Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Beyond the Final Frontier

by Aggrathon - Compo Entry

__Description__

When the mysterious warp gates were discovered it lead to a new age of colonization. The new colonies were seldom self-sustaining, which offered a unique opportunity for business-minded explorers like yourself.

In this game you grow colonies and control the whole game using only two buttons!


__Tips__

The intro, trade and upgrade dialogs can be controled using the right and left buttons (<- left option, -> right option, <- + -> middle option).

The main menu can be toggled with the button in the top right corner.

Updates and story will be delivered in the lower right corner.

To "complete" the game use the warp gates a couple of times and grow a colony to size 6.

In the menu there is an option to steer the ship using the mouse if the two-button steering becomes too cumbersome. The ship will follow the mouse pointer, use left button for missile and right for shield.

There is currently a bug not resetting the amount of pirates when restarting ingame , to avoid this quit and restart the whole game.


__Technical info__

To show the default Unity config dialog use the commandline parameter '-show-screen-selector' or hold [alt] when launching.
(I needed it the first time I launched the game in linux to fix a render offset (I have 2 non-uniform screens))

__Tools used__

Unity, Paint.net, Gimp, bfxr, Visual Studio, Blender, Orbitron-font, Bosca Ceol


__Fixes__

The end screen was enabled at startup, blocking the game.
Fixed mouse steering spinning out of control.
Workaround for WebGL not displaying arrows.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#325Graphics3.40
#500Audio2.60
#602Innovation2.95
#625Theme3.55
#651Humor1.94
#719Mood2.59
#728Overall2.95
#790Fun2.65
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

ThaRemo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:55am

I'm stuck, how do you get past the first text that says "This is the longest wait..."?

Graydom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:24pm

So I am running windows version on a 1920X1080 monitor.
and there were a couple of problems.
1. The buttons were off relative to where their text was. I ended up having to click above the where the text for the buttons where to register the click.
2.Im not sure I understand the controls. It seems to be that you use left and right arrow keys to turn, but also move forward? The gameplay itself was fine, although I wasn't able to do much just because of how frustrating it was to move around.
3. The music stopped looping for me after a bit.


Anyway for what its worth the game looks good and judging by your screenshots it gets intersting later on. That coupled with the music makes a good game provided that you can fix some of the small problems.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:03pm

I liked it, though it was a little slow paced and a little confusing what I had to do.

Pepejson says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Intresting concept but game is a bit too slow

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:42pm

A good looking game with a nice concept but I did feel it could benefit from faster pacing.

themadknights says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:13pm

The idea is interesting but I think it's very confusing and a bit slow.

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:55am

The controls were interesting. I never figured out how to fire the missiles, I always just got the shield. Fortunately it was easy enough to get the pirates to run into things and die. Impressive world-building and exploration mechanics for such a short time!

Gaspard_ says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:01pm

Nice game. Pirates are pretty hard to kill. Controls are good except for the shields and missiles which is what make combat so hard. Trading system was good. Nice graphics, I even got to see a twin star planetary system!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]