Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Two Buttons

by tobia88 - Jam Entry

Welcome to the pixel world - Two Buttons!

This is a platformer puzzle game and must play with 2 Players (Unless you're good enough in controlling both alone)

The button is only able to touch the light as same color as them, so teamwork should be the most important factor to pass through the game.


Controls - Player 1:
Left: A
Right: S
Jump: F
Stick: Jump + D


Controls - Player 2:
Left: J
Right: K
Jump: '
Stick: Jump + ;

Updated: Keyboard reassigned for laptop user!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#24Overall(Jam)4.20
#45Fun(Jam)4.00
#51Graphics(Jam)4.52
#87Mood(Jam)3.91
#96Humor(Jam)3.71
#130Audio(Jam)3.79
#195Innovation(Jam)3.60
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Really nice game! Well-polished and fun to play, with nice sounds, visuals and level design!

guoboism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:26am

Interesting take of the theme. Two buttons as two buttons.
I like the design of cooperative puzzle. Great Job!

ajopart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:26pm

I wish I had a friend to play with. Well done. Quite polish for a 72h game. Nice art, clever respect of the theme

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Two Buttons taken literally, I like it. Great art and animations and the gameplay is intriguing. And thumbs up for the Kamehameha-Sound ;)

triello says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Awesome game! I love your pixel art graphics! Great work!

zamotany says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Great idea with multiplayer!

suppi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:29pm

My favorite game in the jam so far! played it with my girlfriend and we both had a great time! the controls are a bit difficult though :)

If you extend this to a full-length game, we will buy it!

Great job!

ragnta says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:55am

Nice game. But if I press ' all the buttons jump. Is it bug or feature? :)

Yword says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:19am

Very innovative and fun gameplay! Well done!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:23am

Awesome. I really like the graphic style.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:30am

Too fun)

Lullaby says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:55am

The pixel art work is really great. I also like the fact that you made a game that needs two players on the same keyboard, made me thought about one of my first Jam game...!

Nice entry, well done!

Markus Brand says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:55am

Awesome graphics, audio, humor and mood - overall a awesome game! Sadly, i had problems with the controls because of the german Keyboard I'm using. No Key made the red Button stick on the wall.
Most german Keyboard layouts look like this: http://blogoscoped.com/files/german-keyboard-layout.png

Keep up the great work and notice me once the keyboard problem is fixed, I would really like to test the game with working controls! :)

zebi24 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:10am

Flawless pixel art and awesome gameplay. Really enjoyable.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]