Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cottron

by MrMordem - Jam Entry

Story :

In a near future, mankind has discovered previously unknown features about cotton.It is now used as a container for nuclear waste, while being mostly harmless to human and nature alike. Sadly, a rogue AI previously working in a beeswax plant has planned to take over every cotton factory and is threatening to release all nuclear waste waiting to be processed. Only one bot can destroy every rogue machine infesting the building, the last working Cottron class logistics bot, Q-Bot !

Gameplay :

We used both themes, you auto scroll through the level controlling the robot,
use the spacebar to shoot, the bot will auto aim for the nearest ennemy
use the down arrow to deploy / retract your legs and avoid obstacles.


Credits :

Coders : MrMordem, OstrichSigma

Graphics : Nokusu, Serval, Yerathel

Game Design : Serval, Gorka

Music : Nokusu

Sound Effects : OstrichSigma

Grammar text etc : Baboulinet


Original submission build for windows here :
[Windows Build 1.1](https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/73188849/LD34/LD34.1.1.zip)

We hope you will enjoy this entry as much as we enjoyed making it :)

Changelog 1.1.4 :
-> Player Life capped to 100 even if you take a repair pack at full health
-> Robots do more damage
-> You can now mute sound and music from the Option menu
-> Game Over screen and Option screen now show "Back" button to return to the main menu
-> Game Over sound now stops when you return to the Main menu
-> Sound menu is now patched, check boxes are more logical (checked for active, unchecked for inactive)


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#508Theme(Jam)3.68
#556Humor(Jam)2.59
#619Fun(Jam)3.03
#633Audio(Jam)2.65
#696Graphics(Jam)3.10
#760Mood(Jam)2.89
#772Overall(Jam)3.03
#902Innovation(Jam)2.48

Comments

dodormeur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Nice endless runner, but i don't understand how to aim (so i mash the space key ^^).
Maybe some variety in the bonuses would be nice :)

AdamAlexander says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:49pm

The game looks really nice! And I liked the retractable legs. It was a bit easy though, there were so many health packs I never ran low on health. Also, it would be nice if I could hold down the fire button.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Looks like you forgot to implement the power-ups that the help was talking about ! I also wasn't taking any damage from enemies or from X boxes.

Nice concept though, I liked the candy weapon ^_^

MrMordem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Thank you all for the feedback, we had some trouble with GMS since we were not on a stable build, so there might be more bugs than we initially expected, we will try to patch them up, new features are planned post ludum as always, but might take some time since we've recently managed to rework some of our older entries to become full games as well :)

@dodormeur :
the thing with the auto aim is that it can only track precisely the ennemies on the same lane as you, that's why its not perfect for "longer distances" we wanted more variety but we couldn't really have much because of the time

@AdamAlexander :
yep at the moment it's a bit easy because we didn't have time to balance it properly to reach the deadline, however it's also due to a bug we noticed a bit late, and it's being worked on, we'll discuss about the fire button since some members of our team are not really keen on the auto fire thing, but we'll discuss it ^^

@crucknuk :
Yep, we didn't forget to implement them, we just didn't have the time to make some things work properly, and the problem with dammage is apparently due to a bug with healthpacks and is being addressed, i'll try and put a changelog anytime we patch things up

thanks again for your feedback guys :)

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:22am

I like the leg mechanic. I don't like the autoaim. Overall the game passes.

mathijs750 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:12am

Mashing the spacebar is fun. To bad I couldn't see my final score at the and. Great weapon choice.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:59am

@NoWandStudios :
We thought of the auto aim mechanic because of the 2 lanes and also because we kinda planned this to be easilly playable on mobile where you wouldn't have quite the accuracy for a manual aim system so that's why it's like that at the moment :)

@mathijs750 :
Glad you liked it ! although we could still go for an auto fire we are still not sure about what's best, regarding the score at the end, it is supposed to be shown, but the issue is still being worked on at the moment

thanks again and keep those feedback coming guys !

i'll edit the changelog as soon as patches come as well as update the download link

Rocketship says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Was a nice game, the basic mechanics work well and auto aiming was a nice idea to use with such limited controls. I would have wished for it to get harder a bit by bit, I thought the game was a bit too easy. Also sometimes the random generation made me hit a thing without an option to dodge (X-box on top and plane under).

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:44pm

simple, effective, difficulty is not increasing, and that's an issue -> there is no end

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Its a hard at first because it seems you should be shooting everything but gets more fun as you get the hang of it and figure out it is more about dodging than shooting. I liked the music and the art, the menu was well made. Good job!

MrMordem says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:40am

@Rocketship :
Yeah, we still need to balance the difficulty, at the moment it's not because we had quite some issues with the rng on the crates spawn, so we did what we could to meet the deadline and patch it later, not to mention random crap we had to fix because our version of game maker was not stable at all :/

@monetai :
Same here we couldn't properly balance the difficulty just to reach the deadline, we are working on it though, we thought of a difficulty progression as you play, but did not have the time at all to implement it, so hopefully on a post LD build ^^'

@PickleCrew :
We did wanted to use both themes so the 2 button control was quite a limitation for this type of a game, but we're glad to see people seem to appreciate the simplicity of it(though we're still working on balancing everything and hunting for bugs)and glad you liked the art and music as well, we're a small team but we try to do as much as we can ourselves during the jam from scratch so thank you very much :)

and thanks for the feedbacks once again, keep em coming :p

the devs are still working whenever they can (this is a team account so even though it says MrMordem it's not always a coder speaking)we might have a new patch coming up, i'll tell you when i know more, it might come with an android port as well, anyway we'll all keep working and of course rating and playing those games :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Ey, you have done a good and original runner, I like it a lot :-) Good job and keep improving with Game Maker!

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Good mechanics. Good game

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Cute! Quite fun for a while, then becomes repetitive because it doesn't get any harder over time. I got 42040!

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Straightforward enough, you did take the themes to heart. Though that did end up making it a bit bland, try to give it an interesting spin! The auto-aim wasn't too great since you'd expect it to consistently hit targets.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:38am

@EternalCastleStudio :
Thanks, always glad to see people like what we did, truely appreciated :) we'll keep improving with game maker, we are using it to complete our previous entries in hope to make them better games, it's a neat tool for sure but, we just had so many issues with the unstable build we had to use -_- but hey that's LD, nothing ever goes exactly how you planned so you just go for it and hope for the best :p

@Astro Cat :
Thanks, we did our best, the game still has quite some flaws but we're working on it ^^

@Hot Box Games :
Yeah it's a bit repetitive, but for the LDbuild, because of time constraints we settled for an endless runner with a high score thing rather than the boss at the end like we planned (maybe post LD though) we might try and find how to put the progressive difficulty as it would really be a good game mechanic to have, we'll also try and have the final score on the game over screen fixed in the upcoming patch / android build

@Clavus :
Well as i said we did our best, there is always room for improvement though that's for sure, we had some ideas on some spins to spice up the gameplay, but the time and issues we had didn't allow for much of them to be implemented, and the auto aim is here cause we initially thought about mobile where you wouldnt have the accuracy of mouse aiming, but maybe we'll try to have some manual aiming for windows builds, we have to see cause not all the weapon types are in the LD build as well

Thanks again for the feedbacks guys, it really helps, sorry for not having a patch released in a while, we still have some issues which slows things down a bit but stay tuned ! The android port should be coming with it as well :)

Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:17am

Is there auto-aim? Because it might need some polish. Cool music & sound. Pretty good start.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:37am

@MrJoshuaMcLean :
There is an auto-aim, but the way it works is still being discussed. At first we wanted it to be restricted to "one lane", I mean when QBot is at his lower position, it can only aim at the lower part of the screen, and the other way around. Anyway, while I was coding the aim system, I was a bit short in time so I just coded a simpler version and it ended like that.
Some in our team prefer the "laned" version, some prefer the wide range -but- really low precision level if in the other lane. After some playtesting (unfortunately after the release), we noticed that it's not optimal and we're trying to improve the system.

Thanks for your kind words and for having tried our game. :)

tantumgames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Pleasant, small runner, the idea is not new, but the implementation is pleased

themadknights says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:48pm

The shooting mechanic is awkward because you only need to smash space key. Nevertheless, nice game, keep working on it for release in the future something greater based on this idea :D

stefenism says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:13pm

mash MAsh MASH! I couldn't get any power ups and it took me a while to figure out the controls...but well executed

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:43pm

It was quite simple and easy I felt but the idea was great and it plays well! Love the graphics and style, would love to see more of this game in the future!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]