Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Garden Grow

by justinooncx - Compo Entry

========================================================================

Making a garden in the middle of a barren wasteland is incredibly difficult. That's why you need to help collect enough materials to help the Garden Grow!

- Jump on clouds to water the flowers!
- Jump on birds for their droppings to fertilize the flowers!
- DON'T jump on thunderclouds, they'll burn your precious flowers!
- Collect powerups to stay up in the sky longer!

========================================================================

Controls for computers:
Left and Right Arrow Keys to move left and right

Controls for touchscreen:
Press on the right side of the screen to move right
Press on the left side of the screen to move left

========================================================================

Made by Justin Oon Chun Xiong
Engine: GDevelop
Art: GraphicsGale
SFX: bfxr.net
Music: beepbox.co

========================================================================

This game incorporates both the Growing and Two Button Controls theme (as well as 1GAM's Questgiver theme). It was completed relatively early in the jam, mostly to make up for the shameful display on the last LD. Either way, I'm quite happy with what I've got! How many flowers can you grow?

========================================================================

Post-Compo Update 1.1

- Art has now been made consistent!
- Save data in the browser. Keeps track of high score, flowers, birds and magic.*
- Garden spawns flowers according to the score.**
- Birds have been nerfed from 5 flowers to 3.
- Thunderclouds have been buffed from -3 flowers to -7.

* Magic is given for each box taken and for each jump on a thundercloud.
** Feature is incomplete in this build. Spawnings are a bit messy with the big flowers spawning in front of smaller flowers. 3 tiers of flowers are available, denoting 1, 10 and 100 flowers respectively.

========================================================================

Post-Compo Update 1.2

- Mega Flower added, worth 1000 flowers
- Addition of new NPCs!
--- Bird Feeder
----- Gives bonuses in exchange for flowers
--- Hunter
----- Gives bonuses in exchange for birds
---- Wizard
----- Gives bonuses in exchange for magic
- NPCs sell temporary buffs that last for one round (except the Gardener)
--- Gardener
----- Trades 1 bird for 5 flowers
----- Trades 1 magic for 10 flowers
--- Bird Feeder
----- Increases the flower value of birds (+3 to +7)
----- Increases bird spawn rates (5 seconds to 3 seconds)
--- Hunter
----- Spawns more magic boxes from above
----- Increases the powerup duration by 50%
--- Wizard
----- Jumping on lightning clouds destroy less flowers (-7 to -3)
----- A second try when you die

========================================================================

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#76Fun3.83
#148Audio3.47
#174Overall3.67
#210Mood3.40
#261Humor2.86
#372Graphics3.31
#375Innovation3.33
#404Theme3.82

Comments

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:16am

I like it, it would be lice to see the flowers react to the rain/bird/lightning however.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:11am

Score: 95

Fun game and great chiptunez

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:19am

Fun game! It would be great if we can the score in game.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:05am

I really liked it, good graphics, fun to play and just good overall

Donar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:20am

It's nice but not overwhelming. It would've been better to only go with one theme here, because now I've to rate both. "Two button controls" is pretty much there, the "Growing" part on the other hand is kind of there but not really. The game tells me "something is growing" but I don't see anything growing. It's basically highscore game but the score is called flowers and yes, you see some flowers when you fall down.

I think you'll understand that I can't rate high on innovation either. There is nothing "new".

Anyway, it's a fun little game to play and Audio and Graphics are also quite nice, regarding the time you had to create it.

piluve says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:18am

The game is cool,but sometimes a get stuck on the lower levels of the clouds and end up falling.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26am

You're very good at making transitions! Silky smooth!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:27am

I like it a lot! The "vector" gfx clash a bit with the pixelart animations of the characters, but other than that: Good job!

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:28am

Great music first of all. Nice power ups, and the controls work well.

Gins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:34am

Loved it, quite a meditative experience with that soothing music!

SecularBaron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Cool game. I made many flowers.

deadpixl says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Pretty cool game! I feel showing the flowers grow would of been cool and the cloud and lighting is a cool mechanic.

Afendar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:28pm

I like music and old style graphics. I have 70 flowers before falling into this XD.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Beautiful, very clean and polished work for a compo game, nice one! :)

Mattress says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44pm

I really enjoyed the game! The difficulty is high, but it's not impossible. I haven't run into an impossible spot yet. I think that the rainbow lasts for too long, though. It's the best powerup.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:31pm

448 points. Nice game! The only problem is that if the RNG hates you, it can make you lose.

scottthoo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:06pm

nice work !

okusho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25pm

A wonderful game with nice theme!! I'm love the music and mood!!

Remicy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:48pm

score 141
Really love it!! I enjoy this very much!! Thanks for making this game!

2011petia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Nice game :D i like it, this game have all entry
Overall = max
Innovation = max
etc = max

im-oab says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:41pm

nice music. fun game.

eskivor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Pretty original way to make a platformer game. Good game ! :)

Pusty says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Was fun to play! Nice music!

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Nice tune, and it looks really nice. This would go good for mobile, nice!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Very professionally made. The clouds are a bit too square for my taste, and the styles of some sprites don't really seem to match, but apart from that, the graphics are very good. So is the sound, even if it starts to grate after a while. Most importantly, gameplay is simple, fun and pretty addictive. The powerups add a nice bit of variety.

I like what happens when you die.

First game I played this LD. Hope they're all this good!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Nicelly done! Very polished effects that gives juice to the game. Congrats!

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Fun game, good tunes, good retro graphics. Nice job.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39am

Great game! The movement felt a little bit clunky, but I played it for a good 15 minutes despite that. I think this game has a great chance of being a winner! Nice job!

P.S.
The graphics were nice

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13am

Really neat idea! I liked it :) I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/LlS8bcKfkfQ

Funske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:30am

Really good! The music is really nice and I really enjoyed. The graphics are great and keep to the style. Controls are really good. Again very good game.

YinYin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:32am

311

nice

Rnd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02am

Cool Idea, it will be more fun if we can see lot of flower bloom in end when we reach more score

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:14am

Fantastic game all around - even seemed polished! :D I'm not sure if the difficulty is based mostly the random cloud movement or not, but I guess it's comparable to Doodle Jump's difficulty, which is a good thing considering how popular Doodle Jump became. Great work!!

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:44am

High score 135. I could see myself playing something like this on mobile. Love the music love the art a nice peaceful game

Jebby says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

Really fun!

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18am

A really nice game, I would enjoy a mobile port even more. I liked the design decision to have a like a cushion at the bottom of the level that really helps players recover from mistakes. Sound effects were just okay I thought. Minimalist art is fine but I'm not a fan of the color choices, some don't mix well.

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:30am

Cool game, nice finishing touch. Got to 125.

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46am

felt like a little girl after falling into pile of flowers for the first time. caught myself with a smile like this :>
very fun to play

Dyn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:09am

Very good approach to theme.
You should publich thhis game on mobiles.

ianh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:18am

The controls were really solid and the powerups kept things interesting. Cool game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:42am

Great use of the theme. Loved it :)

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:13pm

great sfx very fun and overall great game. oh and I didn't expect to see vivian in a ludum dare game.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Hi, i liked this game and enjoyed playing it :)

the graphics were cool and the audio was nice and went with the game :)

Well Done :)

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Really nice. Simple but effective, really nice art+sound too

rzuf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Wooo, your game is so nice! I love the music and overall lovely atmosphere! I scored 573 and falling on the flowers actually felt good. :D

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45pm

5 green thumbs up!

johanw123 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02pm

score: 303
Nice game it was really fun and well made, cant complain

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Good fun, gave me an Ice Climbers sort of vibe

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Nice little game! I didn't expect to see Vivian James in a game O:

Leeson says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Very fun and sticks to the theme

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51pm

I don't know what I just played but it was very cool!

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Felt really nice to play. I got 166 :D

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12pm

good game! the sprite of the character doesnt fit in the scenario that much because of the pixel lenght, but the mechanics are good, nice concept!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Had a blast playing the game, really enjoyed it, just plain good.

Rudenko says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:07pm

got 234, nice! im started from GDevelop also ;)

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Excellent job on the game loop! Cool concept too!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:41pm

very cute and funny game, reminds me of balloon fight, well done

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:20pm

cute little game.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Its Flower Power!
score 108!

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:57pm

This game oozes old school personality and it was pretty fun to play too. Nicely done.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Really cool game, got to 228.

Kimau says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Really lovely game I genuinely was smiling the whole time.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Wow that was fun. The music was cute. Would be nice if there were a way to rebuild the bottom set of clouds...

broknecho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10pm

That was really fun. Pretty tight control and was easy to feel if you made a mistake.

Well done!!

Peekotus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:30pm

I like it, would be cooler if there was score

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Great game, nice music!

dj_pale says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Nice little game - a little bit hard to grasp the objective at first.

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:49am

Nice music. Simple gameplay loop. I love how the person falls onto the flowers. I would say it gets repetitive quickly.

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:37am

Pretty good! My High Score was 180. I liked the transition from the Game and the menu, very clever.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:50am

What a neat little game. Good job. I liked how smooth the transitions were from menu-game-gameover. Well done.

Mikhail says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:13am

Great game! I liked it!

esayitch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:39am

Very cool game. I loved the music in particular, I think some pixelart would have gone very well with the chiptunes xD

Good luck!

VideoDog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:25am

The music is fantastic! Nice concept as well!

cimbaman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:01am

Quick, fun and interesting.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48pm

That's so cute! The music is very sweet and the concept is interesting! Good job!

tobia88 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:46pm

I love your theme and really enjoy in the game play, well done!

Switchiers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:49pm

A really pleasant game! It would be cool to have levels or themes with a different enemies and difficulty.

Mikaza says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Nice game !

newbeings says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:23pm

The bounce feels right good! Nice responsive controls. Good work!

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Nice game. It looks and feels polished.

realbogart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Great!

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Pretty Fun. Good Job.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:54pm

It was simple but every bit of it did it's purpose. Well done guys.

swellbastion says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:54am

I like this game because I feel like I could get really good at it, and it also is super chill, not stressful. Also justinooncx I really appreciate that you said you finished my game (boxage 263). That is impressive because it is so unrewarding. You get the boxage medalion. It's cool that someone other than me actually saw the end screen. Also the chiptune music just came on and it's really good.

swellbastion says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:00am

I would love a phone game based on this.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:43am

The music is awesome! Love the pixel graphics and really simple gameplay. 202 was my highest :)

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:47am

What a fantastic mood this game creates.

walaber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:25am

really nice job! I like these kind of endless bouncers, and the slowly eroding line of clouds at the bottom really managed the tension nicely. the different powerups were fun too. nice!

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:40am

This game was fun! I would like to see a depiction of the flowers or maybe a score. The graphics were nice, I didn't like the sounds very much though and they kept cutting out for me. I liked it! Really easy to figure out and I played a few times, I ended up getting 326 flowers =P

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:01am

Cool game, definitely one of my favorites from this jam. Hop you get a good rank for this.

candlesan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:33am

Wow really fun! High score was 167. Some great ideas in here.

richardboegli says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:24am

Quite fun to play. Easier with keyboard.

Patomkin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:24pm

The art style is a little bit... well, random, because all the assets look different, but the idea is amazing. Had a good laugh when I fell down onto a pile of flowers that grew with my help :D

chabuduo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Pretty awesome!

Ghen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:47pm

really great game!, i love the screen transition when her fell of, really polish and well done :)

pontooncity says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Simple, fun game. Nice job.

SoulBound says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:12am

Interesting game. Some music would have been nice, but the graphics and game play where excellent, nice work!

Webravenz says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:46am

Completely amazing it was a very good moment thank you !

adsilcott says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:37pm

A cute and fun game with good use of the theme. I love the music!

The Red Chef says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Nice game! Simple and fun with a bit of a challenge. Looks good too!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Nice game with responsive controls and fun gameplay, I really dig it. Only thing I would change is the pixel art for the main character that clashes with the rest.

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:13pm

562. I liked this, I really did, not sure the balloon was a powerup I enjoyed, it felt like time taken away from playing, that said, I'm scoring favorably, not a bad entry.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:35pm

wow this was awesome! really nice idea, simple and effective! got to 278.

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Very fun! Simple to understand and play, but still reasonably challenging! I managed 165.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:40am

I found this game very soothing. Great chill soundtrack. Simple controls. Pleasing thunder cloud fx.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:55am

I continued to play because it's addicting with its peaceful sounds :3 I like the little touches, like how things worth more points take precedence over things worth less. My only complaint is that when you fall onto the lowest layer of clouds you need to wait for low clouds to spawn in order to get up again. Maybe this could be solved if the lower clouds were more bouncy... Just a small nitpick though. Overall I've had fun playing this and made it a bookmark.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:50am

holy hell, there's a lot to like about this game!

- cool starting menu / screen
- cool end screen
- nice art
- insanely clever idea
- super simple gameplay, but still fun and challenging enough to make me want to keep playing

overall, I was surprised how much I enjoyed this one! Very lovely entry, great work, and please keep making games :)

Quique says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:16am

I like the music :-)
It's so funny

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:45am

Simple, but gorgeous!
My score is 101

Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Wow, Very fun game! Love the graphics, sounds, music and game mechanics!!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:18pm

This game was really fun! Music really adds to the experience. Would've loved to see something of the flowers before I fell down, but I must say, falling into a bed of flowers was pretty cool as well.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Such a cool idea man!! really nice.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Very good, I got sad when I killed a bird until I read the instructions...

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:55pm

It is really fun to play this game, I liked! Good job!

Headmade says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Fun little game. Nice music and gameplay.
I only have one complaint. I don't like that I have to click left/right screen half, I would have much preferred left/right click.

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:40am

Fun warming little game! Nice audio and graphics, easy to play and fun. Maybe adding more types of terrains(like ice or wind) will improve this?

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:24pm

This is fantastic. The platforming feels really good, the music is great, the artwork is nice. I had lots of fun playing this -- thanks!

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Pretty cool! i loved the powerups.

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:05am

I've seen the same game for pico-8 jam but i don't know who is the author.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Clever use of the theme! Well done!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Very addictive very fun and challenging too, great game!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Pretty nice game. Would have liked a bit more consistency in the art (the characters are 8-bit-ish while the flowers and birds and clouds are not).

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:56pm

What a fun and happy game!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:02am

Very good game! Great music too.

psychonull says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:29am

Transitions between main screen and game are awesome ideas, music goes good and the game is really fun. Post-compo update of graphics was a huge improve. great entry!

ZYXer says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:49am

Awesome game concept! Graphics and music fit the mood. Well done!

davekalina says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Very good, felt like a somewhat fresh take on the endless arcade game (and not a Flappy Bird clone) so thanks for that! Actually fun to play :)

terryg says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:28pm

This is a LOT of fun!! Great job.

munchor says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:42pm

I got 171 on my first try, I really loved this game, reminded me of a Minecraft mod that had similar mechanics (but 3D).

Warboys says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Hah, I was not expecting that! From reading the instructions I was expecting some sort of growing game but I actually got a pretty fun survival platformer (never played anything like that before!).

Really interesting idea and it's a lot of fun. Nice work!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:23pm

very fun and quite addiction :D I liked the style and falling into the flowers at the end! my high score was 151

euske says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:41am

Such a catchy music!

Luxorix says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:55am

Very Good!!!

anael says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:52am

Really cool !! Well done !

Stals says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Cool, got to the score of 305

drludos says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Wonderful game! Simple yet very addictive and fun idea, great execution (the jam version is quite nice, even if the post-jam one obviously looks better ;)).
A perfect entry!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:15am

I really really liked this game. It's definitely one of the most fun this LD! I managed to score 606 (normal version)

Clabbage says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:32am

Simple but brilliant. I enjoyed this game a lot, just for the addicting nature of the gameplay, not to mention the lovely audio and attractive art.

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Great game, loved how you got both themes in.

yuigoto says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:37am

This is pretty fun! I can see the 2-buttons theme in here, but the growing is kind of under everything, so it would be nice if you put something other than just a flower counter and a garden at the end. :P

The graphics and the sound, are great and the game has some kind of "nintendo-like" feeling for me. It's quite relaxing too!

Good Job! :)

blakeohare says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:46am

A nice charming quick game. Good job.

tanis says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:58am

It's a pretty fun game. Nicely done!

Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Haha I was terrible at this, my best was 40. It was fun in short bursts though. I liked the music and the main character design

Tortoise says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:08pm

score 435, nice game, i enjoyed it and i liked how the clouds shrunk from 4 > 2 > 1 blocks in size.

beetracks says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:22pm

Very good game! I saw some updates of it too, it's nice to see you keep improving its art. The game is fun and beautiful. Loved the ending, haha, pretty cool. Good job!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Simple concept but absolutely fun and addictive plus great use of both themes

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]