Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Complex Tarthus

by Ancient_Pixel - Jam Entry

The Complex Tarthus, nothing more then the shadows of its inhabitants are contained within it. You got chosen to clear the building of its rotten plague. Hack and Slash through the enemies and bring peace to Tarthus. Ah, and before i forget; mind the traps, this can be a viscious place.

***UPDATE***
-you can now hold the Left Mouse Button to move around
-with a right click you can cancel movements and this will at the same time trigger a spin attack
-the normal RMB attack has halve the delay of the previous version
-one new trap: sand that slows you down
-5 new enemies with different attacks and behaviour: the giant, poisonous scorpion, worm, falcon and snake
-smashed boxes have now a chance to drop a healthpotion
-added visual effects if you are stunned or poisoned, which hinder your sight

**LINK TO UPDATED ENTRY**
https://www.dropbox.com/s/yhdvb5fl7i0ng4s/LD38_the_complex_tarthus_v1.1.exe?dl=0

**LINK TO ORIGINAL ENTRY**
https://www.dropbox.com/s/xs69u9rgsy0b7ps/LD38_the_complex_tarthus.exe?dl=0

I plan to implement bossbattles, special rooms and new textures for the different environments

programming: Sebastian "Ancient-Pixel" Merkl
sound: sfxr
music: Pitfall - Leviathan

follow me @AncientPixel_AP
or visit me www.ancient-pixel.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#310Mood(Jam)3.47
#466Overall(Jam)3.37
#542Innovation(Jam)3.11
#559Graphics(Jam)3.37
#602Fun(Jam)3.05
#731Theme(Jam)3.42
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Pros:
+Nice music, sets the mood quite well
+I like the combination of attacks
+The switching between levels is a nice addition

Cons:
-Very hard to control, consider the possibility to hold the LMB?
-The spikes never go away
-The attacking is also though, feels slowish?

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Awesome! Love the music!

Ancient_Pixel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:04pm

I´ve adressed the slow attack issue and made it quicker, but now its a bit more difficult to usw the throw, i will get it balanced eventually :) I also added 2 more enemies. I will release an updated version soon!

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Plenty of content, lots of levels. Were they randomly generated?

I didn't see an energy bar, so I'm not sure how that was affecting my play, nor did I know how close to death I was. What I did discover was that the dash was super powerful, so that's essentially the only move I ever did. Only reason I died was because I got sloppy over some spike traps.

The max duration to activate double click felt a little short, but maybe I'm just being lazy. :-) I'm with Chubb, though, about holding down LMB to walk or something.

Ancient_Pixel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:15pm

@Andy Gainey: What is the resolution of your monitor and windows version? I´am afraid its a problem with the surface size on which the bars get drawn :/
Yes, the levels are randomly generated and if you are interested in the bigger and better version of the game visit me on twitter, there will be a new download soon :)

jofra says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:33pm

nice concept. the camera is a bit to far away (for me :s), i would love to see and feel more the enemies that im killing and the main character.
keep up the good work

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:29am

I agree with most of what Chubb1337 said actually. Decent entry though. Mouse axis is cheating though ;)

Peekotus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:32am

Cool music

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:41am

A nice little game. Couple of bugs though: I died on the first level and when I restarted the music was gone. I also got an Out of Memory error as well.

I like the shifting of the camera - I wish there had been a bit more use of that. Also some feedback or display show what you can and can't do at any moment would be really helpful - it's hard to know if you can charge or throw a ninja star.

Finally I think you should have a short pause when entering a new level to show where enemies are because it's a little unfair when you just load in and then get rushed by a whole bunch that haven't spawned just next to you.

I'd like to see the concept taken a little further though.

Echo Team says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:53am

Cute, a bit easy to beat though. You can just dash through everything. That also saves you from having to use the click movement.

Ancient_Pixel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:02am

Thx for your feedback, i´ve now added the download link to the updated version. I´ll keep on working on this and flishing it out more.

@Starspell, where did you get the "out of memory" error?

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Nice game but the music is unbearable with headphones!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Can't play windows games :-(

Starspell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:54am

I got the out of memory error after maybe five levels? Not much other information I can say.

scorched says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Very liked the camera work! Good job!

Wolve says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:07pm

It looks cool and interesting, I just wished you had added alternative buttons, like z and x for LMB and RMB cause I have one of those track-pads that can't push both buttons at the same time

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]