Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cyber Rider 2023

by Andrew Patton - Compo Entry

PLAY IN FULLSCREEN OR ON THE SITE! THE WINDOW IS TOO SMALL THROUGH LD!

In the future of 2023 you are Cyber Rider! Use your glowing trail to destroy your enemies!

Controls: Left/Right to turn at 90 degree angles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#454Audio2.68
#523Theme3.68
#526Graphics3.00
#554Fun3.06
#590Humor2.11
#632Overall3.06
#649Mood2.73
#800Innovation2.55

Comments

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Well-made snakelike game. I liked the sound effects. Could have used some background music and touched up graphics.

Nice entry! Good luck :)

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Good entry. Stuck to the theme well. A little bit of lag between the trails hitting the enemy, but that's about it for complaints.

togo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:34pm

the controls are a little hard to keep in mind, but that's on the theme.
i'd probably play it forever if it had regular 4 key movement.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Tron-like influence. looks cool. fun to play. takes some time getting the hand of it though.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Actually rather difficult to get the hang of, but otherwise a pretty interesting game!

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Good game, Nice concept

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Good game and I like the variety in enemy types.

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Nice game!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:10pm

awesome, trippy visuals, nice job

Silvio says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:54pm

very nice. smooth gameplay. could be an arcade game.
the soundeffect at begin of the level is a bit noisy.

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:15am

Fun and cool graphics! Awesome job including a high score.

Andrew Patton says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:08am

Thanks everyone for the nice comments and critiques.

AsixJin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:59am

This was a fun game! Great use of the two button theme! I'll probably be back to play this one!

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16pm

I'd say this game is fairly well made, fits the theme well, and great audio.

Eldraev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Fun little game. Reminds me of Tron without the killing yourself part.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:23am

nice game!

cgriff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Nice game - I found it pretty hard!

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:44am

That delay on destroying things is a bit of a killer I'd say, clean that up, and there's something quite fun waiting there.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Very pretty! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/w1ddlauRQRk

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:27am

I like the snake-like game and how you could kill things with your rainbow.

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Gamejolt embedded into Ludumdare is a bit useless :-)

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:31am

nice little game! well done :)

Lythom says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:02pm

Nice take on the "tron" concept, fun to play

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]