Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hungry Spider

by Darek Greenly - Compo Entry

Headache got me and this thing is as much as I could produce.

==========================

You're a spider!
Each, but not too much.
Avoid Spikes.

Controls: left/right arrows OR A/D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#147Theme4.11
#206Humor3.00
#484Fun3.15
#490Mood2.94
#502Overall3.21
#598Graphics2.89
#602Innovation2.95
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

Darkhaul says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Simple but a good game, gets pretty difficult after a while with balancing having enough food but not eating too much. graphics could always be a bit better but it worked well for what it was

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:30pm

i like that you can eat too much :))
the grahics quite nice, the game simple yet still fun
overall nice game :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:13pm

The randomization is a bit wonky, as I've died from hunger from no food spawning. Also, the gaps in the vines do nothing...?

Darek Greenly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:38pm

@justinooncx There should be no gaps, It's just my lousy programming :D

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:02pm

very creative gameplay, nice job

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Really enjoyable to play.

joekinglake says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Simple nice little game! Good work! I love the players chomping animation too :)

anissen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Ha-ha, what a twist! I *really* like the way you've used the same mechanic to both work as an collect/avoid-type gameplay, while having the watch the size of the spider. It gets really fast later in the game. I exploded after scoring 310 points :)
It would be really nice with some sound-effects.

johntherobot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

Nice job! It didn't seem like the gaps in the ropes made me lose (could just be me). But it was an interesting take on the theme!

Eduardo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Nice! What should i do when i ate too much? Eat is so good

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Simple but a fun auto runner, I like the idea that eating too much can kill you as well as running into spikes, means you have to be careful of how much you collect. Good game! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]