Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Regrowth of Layeon

by Ampera - Jam Entry

The Regrowth of Layeon is a text adventure made 100% in java, and includes absolutely NO outside materials or libraries. Everything was made with Gimp, Java, and Netbeans.

Now to give some eh news.

The theme is included in the story, but due to time constraints, and doing this being one of the most challenging and exhausting things I have ever done, the game is not complete, but 5-10 minutes of gameplay is done, and I am not stopping with this project.

I think I did well. I am 13 and while this isn't my first LD, this is the first one that amounted to anything presentable.

If you like the game and want to see more, the only way to keep posted on the game for now is to follow me on twitter @TwoOfFive_
This game will have a completed state. This is more of a demo, and the engine took two days to make. I will assemble a website and start adding new features and story elements.

I do not allow reverse engineering of the code, nor it's unauthorized redistribution over the internet.

EDIT: For the continuation I want to drop the text adventure thing. It was a time saving measure (And a measure of small ability). I am looking at LWJGL and I want to turn this into a full 3D RPG (idk if MMO). I want a back to the classics RPG re-imagined into a nice 3D enviroment. I am currently working on a website/centrus to it, but for now twitter will host most of the updates (If there are any)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#693Humor(Jam)2.31
#918Mood(Jam)2.50
#929Innovation(Jam)2.40
#960Overall(Jam)2.74
#992Graphics(Jam)2.11
#1012Fun(Jam)2.36
#1037Theme(Jam)2.54

Comments

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:28am

I very much like text adventures! The parser felt a bit off. e.g. "w", "go west", "go to west" should all have gone west. Nice job!

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Interesting! The commands were a little strange though.

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Interesting start, but needs a lot of work still. Text adventures are challenging to do right, because of the command parsing needed. Good luck, and keep working on it!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:06am

Better continue your game. This has so much potential.

Ampera says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:43pm

If you want to see continuations of the game, follow me on twitter @TwoOfFive_

kanatohodets says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:45pm

One minor suggestion: put the 'submit' button in auto-focus, so the player can type commands and then 'enter'. I had to keep clicking 'submit' and that distracted from the game. Good job making a game! Writing is hard, but keep at it!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:41pm

nice game)

olety says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Very cool game, but the need to press the button every time you enter a command is awkward. Maybe make a hotkey or something, so every time you press enter it submits the command.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:33pm

I couldn't figure out how to get into the armoury. None of the commands listed in Help got me in (inspect armoury, inspect the armoury, go to armoury, go armoury.) "yell at armoury", "punch armoury," and "stab armoury" didn't work either, but I wasn't expecting those to. Also, Enter should enter commands. This looks like it should be interesting, but the command parser needs some work.

Ampera says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:55am

The command to enter the armoury is just enter.

KanedaXIII says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:31am

I like a lot text adventures, these are one of my favorite classic genres, if not the most! It's a genre that has to emerge again, IMO.
I think it has a lot of potential, and like to see more in the future, really.
The most important downs of the game are that I feel that navigation through the game world is not very intuitive, cardinal points are almost a universal standard in text games, and players expect these... and that "enter" should enter the command... but nothing new aside from other comments.
I suggest you check Inform 7, a framework for making text adventures with an extense library, if you are interested in text adventures ;D

Ampera says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:02am

Thanks. I don't like inclusive frameworks. I feel that by using them I am almost cheating and taking an easy way out instead of mastering the craft. Thank you all for the feedback, and I hope that I will have a nice score.

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:28pm

Nice work, Ampera! Seems like you have a really solid foundation here - I'm impressed at how much you were able to get done in such a short time. I like the description of the setting as well. Looking forward to seeing where you take this next.

My only suggestion is that it would be a bit easier to play if you standardize the verbs. For example, instead of requiring players to type "look around" in one area and "inspect" in another to perform a similar type of action, provide a fixed set of commands and keep them consistent.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]