Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Immune

by Terrabalt - Compo Entry

"You are a colony of a bacteria
You're currently at a human body
Infect it's cells to reproduce
and grow until the human are fully infected"

Mouse over and Right click to move.

Web links should be fixed right now
Also music now loops

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#397Audio2.81
#458Fun3.18
#524Mood2.90
#528Overall3.18
#574Graphics2.93
#586Theme3.60
#644Innovation2.87

Comments

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:06am

I'm getting a 404 on this one for http://terrabalt.itch.io/immune.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:08am

The web build gives a "404" error... please fix it! :)

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:10am

The link doesn't work :(

Terrabalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:32am

Web link (hopefullY) fixed; this is the first time i used Itch.io. sorry about that ^^;

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:33am

404 too..

Tijn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50am

For me the web link worked fine!

It's a cool game :) It runs pretty well. The controls are a bit hard on a laptop though, making the game quite challenging.

I noticed the music doesn't loop, maybe that's something to look into? Because there are also no sound effects, the game effectively goes quiet after a while, which is a shame.

The graphics are simple, but effective and the colors are nice and bright.

All in all a pretty good entry!

Terrabalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21am

@Tijin my god, how could i forget to loop the music? >_> thanks for the notice!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:48am

Make. It. Mobile. I would love to play it on boring lectures :-D

trykondev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Neat game -- I agree the controls are not super laptop friendly but overall good stuff. I had a similar idea for a game I wanted to make so it's fun to see it executed here

Tragon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:12pm

The human is now infected!
Yes / No? What do those buttons do. Nothing happened for me

Neat game. Unfortunately the enemies clumber up into one blob which makes it even easier to evade

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Well made, lovely background! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/p3nh2TkdCXs

REIN1 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16pm

I like your idea .

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Good style, kinda N64 like, having more cells to infect flying around would be good I think, now I'm something flying around for 20 sec without seeing anything. Nice take on themes as well.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27pm

YAYYY Loved it. Took me all the way back to spore. Well done guys :)

SayRafon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Wow, the graphics, the game, the idea, very very cool !

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Nice game! It fits very well on the theme.

Little bug:
I couldn't choose an option after dying.

PanKamil says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:51pm

A surprisingly satisfying game. Made me wonder if agar.io was made on a game jam :P.

Note: your UI doesn't work properly in 16:9 aspect ratio.

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:47am

Nice concept but I didn't know what was good and what was bad - the blue things looked cute until I ran into them.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Fun entry!
Was a little hard to tell what was good and what was bad

n8m8 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Thanks for your game!
One of my favorites this time around!
I played your game along with several others from this jam and 'reviewed' them here: https://n8r8.wordpress.com/2015/12/22/n8-r8s-8-ludum-dare-34-part-1/

trozen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Audio was kinda loud, but the actual game is quite cool, a more realized version of the classic "eat smaller things" game. Having non-eatable opponents (immune cells? )) that are trying to destroy you and that have to be dodges gives a meat to the gameplay lacking in some of the other titles on display. I had fun!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Took a while to complete but I like the concept and it fits the growing theme very well.

Pepejson says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:17am

Quite good game, but its lack of something that make it more intresting

oobie says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:41pm

t

oobie says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Sorry that was an accident. I really enjoyed the music and the game very nicely fits the growing theme. The fact that there are "enemies" stopping you from completing your task does help add something extra to what would of been a very easy game otherwise

AboLD says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:31am

Nice idea, two button theme and growing, I really like it

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Aside from my confusion at the beginning from not being able to find anything to infect, it was a lot of fun, similar to something like osmosis or agar.io. For me there wasn't really a goal though? I didn't have the progress bar shown in the image (just me?) so I eventually got bored and let the blue enemies take me :P.
P.S. Shouldn't they be white? Like white blood cells that attack viruses?

CMG says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Felt pretty intuitive to me. You want to infect and destroy the black cells, and the blue cells want to stop you.

XenosNS says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:29am

Looks good, liked the music. I would of preferred to use the left mouse button over the right.

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:54pm

I loved the graphics and the animations :) And the gameplay was great too. The dificulty is bit tough later on, though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]