Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cluster Junk: The Secret of Trash Island

by Two Scoop Games - Jam Entry

Web Version works on desktop or mobile browsers. Use arrow keys for keyboards, or drag your finger on touch enabled devices. (tapping the screen substitutes for the space bar.)

We chose GROWTH as the theme.

There are millions of tons of trash floating in the oceans. So what goes on while no one is looking in these trash piles?

Explore the garbage of humans and try to become the largest trash island in the sea! But hurry, don't let the timer run out!

Made by:
Alex Bezuska (art + code) @alexbezuska
Eric Lathrop (code) @EricLathrop
Cara Smith (art) @howdycara
Ben WIley (music + code) @benwiley4000

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#52Humor(Jam)3.93
#117Fun(Jam)3.73
#130Audio(Jam)3.79
#150Theme(Jam)4.10
#168Overall(Jam)3.73
#170Mood(Jam)3.69
#228Graphics(Jam)3.97
#314Innovation(Jam)3.41

Comments

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:17am

Awesome idea! It's like a unique skin for agar.io! Good work, guys

eerongal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:32am

Interesting little game. Kinda reminds me of katamari damacy in a way.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:36am

Wonderful game! My favorite Two Scoop jam game so far. it was super pleasant and made me happy to play. This is one I'm going to go back to. It was super satisfying getting bigger and bigger and reading all the silly things that were getting stuck to me. Thanks so much for the awesome game!

nodens says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:43am

Fantastic fun. Really enjoyed it. Had a bit of an issue in Chrome, but it was still good fun :D

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:44am

Awesome job! It looks, sounds, and feels really nice. On top of that there is a ton of cool stuff happening underneath for allt he subtle effects. I give it 3 out of 2 scoops.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Oh those eyes... Good and fun to play game!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Nice idea good game

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:04am

Awesome Katamari-like! The further the camera zoomed out, the worse the framerate became - and during the 175m level it made it almost impossible to play :< (I'm on Chrome) otherwise, I loved it! Great work!

ambocclusion says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Super awesome all around. Music is catchy, graphics are great, and it's super polished. Really fun to play and throws me back to Katamari Damacy and Agar.io!

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Pretty neat. when i got really big i had some framerat issues though.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:30am

Your artwork is garbage and I lub it!! The vector-style is sharp and polish! The music is splendid, it fills me with glee as I traveled your wavy-@$$ ocean collecting trash. The coding that pushed for a solid, working GUI radar and the eyes movement is so dope! Dope like the Pope dropping rhymes about Hope. Word.

Stars all around! It feels so polished and whole! Good job, team!

This game has inspired me to take out the trash. K, thanks.

-Loi LeMix

bentglasstube says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:07pm

I felt like the game was much too zoomed in. It was really difficult to see what was around.

XenosNS says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Great Katamari Damacy style idea. Looks great, cute music. Game bogged down on me in my browser after collecting a number of items though.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:12pm

This is a beautiful, fun, albeit a bit short game.
I found the UI to be a bit too big at first, but I got used to it, although it still would have been nice to have a larger viewport on the world. A great game nonetheless! :)

Aaranos says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:15pm

The game was incredibly laggy for me. I think it is a neat different take on katamari.

jachepe says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:27pm

hahaha very funny game! I enjoyed it, good work!

r8berto says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Hahaha nice! Really liked it.

oparisy says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:46pm

Fun but got slow and hard to control fast. Nice sound and graphics design!

local minimum says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:24pm

Very good entry! Great use of the theme, lovely graphics. I swam around accumulating a bit here and there enjoying myself too much to not think about the timer and game-mechanics. It would have been nice if it was easier to get more varied topologies of the trash-self. But in general very fun game.

Jan 15, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Really nice little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/PXolvG1P7M4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]