Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A Mold's Life

by vrld - Compo Entry

The ultimate mold simulator! Devour food! Grow! Devour more food! Fight! Devour EVEN MORE food!

You control you mold indirectly: Place goals with the left mouse button. Clear goals with the right mouse button (or any key [except escape]). How the mold reaches the goal(s) is not under your control.

Needs LÖVE 0.9.2 to run.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Innovation4.04
#161Theme4.09
#191Audio3.32
#267Graphics3.52
#388Overall3.35
#480Humor2.36
#586Fun3.00
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54am

Who knew I could be so in invested in the growth patterns of fish mold? Very cool and relaxing to just sit and watch - though I seemed to have trouble getting the mold to 'split' / branch?

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:12am

Interesting concept. Wish things moved a bit faster. Also, don't really understand what I'm supposed to do when the "enemy" mold shows up. You reach the limit of what you can cover it with when there is a sliver of mold left.

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53am

Cool effects for the mold. Runs a little slow though.

deadpixl says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Surprisingly hypnotic. Love the music and the sound of the mold. I wish there were more indicators letting me know i was doing things correctly. Like the eye of the fish changing colors. I also couldn't get the mold to split.

oxysoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:09pm

very cool, could be expanded further

Piode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:12pm

A very bizarre game, but I like it. Very unique.

Charzendat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:33pm

I do wish the game ran faster, or if maybe there was a speed up option. Plus I gave up when the opposing mould appeared. At first I thought it was just who got the most but then I realised you could destroy them and waited for at least 5 minutes for this one little patch to just die but it wouldn't.

Tijn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:57pm

I barely understand what I'm doing or what's going on, but I just sat here, staring at it grow, for like 20 minutes :D

It looks very pretty. I wish I knew how I could solve the apple puzzle with the "enemy mold" though.

davesoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Amazing concept and well executed, I could play it for hours. I think I already have :P

Chewie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:59pm

A bit unclear goal of the game and slow pace made it a little boring for me. Stuck on the level with enemy,was not able to find the way to finish the level.

Visual are good, mold movement and "strings" looks nice.

Solifuge says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:59am

Pretty weird, cool strategy game. I'm curious about how you did pathfinding, and what the lines between the mold dots represented. Also, fighting other mold is pretty tough (Especially that Turkey Level); I don't know if I gather strength by growing larger, or whether I'm supposed to just click on spots and hope I can overcome them by brute force. It seems like there's some neat stuff going on under the hood, but the game doesn't provide much feedback about it to let me choose my next move, other than watching my mold grow and some very pleasant sounds.

All in all, I had fun with this. Thanks for putting it together.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:48am

Very nice use of shaders. This was a really cool game, but it felt very slow gameplay-wise. Great job!

Akhera says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:25pm

The concept sounds good on paper, but in practice it's quite boring. Most of the time I'm just staring at the screen not really being able to speed things up in any way.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Interesting concept (very well fit for the themes) and good graphics. Held my attention for quite a while.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]