Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Edo Arena

by PowerSpark - Compo Entry

Edo Arena is a battle between you and the world. Defend your new settlement from intruders and buy upgrades to grow your power. Use left and right to swing your weapon.
More powerful enemies will appear in proportion to your performance. Get better items to succeed!

Controls:
z and x
left and right
k and l

Cut Features (due to lack of time):
Multiple armed swing animation
Sickle weapon and garden upgrade
More particles :P

Feel free to comment! Thanks!

*** Post-Compo version, released Jan. 4th, 2016, is available! ***
I changed up the music, animations, combat, items, and I fixed the many problems that were in the original version! Tell me what you think.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#124Fun3.69
#133Overall3.74
#252Graphics3.56
#275Humor2.82
#276Mood3.28
#287Innovation3.46
#296Theme3.95
#384Audio2.85

Comments

XbooperxdX says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31am

Very fun game to play!
The only big problem i have had with this is the fact that sometimes I cant hit the enemies because they get stuck inside the player model. Attacking is a little weird too, where when it looks like the animation is done, but you still do damage.
Overall, a fun and addicting game, with a few minor bugs

terop says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:39am

Nice animations, the character animations look very nice. Must be pretty complicated procedure to get those players move like that. Combos are also pretty nice.

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:56am

I enjoy this one hit combat. Challenging and skillful. The post combat shop really amazes me. Really?! So great. Full of surprise.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:06am

Love it! Elegant in its simplicity. The progression was also good, but perhaps some things were a bit too expensive. Amazing work!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12am

Great game!
Looks great and controls pretty well too. I'm amazed you even managed to add a whole shop and upgrade system.

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:50am

Cool entry! One question though: is it possible to hit enemies without getting hit yourself? I seemed to always get damage when trying to hit them.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:29am

Thanks for the replies everyone!
@manabreak If you've already completed the swing you will take damage so the trick is getting close enough.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:29am

Fun game. Some problems actually hitting the bad guys, or them trapping you, but overall a nice job. Looks good too.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:04pm

That was really fun to play. Nice animations and there is depth to this. I'd keep developing the idea, add new keys for new moves.

Todnut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Neat! I like the 3D art - that's so hard to do in such a short time. I think having less delay between attacks would make me feel more in control, and maybe have a cool down after 3 attacks so it's not too easy. I might find some better hit sounds too.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Nice inventory of stuff you got there in 48hours :)

mukult says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:00am

Enjoyed the animations and the artwork! :)

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:05am

Great concept, animations are smooth. This is a lot of fun. The controls felt a little bit sluggish, and I did encounter that issue with enemies getting stuck in the player, but I still enjoyed it enough to play up through the sai and armory. The shop was a great addition.

Capitals says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06am

One of the most fun to play, that I have rated so far! You could improve by making the combat more tactile. Good Luck!

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07am

Wow! Very nice! Lots of fun. Really fantastic work. Considering the setting (game jam) the balance might benefit from a shift towards shorter play sessions, but other than that I think this is wonderful. Great idea, great execution.

Suui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:32am

Really nice, kinda fun, but only two controls made it pretty harsh to do what you want to with the character.

The mechanics to kill the enemies and air combos were damn cool!

I would totally spend some time playing if you could move and jump rather than having just two controls :D (please!! XD)

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:00am

The graphic is beautiful and the combat system very well built!

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02am

REALY, that was an feaking great game, i give it all 5 stars except for sound, it was really annoying me at the end, i completed it, i think is the game i spend most time at this jam, congratz :D

DeepBlueJeer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:33am

Good job on making this game! Samurais are going to dominate this LD.

tedling says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19pm

The game was fun. I think there is no other LD34 compo entry that I've played as long as yours ;-)

The only thing I'd like to mention is, that the way the enemies spawned in was kinda confusing at first. Sometimes just falling out of the air :D

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34pm

amazing game! the graphics, the animation, the weapon shop, very fun! nice work!

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Great! I like that you get rewarded even if you die. :D

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Great one. Love the progression!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Any ninja game is a cool game :P Really like the style, nice game.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Very cool game, I liked the gameplay

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:11am

Pro:
+ Simple but neat style
+ Nice animations
+ Nice mechanics and upgrades
+ Found pretty amusing that you can fight your way to the sky xp
Con:
- Controls and physics felt a bit clunky, I know I'm not supposed to spam attacks, so maybe a cooldown animation? But then I'm asking too much xp
- Upgrades seem way too expensive
- Death doesn't seem to have any consequence
Obs:
o Sometimes an enemy would spawn right above/under me and it was a bit weird trying to hit him

Great entry!

CalmKai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:06pm

really great game!, love it
very easy to play, i like the graphics and audio fit very well, the balancing on each upgrade also quite good
somehow it remind me of early year of tekken, dunno why lol

Oye Beto says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:42am

I liked the abstract characters, they are simple but look very good with the animations you made.

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:52am

Beat it. I liked how attacking you would go up and that's also how you got power ups and stuff like that. I think my highest combo was 5 ($320) with the katana. What killed me the most though were probably getting hit from the bottom or top by enemies - it felt weird since it was usually unexpected. I would also sometimes have an enemy headbutt me in the chest, and attacking would hit them, I would need to get away and then attack. Overall though good job!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:41pm

The comboing is much fun but I wish I could see around a bit more, camera zooming out when flying would be a great addition here. The store system was a nice extra and gave some replayability. Sometimes was frustrating when enemies got so close that it became impossible to hit them. I also had a problem with the background music, I think it didn't fit the game at all and kind of made me annoyed by the repetition. The game was much fun to play, which is the most important thing. Well done!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:00pm

I like the fact that the buildings appear on the stage when you purchase them in the shop!

It took a minute to get used to the controls and I think the delay during which you are totally unable to control is a little too long for me. It would be interesting to add a smaller attack that gets triggered when you press the button again during the delay.

Also, the graphics are totally awesome!

Robber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:00pm

I Really like what you have done here, the mechanics are awesome, animation are great/ climbing higher into the air is such a great idea and really captures the spirit of those kung-fu movies. weapon upgrades are great too. My only negative is how the controls can feel slow. When you upgrade you weapon this improves, but in the beginning the buttoncontrol feels too limited..Now you gotta be all Zen and wait for the right moment to attack, which is kinda cool, but it takes away some of the action and pace of the game..the game could be even more awesome if controls were improved and it would get a faster pace and action. excellent job though! hope you keep working on it

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Finally a game that made feel inside hidden tiger crouching dragon!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Interesting idea and great execution. We were really impressed by the upgradable inventory, so much variety for a 48 game!

Controls are pretty cool, the idea of capturing the momentum to keep flying higher reminds us in a way of the combos in the Capcom vs series. It's not easy to make a fighting game with 2 buttons and this just works.

The weakest point in our opiniuon was the music, but you really just can't ask more for a 48h game. Very solid entry, congratulations!

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Nice entry. The ragdolls are messed up but I appreciate the effort. I wish the game difficulty was better balanced, as soon as you beat one of the big dudes the game starts spawning 4 normal ones each wave. Overall it kept me busy for half an hour total, good job!

Herzucco says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:49pm

I really like how you managed to create a funny combat system with 2 buttons

Joror says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:10am

Interesting mechanic - feels a bit restrictive without other movement keys until the 'jumping' kicks in. The upgrade system is nice, it provides some good goals to work towards!

Some bugs: was sometimes stuck in enemies, where my swings would not hit. Sometimes powerups seemed to be outside the play area.

Improvements: Different colors for powerups. Visualize place where your character is hit by enemies for better feedback to the player.

emmes says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:13am

Nice graphics, and 3D is always challenging.
Sometimes a ninja drops on top of your head, and you have almost no possibility to avoid them.

Well done!

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:44am

Hey, cool game! Awesome Graphics and sound.
The upgrade system is a neat idea, it made me play way longer than i had time to :D

Noticed I survived longer when grounded - in the air the playerObj had to much speed, flying into enemies, or enemies flew into me from below. Thats a pitty because flying through the air was so much fun.
Also at times the rounds were over very quickly - maybe pickUps which give a live could make rounds last longer/ decrease the impact of some unlucky situations.

Very cool what you did with the theme in 48 hours, congrats!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:30am

Incredibly fun and innovative! Thoroughly enjoyed it.

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:52am

Combat feels unresponsive (when do I know it's okay to do another button press?). Music may have been better muted. Impressed by base customization though.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:14am

Not a bad game, although the collisions are a tad wonky, as well as the enemy spawning. Has a lot of promise!

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Some nice twists on the two button fighter idea here. I like the element of verticality to it. The progression system is interesting, especially building up the settlement in the background. Controls were a bit sluggish though. Might be good to reduce the delay between attacks and make the enemies stronger to balance it out, might make for more lively gameplay. Good work overall though.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:06am

There's a certain zen when your character starts to fly upwards. The controls are, however, a little too simple. It's hard to hit the enemies and string combos properly, making it difficult to collect later upgrades.

It's fun, but gets tiring quickly when the enemies roll in very slowly, making you wait at the bottom for a long time.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Interesting game! mechanics are good

Tanton-H2X says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 12:32pm

control feeling(Ahhhh I Can Flying) ,music,and atmosphere all awesome!
combo is sooo charming! but difficult to get!ToT
building house to enhence my body is a genius design ,The most dangerous moments is when i attached with these enemies !! every weapon were cool enough~~
your entries always awesome! extremely admire

YinYin says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:23pm

I sadly always got stuck on the item shop. No inputs worked.

Tanton-H2X says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:41am

oh! forgot one thing~
in Item shop , the gui may have some offset
only when i move my pointer more above these button that can active them~~` orz
i think the above one(@YinYin) may get same problem...orz
btw,i use the download version....

Blobo says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:41pm

This was incredibly enjoyable! i loved the artwork, and the gameplay too! i played the whole way through and i have to say, great work! the game is really fun when you have the katana, and getting a 16X combo was a great accomplishment. now i'll just try to not acknowlege the samurai still attacking me while i'm at peace.

PowerSpark says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:49am

Thanks for the feedback everyone I appreciate it!
@YinYin @Tanton-H2X I don't seem to get the same problem with the item shop, I may find an alternative to the GUI.

Also I plan to give the game a nice Post-Compo update a day or so after the results are in.

gallerdude says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Fun at first and looks good, but gets really grindy near the end.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:25pm

Interesting Game! Satisfying to kill the enemies though the jumping mechanics were a bit tricky to master!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:14pm

Web version has some frame rate issues and there's quite a few bugs (like not being able to attack when the enemy is pushing you) but I really like the primary gameplay mechanic a lot (reminds me of those Chinese wuxia movies like House of Flying Daggers and Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon).

ViKing Games says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Easily my favorite game so far. Graphics were very simple but lots of fun, I liked the low-poly models, smooth animations, and particle effects. The audio isn't anything spectacular, but it does add to the game. The gameplay has plenty of content, and I always love upgrade systems, especially ones where you can see the progress being made. Combo system was lots of fun, especially when I got a x128 combo. That made the game a lot shorter, hahaha.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:54pm

This game provides what I think must be called a zen-like experience. The best strategy for me was to wait calmly, not wasting energy on moving, not letting my greed for the power-ups nor my vanity for moving up let me stray from the path, until the enemies attack, and finishing them off by a single well-timed blow. I spent a lot of time on this. I really wanted that watchtower. Great animations and art style. Best game I've played this LD. The only flaw is the collision detection that's a bit off, that you sometimes get stuck in an enemy (sometimes attacking in the wrong direction helps). The audio could be improved too.

PowerSpark says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 2:53am

Thanks for all your comments! The post compo version is released now.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]