Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Subcell

by Chris Delta - Compo Entry

Subcell is a shmup wherein you compete to be the biggest, baddest Subcell in the sea! Grow your own sub by cannibalizing the debris of your enemies!

Heads up, this is a fullscreen game, Esc key to close it.

To access the tutorial in-game, press the T key. It's the same tutorial as is in the second image above, so you could also just read that.

The theme I chose was Growth!

Differences in the Post-Compo version so far:
- Fixed memory leaks in the physics system (less ghost objects floating around)
- Fewer crash bugs
- Fewer enemies at a time
- Bloopy distortion effect

Thanks for playing, Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#589Mood2.81
#625Innovation2.91
#632Audio2.20
#739Graphics2.59
#833Fun2.57
#835Overall2.77
#907Theme2.77
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35am

I am getting a "Number of vertex components must be a multiple of two" error.

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:56am

Extracted the Windows download, and nothing happens when I open the .exe

Mixer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:11am

Not opening on windows :/ Nothing happens at all. It looks good, pity I can't play.

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:21am

I'm working on getting this figured out, Love2D has very suddenly crapped out on me. Thanks to everybody for telling me how it's screwing up, it helps a bunch!

daleth90 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23am

Double click the .exe in Windows and no responce

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35am

Alright, it ought to be solved now.

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:37am

I lied. More work.

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:44am

It should work now, but I've had to backdate Love2D to get it to work, so it might just maybe be unstable. Comment anything you find and if there are enough problems I'll just maintain a separate 'fixed' version. Thanks everyone!

guoboism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:57am

The game looks too small on 1920 1080 screen.
There is a part equip system. But the ring panel is too difficult to understand...

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20am

The ship building system is quite impressive for a competition of this scale.

Sadly the combat element of the game suffered as a result as it. I was getting this error for multiple tries after playing for a few minutes main.lua:357: attempted to index variable 'b' (but it is nil)

Reminds me quite a bit of Captain Forever.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:19am

While the idea is good, the combat mechanics suffer from the lack of time to make a more challenging, and controls are not as responsive. Can be improved further with some more work.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:12pm

I agree @pvwradtke. Nice concepts and with decent polish it will shine.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:58am

VERY cool! And a decent amount of parts and pieces to pick up for the time allowed. This is by no means a super novel idea but it fits the theme, its actually got tangible progression (unlike alot of LD games which feel like demos), and the enemies are also pretty variable.

I only wish enemies would have a little less health at the start it took a while to get going. I was fine with the floaty controls as long as my shots count more.

acotis says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Hard-to-grasp mechanic, hard-to-parse background, and frustratingly slow movement when I get hurt too much. I like the idea, but it could use a tutorial and some power-tweaks.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]