Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Winter Quest

by michidk - Jam Entry

Have you ever imagined to be a snowball? Me neither. But Winter Quest lets you change your perspective. As you roll over the glittering snow, you will start to pick it up and grow! And the cosy fireplace will make you melt quickly.
Can you use these abilities to solve tricky puzzles and reach the magic portal to the North Pole?

To play fullscreen and with better performance, download the game!
It's avaible for Windows, Linux & Mac, 32 & 64 bit!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#195Graphics(Jam)4.04
#217Overall(Jam)3.65
#218Theme(Jam)4.02
#328Innovation(Jam)3.39
#341Mood(Jam)3.43
#382Audio(Jam)3.27
#434Fun(Jam)3.24
#688Humor(Jam)2.32

Comments

terry90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:01am

Unable to go past the menu screen. Could only make it look good by playing it at 1440p. Lovely menu screen though.

bradur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:01am

I made it to the part where the ice was introduced. Nice game and cool idea. The fps was quite choppy even with terrain deformation off, but the game is still playable. I really liked the graphics, the game looked very consistent and good. The mood was very wintery, which was nice. The music got quite repetitive fast, but it was nice to listen to at first. The gameplay was quite hard but fair. Good job!

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38pm

I tried the first level 3 times and I guess I have to pick up every single snow particle to make it over the canyon? It was just taking way too long and I lost patience with the trial and error :(

Looks like a cool concept though, a little like katamary damacy

Avant-Marde says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:26am

Played the first two levels, and they were super cool (ehehehe). I like the seasonalish music, and the graphics are very nice. One of the things I had an issue with though was that the snowball was super slow when it was small - but maybe the speed is the same regardless of size and it just feels faster when you're bigger? A slightly faster mini snowball would have been nice. The fireplace mechanic was seamless with the screen going red so it was clear what was happening. I really liked the parts that I played overall, good job :)

juaxix says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Smart ,i like the concept, you know, when the ball is so big, it could eat other things like wood and rocks, like Katamari

holgk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Ncie game.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Pleasant and good game, right touches, just fit the season.

Frenchie says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:22am

Hey, another take on the growing snowball genre! I made one too :)

Loved the way the terrain changed as I rolled around - that was really nice! I beat the game but wish I could have moved around just a touch faster

Logicon says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:31am

i give it a katamari/10

beetracks says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:25am

Very good game. I think it could be a little faster though, you spend too much time gathering snow, I think. But I had fun playing it to the end. Good job!

Silverfyre says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:38am

I enjoyed this game alot! But I wish there was a control to allow you to control accelerate/stop.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:49am

Not bad at all, add more levels!

Gunzil says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:51am

Cool idea, rolling a snowball that grows over time is very appealing to me. I like how you actually pick up snow off the ground as you roll as well. You don't seem to do that much other than grow by rolling snow and shrink by touching fire, though. Could pick stuff up by rolling over it and then drop it off by shrinking.

The music loop was too short and got grating after a while, it set the mood well though.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:18am

Wow, perfect use of the themes, gorgeous graphics, and clever game play. Really great!

Didi says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:24am

KAtamary feelings I wish it faster! nice mechanics thou

fermenter says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:29am

Really dig the terrain deformation as you roll. Runs a bit slow and made my little laptop catch fire. Whoops!

Rys0n says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:47am

I really like the mechanics here :)

It runs slow, like you said, but I was able to make it past that. My only complaint is that I wish I had a little more control over the momentum/turning. An adjustment there would really make a difference. :)

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:32am

I finished the game, really cool! I liked it, cool puzzles!

themadknights says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:41am

Good work! You combine both themes in a single cool idea :). My frame rate is very low but a NVIDIA GTS250 can't do much better :D. The music fits perfectly as well.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:20am

Good fit in themes. Also good graphics and music. Im sure was fun to make it, at least ad fun as play. Well done!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:43pm

I got stuck on level 3. Nice looks and cool use of terrain deformation to show how the ball grows and interacts with the world. The music was nice for about the first 2 loops; maybe this would be better with just sort of wind sounds?

This is the nicer looking and more Adventure-y version of my entry, which is a race. Liked where you were going with this, well done!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Reminded a bit of katamari. Nice game, great job!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Simple, but very nice great game!

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Can't launch the Linux version. Crashes immediately on startup.. If I had to guess the problem I'd bet it was my out-of-date integrated graphics.

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:35am

Nice concept, i particularly like how you have to melt yourself to get through smaller gaps, clever!
The game started to feel a little repetitive after a while despite its short length, mainly due to the fact that you get slower as you get bigger, which makes sense but does make the whole experience a bit of a slog. Sound effects might also help. It's definitely a solid foundation you could build upon though, nice work!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:18am

nice 3d graphic! well done :)

yhsper says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Nice entry! I considered doing a snow ball game too! :)

dweebster says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:32pm

I liked the game although it was a bit slow for my taste but nice idea!

kanatohodets says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Nice graphics, well-suited audio, very polished game. One bit of feedback: there were a few 'player is permanently stuck' spots where it wasn't obvious that this was the intention: just "oh, whoops, accumulated a little too much, now I can't quite make it up the hill."

arzi says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Whoa, that looks really similar to our game!

.. but unfortunately the fps was so low (maybe 1-2) that it was completely unplayable on my 2013 macbook pro (windowed 1024x768, fastest quality setting), even in the menu.

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Cool game! I completed all the levels! The only things that are bad with this game is that it needs more levels and more fps rate.

FiSilva says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:48am

I liked this very much! Looks great, I love the art style and the music that sounded very xmas-y, and it was very fun and a nice concept. And good use of the themes
The camera sometimes turned too fast and I think the DOF was a bit too much, but great game anyway

klianc09 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:12pm

I really like that the snowball has sticks, grass and dirt in it, just like the real ones, instead of the artificial looking perfect white spheres.
I also had FPS issues even with lowest settings. The gameplay itself was ok, nothing special, but nicely implemented.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]