Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Workshop Panic

by Bloodyaugust - Jam Entry

Santa needs your help catching presents in his big bag of goodies!

INSTRUCTIONS
---
Move right and left with arrows or (a and d). Double tap to dash, if you have the candy canes for it! Don't catch the coal, you'll lose at 3.
---

The game becomes more difficult as you catch more goodies, with spawn rates for gifts and candy canes decreasing, while coal spawn increases. It also increases the rate at which they spawn.

The leaderboard functionality wasn't finished within the timeframe, so that'll be added later.

We decided to do both themes, so use those two button controls, and watch Santa's bag grow as you catch more presents.

Good present hunting!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#691Audio(Jam)2.27
#796Humor(Jam)2.05
#847Theme(Jam)3.22
#865Graphics(Jam)2.67
#945Fun(Jam)2.56
#969Mood(Jam)2.31
#1032Innovation(Jam)1.96
#1070Overall(Jam)2.48

Comments

Mr_Fudd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:38am

This game is really similar to mine. Great minds think alike. I encountered a bug where when you replay the game, everything stops dropping from the sky but the game counts them anyway. If you hit play from the main menu, it works just fine.

thelasthour says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:41am

Pretty much a classic catch them as they drop game. Plays nice and its fun for a minute or two but not very creative.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:42am

Sadly in the Web version on Linux, and in the Linux download version the sack gets stuck after collecting the first present. On windows it plays nicely.

Mianki says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:45am

There was no negative penalty if you missed a present or candy corn. That would have been nice because it would have given more difficulty and excitement

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53am

@Binary Gambit and @Mr_Fudd, thanks very much for reporting those issues. I'll get to work on fixing them. And thank you all so much for taking the time to play, rate, and give feedback! Happy holidays to you all.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:19am

There is missing something new the game is really basic or I missed something ? :s
Merry christmas anywoo!

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:10am

@GwakamoleStudio you're not missing anything. Welcome to 48 hours of game dev. ;)

Anachron says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:49am

Merry Christmas! Awesome music :) Similar concept to a game I made for an earlier LD jam called "Gifts Galore". Love the holiday theme!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Player movement doesn't work :(
OS X, Opera

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:06pm

@goodbadokay are you using desktop or webplayer for OS X? Some players have had issues with the web player not correctly focusing.

adaFish says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:51am

Simple, fun concept. The dash was nice, and if I had more incentive to use it to get to presents--like if there was a punishment for missing presents--you could amp up the challenge a tiny bit. If you develop this further I hope you still keep it relatively forgiving, though, because that adds to the seasonal charm. Also the music is great.

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:14am

It would be nice if there is a win condition or lost condition, maybe at least a counter of the number of presents caught? Music could be more Christmas-y. However, the graphics is very simple but cute, love it.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:18pm

The double tap is a nice addition to this type of game. It's a good use of the themes too.

beetracks says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:21pm

I'll be honest: the music is annoying, in my opinion. The melody's volume is too high relative to the other instruments. And it seems it's somewhat out of tune. About the gameplay, it's cool.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Fun game that was easy to play (at least up to the level I got to... :) )

Re the music, it was quite comical. I liked the rhythm section better than the melody line, which I found a bit annoying...
I really liked the double-tap dash option!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Fun game and easy to play (at least up to the level I got to :) )

RE the music: it's quite comical. I like the rhythm section better than the melody line: the de-tuned comic effect got a bit annoying.

I really like the double-tap dash option!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]