Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Billy's Big Day

by Kitty553 - Jam Entry

Once upon a time Billy wanted to grow big enough to eat the Sun.
You are Billy.
Eat the Sun.

***SORRY FOR PREVIOUSLY BROKEN LINK. SHOULD BE FIXED NOW.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#117Fun(Jam)3.73
#146Humor(Jam)3.54
#234Audio(Jam)3.52
#325Theme(Jam)3.88
#369Overall(Jam)3.47
#507Mood(Jam)3.22
#776Graphics(Jam)2.92

Comments

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:02am

Download not working. :(

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:40am

I can't download this

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:41am

link's broke dude

bakudas says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:45am

link error

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:03am

Link error

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:19am

Oh man, I love this. The food being synced up to the music is awesome, and everything just feels so satisfying. The way you gradually introduce new obstacles is intuitive, and the sudden increase in tempo when you go to space is a nice test of the skills you practice in the slower section. Really solid game!

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:26am

Not a game to be playing at 3 AM :')

Really tight controls, and has a great rhythm. It's too hard to reach the end though!

jofra says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:27am

It works now!!!!! Good work!

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:27am

This is great! You did a fantastic job with this. At first, I was like "mannnn one of these games..." then you showed me up by adding a lot of interesting spins to the game. Good job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:33am

I was Billy.
I ate the sun.
10/10

Seriously though, the game was pretty nice. My complaint is that the non-food items aren't distinct enough. I feel the red outlines blend in too well, if they were white it might have worked. Also, I found everything blinking in and out of visibility every so often. Not sure if that's a glitch or just the game trolling me.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:44am

Very cool sprites and gameplay, smooth mechanics, I liked it!

niccholaspage says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:45am

My god, what a gem we have here. It's insanely fun for such a simple concept, but fuck me if those last few levels- and the space level especially, aren't the most difficult things I've ever played.

The visual design is great, it's clear from the getgo what you want to eat and what you should avoid, the music is a glorious epic tune fit for billy's epic quest to morbid childhood obesity and adds a fun rhythm to play to.

All around, it's a really well done game, super difficult but super rewarding when you finally beat it.

Couldn't find a reason to go lower than five in any category, congratulations guys you all did great work here.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:45am

simple and fun. awesome job! the eating being synced to the music was very satisfying.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:52am

When I first saw the picture posted as a screenshot I was expecting something that was going to be shovelware or just a joke screen submission, but when I booted up the game I was really, genuinely surprised at how fun it felt. The red around the negative pickups is a little unclear and some things throw you into unwinnnable situations with dodging beams and the negative items, but damn. This has a surprising amount of kinetic feedback that was really unexpected. Very fun, surprisingly so! 5 stars for usage of both themes, and well I must say. Great stuff.

SpringCabal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:00am

It's fun and polished but graphics could've used more work.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:04am

Nice work on the sprites and game play

brandloose says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:06am

Really liked the game, only negative was the ending level was sooooooooooo long.... Too long. I ended up quiting. Get some better art and that game would be awesome. 7/10

xodene says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:27am

Really fun entry. The music is really bright and set the mood well and I liked the sound effects. The first level is indeed too long, it'd be a lot more fun if it was shorter.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:32am

VERY well made, congratulations! Amazingly fun gameplay, music, and mood! The thing you should change is make the non food items distinct. Great job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:42am

It's the Chansey minigame from Pokemon Stadium! Well, advanced a bit. Cool stuff. The music is fun and catchy, and it's nifty that the catching is timed to the music.

Would have been nice to see a list of possible falling things and which were good/bad/powerups. Didn't take long to figure it out, but would have been good to get a heads up. Otherwise, great stuff!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:11am

I like the wacky way things ramped up. Definitely exceeded my expectations. A funny ludum dare game that plays well?!?

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Simple and fun

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Damn, I just had to press D at the start to see what happened xD I wish burgers and sweets rained from the sky irl. Fun little game wit a catchy jam, great work! :D

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Absolutely insane, loved it. Super difficult, but once you got the rhythm it was addictive. Crazy spinning is crazy.

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Surprisingly funny for a such a simple concept. Gets quite challenging later in the game.

daveh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:58am

Excellent use of the themes. Really liked the music. Can't get past the city, it's damn hard (in a good way!)

shrapx says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:01am

this is fun, frantic, with energetic music (key change!) and beeps that are on the beat. lots of crazy pickups, funny character, pixels! and planes and aliens wow. Great game! i got up to the big city before i lost :(

mukult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Ohh damn...only windows link... :|
Please try to get mac/web builds too , if possible :)

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:11pm

*motion sickness on the space level blaaargh*
Game was very awesome before the space level!

crazya02 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Funny, but gets irritating right around the city area. Dangerous items aren't distinct enough, and powerdowns are super irritating. Also, the way that the background is scaled up looks really bad and blurry, nearest neighbor scaling would've looked better.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:43pm

The music sells the game. So happy and beat driven :3 I had fun.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:52am

Pretty sweet game, although very difficult in later levels. I enjoyed the Mario Paint plane sprite!

felilix says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:16am

Nice, I liked the number of features you added to a simple game, the screen spinning was so cool and unexpected :D

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:22am

Fun game! It gets very visually noisy in the late-game, but the controls and mechanic is great.

The 'powerup' wasn't super useful, however, it kind of made things even more complicated.

The fact that the music syncs up to the food sounds is very clever and satisfying.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:02am

I could hardly see the alien thingies because of their color

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Nice job! The 2 button controls worked well for this game.

I think the timer aspect of the game was a bit unsatisfying... I think there are better losing conditions than the time running out, because when you lose it's like "oh, I guess I lost", and if you are slow at the start then there's not much you can do.

Fortunately when I died I tried again and I managed to beat it :) I had fun playing this game, thanks for making it!

themadknights says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:56am

Simple game but really funny

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]