Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cyclopi

by akirassasin - Compo Entry

Like Tamagotchi with crawling one-eyed things.

Controls (in-game):
- Left click to rest if awake, or wake up if resting
- Right click to spawn a child
- Hover over your children to feed them (not a button control heh)

The 'things' have a set behaviour, and it's best to find out the game mechanics yourself. If you want to know everything, you can see the source code and/or click the 'Mechanics' link at the bottom.

There is actually no goal to this game, just sit back and take care of your mindless one-eyes.

** EDIT (HOW TO RUN ON MAC)
1. Download ANY port of the game
2. Download the latest version of Processing
3. Look in the 'source' folder, and open ANY .pde file using Processing
4. Click 'Run' (looks like a play music button) and profit

Wasteland Dan played this: https://youtu.be/PkHitEQnEF8?t=5m40s

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#147Graphics3.85
#188Innovation3.67
#194Mood3.44
#401Overall3.33
#502Humor2.33
#562Theme3.63
#847Fun2.52

Comments

tazdij says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:11am

Interesting.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:17am

nice game!

daandruff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:07pm

I didn't get it... but it was interesting and nice visuals

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:47am

What an interesting game. I love what you've accomplished. It's a very satisfying game. I think if you added sound and a few more mechanics it would be an excellent little game.

Skruffye says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:29am

It took me a little while to understand what was happening, but once I did, I found the game quite interesting and enjoyable.
The graphics are nice and simplistic with little dynamic elements like the eyes and the feelers perfectly worked in to great effect.
If the game were slightly more complex and allowed you to care for one cyclop for longer with more features, I probably would have ended up spending quite a long time playing with the cyclopi and growing unduly attached to one of the adorable little bastards! X)
As it stands currently--thank you for the experience! :)

mr. a says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:39am

Wish there were a mac version; this looks impressive.

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:12am

This game is a graphical masterpiece. I love what you've done with the visual aesthetics - everything feels smooth and connected. Game play itself is a little confusing (even with the control dialogue), you might want to consider adding a little more tutorial. Incredible entry, 5/5 graphics (aesthetics).

akirassasin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:39am

mr. a I made this on OSX but I couldn't export it for myself :P You can download Processing and run the sketch.

ambi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:00pm

The visual design is superb. I just have no idea what to do in this game.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Nice little game!

yuigoto says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:52pm

It's a nice "toy-game" (?). :P

Some audio and more mechanics could make it pretty interesting, but the creatures and the general concept are really nice! And the theme use is also nicely done! :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:12pm

Quite interesting. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/eBJmDbHq4GI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]