Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Jack and DeVine

by eric777 - Jam Entry

We decided to do the "Growing" theme.

Help Jack rescue his beloved Princess DeVine from the evil Zeus. Armed with just a watering can, you must ascend into the heavens and take back your Princess!

Works with XInput controllers and keyboard.

Move = dpad / arrors
Jump = gamepad-A or kbd-Z
WaterCan = gamepad-X or kbd-X

Thankyou so much for playing. I had more fun with this one than any prior LD. The Vine is randomly generated which consumed more time than I'd have liked, but could really be useful if we extend the game post LD.

I really wish it was a week long competition! I'd love to work on this one for several more days, just because it was so much fun to develop.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#63Theme(Jam)4.27
#77Humor(Jam)3.78
#97Mood(Jam)3.89
#161Fun(Jam)3.65
#179Audio(Jam)3.62
#191Graphics(Jam)4.05
#205Overall(Jam)3.67
#240Innovation(Jam)3.52
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

Piode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:54pm

A very good entry. The game has a nice vibe and the way the vine grows is very impressive and visually striking. I wish it lasted longer, is my only complaint - I would have happily kept climbing for much longer!

ajopart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Nice !

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Lovely, little game, cool plant growing animation. The final kiss let us laugh. The player should blink one's eyes sometimes :-) Art is also cute.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:25am

This was GREAT. Which isn't surprising, I've seen what you can do before ;) I loved the cute animations. The art and color palette was adorable. The vine growing WAS AMAZING. Please please please continue making something with that vine mechanic. It was so much fun to play with. This was great. I love you guys :)

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Good job! Very short and sweet. Nice vine growing!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:36pm

This deserves more ratings! I like how you implemented a story into a similar yet better executed version of many games in this LD. well done :D

felilix says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Wow, such a pretty game! The dialogue was fantastic. Growing the vine so cool! Thanks for creating such an awesome complete little experience!

lawendt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:20pm

It has a nice art, but there's no game afterall. There's absolutelly no challenge, and I'll assume that you did not have time for it, so keep up with the good work!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Nice game :) interesting and fun

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Good work! Was surprised that it was already the end :-) Pity, but actually better than infinite boring games :-)

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:41am

Amazing entry! Very nice graphics, and the vine growing looked amazing. I loved the dialogue, and the music was outstanding.

beetracks says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:52am

Loved the graphics. I missed some character animations (walking), but when I saw what was done with the plant, oh my, what a great work!! Great game overall! Nice job!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:20am

Good job, a solid entry. Would have been good a bit longer.

Shivur says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:38am

Very good game.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:52am

Whoa! Very nice graphics and overall mood. 5/5 for the theme, it is the better implementation of "grow" that I have seen so far in the LD.

@eric777: What tools have you used for this entry?

eric777 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Hi Pat AfterMoon - thanks so much for the very nice comments. We used Adobe Flash to create the characters and backgrounds (just rendered to png). The music was created with FL Studio. For coding and bringing it all together, we used the EngineBlack libraries with VisualStudio 2015 Community Edition.

Rulrite says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:53am

You did a wonderful job with this game! I love the art and the music (and the name), and the growing mechanic is just so fascinating to watch and play around with - I have no idea how you did it. I'd be interested to see how you'd develop the game further, if you did spend a week on it.

Thankyou very much for your comments, by the way; you're much too kind!

amras0000 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:16pm

I can tell you spent a lot of effort on the vine growing, and it does look really nice, but I feel like your effort may have been a bit misplaced. The game overall just felt a bit tedious: jump, water, jump, water, jump water.

I think the game would have beneffited immensely if, instead of jumping up to water the stalk, you cut out the watering altogether and had the stalk grow when you reached the top, or collected some item or other. Then you could have some terror coming up from the bottom of the screen and force the player to climb ever faster on the stalk.

The sound effects are really quiet and the controls could do with an in-game explanation (especially "hit enter to continue conversation" - I'm not used to using enter on a game that uses z, x, and arrows so it wasn't obvious at all and I thought the game was broken)

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:21pm

Lovely little game! I love that Zeus was randomly the bad guy, a new spin on the story. And the gameplay was nice and different.

I really think you should continue on with it and make a longer level, maybe give the player a way to pick the path that the stalk goes so if you water on the left or the right for example.

Overall really enjoyed it!

Jan 12, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Cute, well made! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/lBXur6KZCzs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]