level was also a significant spike in difficulty for me.

euske says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:33am

Solving the last level was so satisfying. Good job!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:50am

great graphic and really interesting game!

dvdfu says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 3:24am

Very beautiful aesthetics!

Jan 9, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Cool game, lovely graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/yY4Ylj7ccuc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]