Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A prison for the mage

by Aglavra - Jam Entry

This was a first time, that I created a working game in Unity, so thanks to Ludum Dare for motivating me to do this. I posted some HINTS below, as my concept seems to be unclear to most players. Sorry for that :)

I decided to do to jam (not compo) this time mostly to have extra day of work. I was still working alone, and the only pre-made content, that I used, was two sounds from FreeSound.

Game Engine: Unity 3D
Graphics: Paint.Net, Piskel
Sound Effects: sounds by Fantozzi and RICHERlandTV from Freesound.org
Music: Music Maker Jam
Font: Free font called Emulogic

I will post a web version in a couple of days, now it doesn't work for unknown reason. I also plan to add linux version.
I left 640x480 as default resolution, because I designed the game primarily having it in mind. Write if other resolutions is required.

HINTS:
Controls: arrows or WASD to move, space to jump, ctrl to use magic.
Use the magic on green plants to grow new branches and climb higher.
(Press space bar gently, or you will jump too high.

I'm not very good at level design, so I left limitless jump for you (the more you press spacebar, the higher you fly, no limits), in case you will fall down or get stuck, so you will finish the game faster.

This is a story about a mage, who tries to escape from some kind of strange prison, set in a world of illusions. It has three small scenes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#624Audio(Jam)2.69
#750Innovation(Jam)2.77
#790Mood(Jam)2.80
#836Humor(Jam)1.76
#863Theme(Jam)3.17
#884Graphics(Jam)2.60
#1081Fun(Jam)1.97
#1089Overall(Jam)2.40

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25pm

The speed of walking and flying is conflicting. It just is really lacking in content.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:49pm

it works but nothing to do

Aglavra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52pm

@liquidmedia you can use magic on saplings to make them grow, grow a tree to get high and use magic on what you find there.

smatcher says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:57pm

I feel that you should have embraced the flying (limitless jump) instead of leaving it as a crutch. With some visual effects and tuning it would fit the game nicely.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:04pm

"space to jump" Fly?
Reached the end "infinity"?
really lacking in terms of content. Could use some spell checking.
I like the graphics style though. Makes me want to play old point and click games.

BoltKey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:08pm

I finally got it. Took me so long just to realize what to do to progress. It should be somehow more obvious. Also, like MadmenProducitons mentioned, the movement speed is weird. I think it could have been a decent game with this concept, but sadly it is not. What a shame.

Aglavra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:23pm

@BoltKey Thanks for the feedback. I planned to drop a hint, something like the mage thinking "look what my magic can do here", when approaching the small plant. But sadly I forgot to do it.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Interesting, I kind of enjoyed it for the atmosphere (nice music and 'feel' to the writing) even though it felt kinda broken. The superman jumping was hilarious given that the character walks like an old man.

Overall, a bit odd but charming.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:21am

nice game!

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Excellent way to apply the theme, nice history, had some troubles with the movement and the jumping. After getting the seconde seed nothing happens.

triello says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Nice pixel art!

PanKamil says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:56pm

The gameplay came out a little bit chaotic, but in the end - I liked it. You should use this crazy jumping again, in some other project :D.

Atmosphere in this game is amazing, and if it was about some journey instead of growing plants, it would have been absolutely amazing.

Move127 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:04pm

I love the graphics. The controls don't feel good.

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Not bad, but it really didn't make me feel anything. I finished it, I understood it and I don't hate it, but I defenitely didn't have fun. The idea is good, though, so I'm not giving it an extremely low rate.

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:35pm

The walking speed is horribly slow. i feel like it's unneccesary for the jump to be infinite, why are we growing a tree then?

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Great storyline, and the graphics are mostly good (if a bit uneven; for example, I love the protagonist sprite and the sun and moon, but the tree in the first level looks pretty clumsy). Good animation on the mage sprite. The music is very good.

It all felt a bit unpolished, though. Might benefit from a post-comp version. In particular, I think that having limitless jump in a game about climbing upwards defeats the purpose.

The writing is nice and evocative, but there are a couple of grammar mistakes (for example, "What can I made of this frozen sapling?" should be "make").

I'm probably sounding more negative than I intend to. Just remove limitless jump and polish up some of the graphics and this will be a very good game.

Kvyosh says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Nice graphics, lack of content and the Jump is just a fly button..

mockthebear says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Foxtacy: I really enjoy riddles, and i really enjoy platformers, you managed to begin creating something really amazing here. Keep it going.

Just as a helpful feedback, as Madmen said: The speed of walking and flying is conflicting. It just is really lacking in content.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]