Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Arkham Madness

by Vertigon - Compo Entry

UPDATE: I managed to get Unity to spit out a WebGL build, so Chrome users will be less unhappy.

THE SETUP:
YOU are a cultist dedicated to bringing the old ones back into the world. Control your dark minions to move along leylines throughout the Seattle metro area. Each move will cast a ritual at a given node, and if you return to a ritual site, you will GROW its effect, drawing ever-greater magical energies.

When you completely surround a city with corrupting rituals, an elder god will be summoned, with a strength relative to the strongest adjacent ritual. The greater the strength of the summon, the larger percentage of the population will be taken, adding to a higher score, so take the time to build your energies before completing a circle.

Beware however! A meddling group of Investigators are casting their own protective magic that will undo what you have wrought. They are dangerous, and will kill one of your members every time you happen to cross paths.

Complete the corruption of all the cities and the Great One will be pleased. Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn.

THE DETAILS:
I was kicking around this mechanic in my head but it took a lot of rework to make a mechanic that felt well. That said, there's a lot of feedback as to how powerful your rituals are and how many cities remain that I didn't have time for. Also, the enemy is pretty uninteresting to compete with... it's definitely something I would have enhanced if I could.

I set up all the infrastructure to create more cities, but unfortunately didn't have time to set them all up. I feel that there is a twisted appeal to wreaking havoc on your hometown or a familiar place.

Created using Unity 5.3. The Web version uses Unity's WebGL, which loads a little slow on Chrome. The Windows version is a simple standalone ZIP.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#161Mood3.50
#220Humor2.96
#342Innovation3.38
#416Audio2.78
#441Fun3.21
#463Overall3.25
#480Graphics3.08
#805Theme3.25
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:56am

Pro:
+ Liked the backgammon-ish mechanics
+ Interesting usage of theme xp
+ Nice graphics
Con:
- Lack of instruction, I knew what I had to do, but I didn't understand what was going on really
- AI doesn't seem very smart
Obs:
o Maybe a way to kill adventurers?
o Didn't see the point of the adventurers pentagrams...

Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn

Great job!

Jod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Loved the setting, Ia Ia Ia Cthulhu F'thagn!

The gameplay worked, nothing was bugged. Animation was smooth, lovely little glowy pentagrams and elder signs.

I was missing an end state. At one point I was sure I had all the cities eaten by Cthulhu's glorious tentacles, but the game kept going. I would've loved to see a message from Cthulhu that he was proud. :)

Vertigon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:11pm

What, no end state? I frantically got one in during hour 46, but it should be there! Let me check. :-/

Vertigon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Well, I tried both the Web and the standalone and the win state is there, it should work properly. There are a few cities that are in pretty small areas so you might have missed one. City feedback and a countdown to the completion state are two bits of feedback that I wish I had time for.

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Clever idea! Took me a second to realize that you could stack up the soul count by revisiting junctions. Worth playing a second time to top high score.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Very cool concept! Love me some Lovecraftian gaming. Didn't take too long to get the hang of it. Would be good to have adventurers lose members when they pass into fully controlled sections from monsters.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Ia! Ia!
After figuring it out, it was a short but sweet game.

goffmog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Nice use of the theme and nice to see an "Arkham" game actually related to Arkham and not Batman :) The AI was pretty easy to deal with, would be interesting/harder if maybe your cultists were split up into multiple small teams - an option to play as the investigators would also add replayability. Overall, very fun to play :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:16pm

So unholy! Much fhtagn! Wow!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:30pm

I liked the gameplay mechanic. I wasn't sure on how to win the game. I controlled every node except for one, but then the investigators moved onto my position and killed me. Would be nice for me to do the same back to the investigators. But overall, the game was enjoyable. Nice work.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Looks like the roles were reversed from the arkham horror boardgame, time to summon the ancients!
The game has lot of potential, especially if theres lot of players involved.
Nice animations and mood :)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Very cool! The sound and sprites are pretty nice. The downside is that the AI is not too clever
Well done!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:44pm

I like what you've done with the game play. The art and fx were nice and clean, and I loved the heartbeat.

I was about to say the background map was against the compo rules because you didn't make it, however the more I think about it, the more I think Google Maps classifies as a "content generator." So never mind. :)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:17pm

I always wanted to feel like I belonged in a satanic cult. Thank you.

ddoomus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:38am

Nice game. AI was a bit lacking.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Oh this is really great. I love the graphics. Moreover, there's a non-trivial AI. Really nice job. Gonna play it again soon.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]