Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Poetry

by metalchouchen - Jam Entry

So this is my entry for this Ludum Dare. My goal this weekend was to follow a tutorial to create a spline editor in Unity3D. But finally, tonight after the work I decide to make something that looks like a game. Mostly to be able to vote and comments other games :)

I'm note sure it's a game. But at least it's zen and relaxing.

Thanks you for playing.

(PS : Once I'll reinstall completely unity3d 5.3, I will made the WebGL build.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#218Mood(Jam)3.61
#314Innovation(Jam)3.41
#692Overall(Jam)3.13
#726Theme(Jam)3.43
#921Fun(Jam)2.59
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:12pm

The mood created is awesome :)
I would have liked to hear a recording of the poetry, since reading it was a bit hard.
Good job!

Cheers,
Morco (tyrants.not.found team)

yhsper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:22pm

I liked the aesthetics you used in the game, particularly the Skybox use and the music. I liked the rail controls, although I'm not the best at them, but found the poetry writing impossible to read while playing. To me, not zen and relaxing at all! Fun, nonetheless!

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Definitely shows a lot of potential as a game (that is if you plan to turn it to one; it works just fine as it is).

LxStudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:54am

I imagine this would be an exquisite way to end a story (e.g. outro or credits sequence). Beautiful experience.

coywolf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Cool concept. I also had trouble reading while playing

CremaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:09pm

I like the mood and the aesthetics but I got all dizzy

utgarda says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:11pm

I was able to kinda read it because I remember some narrator reading it, so it sounded in my head :) With more challenge added it's going to be a great game. For now, the coolest thing is seeing this 3D path all over the space. The idea of collecting words for the poem, or maybe "pieces of thought" or inspiration, this brings 5 stars for innovation from me.

fractalbear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Awesome concept! Loved that instead of score you collected words of a poem, great idea! Visuals were really nice and the music was lovely, great stuff :)

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Thanks you all for your comments :) That give me a lots of motivation to make it better.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Can't play on windows, but looks cool!

Rialgar says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:14pm

While poem and game did no seem to connect, I liked both. Music was interestingly fitting both the visual stlye and the poem. Good job!

Reading while playing was difficult, maybe stretching out the collectibles or having a narrator read a piece the poem everytime a verse/sentence/unit is complete would get rid of that.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:57pm

I liked the visuals and the idea, the poetry is rather hard to read. But lovely games.

beetracks says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Interesting mood, interesting idea, but it was hard to read and play. I'd put a sfx when the balls are caught too.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Had trouble reading a little however the whole premise was nice and relaxing. Great mood!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]