Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GROW

by Japes - Jam Entry

Grow your plant from a humble shoot to a mighty redwood!
(or oak, or pine, or palm....or something)

Click near the seed or the tips of shoots to grow branches or roots.
Roots collect water.
Hold ctrl and click to sprout leaves and collect sunlight.
Hold alt and click to enlarge sections of the plant.

Roots/branches/leaves cost water and sunlight to grow.
Cost depends on:
1. how for the segment is from the seed
2. how much stuff you already have

Mousewheel to zoom, arrow keys/WASD to move camera.

Make sure your trunk and branches are strong enough to support your weight!

Full screen recommended - your resources and income rates are displayed in the top left corner.

-------------------------

UPDATE 16/12/2015
I've added a post version that shows a ghost image of a potential shoot/leaf on mouseover, and shows the cost to build something before you actually build it. I think this makes things a lot less confusing.
Next up will be feedback on how much each component contributes to your income.

-------------------------

UPDATE 29/12/2015
Another update to the post version, I've tweaked the cost/income formulas and the cost overlay is now red if you can't afford to grow at a given node.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#777Theme(Jam)3.34
#843Humor(Jam)1.71
#949Graphics(Jam)2.36
#1059Overall(Jam)2.52
#1070Fun(Jam)2.07

Comments

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20pm

I feel like it lacked gameplay. I'm just clicking at a plant and hoping that something will happen.

LudumFans says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53am

Same that catblocker...

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Some sort of HUD would help the player know what is happening a lot. Interesting concept... could make a nice mobile game for when you have idle hands but can not be fully engaged.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36pm

The game runs but just adding roots or branches other than mouse click nothing seem to do and thing

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:37pm

I would love to see more happening in this game, it feels a bit unfinished.

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:18pm

I think the game would have benefited from an interactive tutorial explaining how to build a plant and some stronger feedback about the resource economy I figure was at the base of the game. Like a clear meter for water uptake capability and a clear meter for energy production. Do green stems produce energy for instance.

Japes says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:05pm

@local minimum I agree completely, would've done so if I hadn't run out of time. See the post version :)

Mikaza says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Very creative but need more informations about gameplay

Moosefly says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:45pm

The jam entry was a bit lacking, but it had the potential and the post version is already a great base for a game. As ChiPassGames said a mobile version could be interesting: a tree that you can mold how you like when you have a spare minute or two, when not, it'll just gather light and water to be used later! Well done!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:50am

Janky plant is janky!

It's too bad I have to judge based on the compo version, because the post-compo version is much better. It really shows off what you're trying to do, making a much better showing of this game's potential. You've got the start of a good idle game here.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:16am

I disagree with all the previous commenters, I liked your game a lot. My only complaint is the cost increase. Why does it eventually cost me 30 sunshine to make a new leaf? LOL, I worked hard to gather that sunshine don't price gouge me like this! :)

I wanted to see if I could grow my tree to the top of the screen (without breaking it), but I think it would take a really long time to gather that much sunshine.

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:58am

I like the gameplay, it's very zen. Two pieces I would have loved to see are: some sort of indication of how much things cost (without knowing I'm just clicking around hoping I can do things), and for the water / light to gen while the window loses focus. I understand why I don't get gen once the window loses focus, but I see this game being more like a bonsai tree than something to dedicate my attention to. I actually like having this as something I can come to in play sessions of a couple minutes at a time.

Overall, though, a cool idea and pretty well done.

Japes says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:19am

@Captain Awesome thanks! The cost algorithm obviously needs some tweaking, this is a common complaint. At the moment your distance from the seed increases cost way too much. Also size of roots/leaves doesn't increase their production but I will change that too.

@bitdecaygames this is also a common complaint :) the default unity behaviour is for things to pause when it loses focus so it wasn't a deliberate thing...will fix.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]