Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Gravity Flip

by pvwradtke - Compo Entry

Gravity Flip is a puzzle game wioth two buttons, where you have to direct a crystall ball to the goal, by turning the game world. Turn clockwise or counter-clockwise to make the ball drop to a different plane, but watch out. If the ball lands too fast it'll break. Also, avoid the pesky spikes, that truy to break your nice ball. Have fun!

Controls:
- Right: gamepad right shoulder button, right key or D key.
- Left: gamepad left shoulder button, left key or A key.

Note: the ball will break if it falls too fast, you need to keep it close to the surface all times. You can drop it from lower heights, but you'll figure it out during the game :).

To quit the gamer at any moment, press ESC. Any key will cut the splash screen.

Running the game: simply unzip the file and run the incuded binary.

- Windows: any version should do it.

- Linux:
- Requires SDL2, SDL2_mixer, SDL2_image and SDL2_ttf on your system.
- Binaries were generated with Mint 17.02, which is Ubuntu 14.04 compatible, and maybe Debina compatible.
- If you use any other Linux flavor, just recompile (requires the development version of the above mentioned libraries).

- MacOSX: the Linux makefile should be enough to get you a binary if you install the SDL 2 development libraries (SDL2, SDL2_mixer, SDL2_image and SDL2_ttf).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#199Innovation3.64
#234Fun3.50
#294Audio3.06
#298Mood3.25
#300Overall3.47
#317Theme3.92
#615Humor2.05
#724Graphics2.61

Comments

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:25am

doesn't run on linux

mf1214 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:27am

Fun game. Fits the theme well too. I couldn't get past the flip though.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28am

Hi batmanasb, which Linuc flavor are you using? the game requires SDL2 and was compiled on an Ubuntu 14.04 derivative. The best bet is to try to recompile the game ("make clean" followed by "make") once you install SDL2. Or you may try using the Windows version on Wine (standar Wine will do well).

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29am

Cool! I really enjoyed it.

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:30am

Great game. Your tutorial is fantastic. The instructions during the tutorial get in the way a little bit, though.

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:31am

Interesting game, but it's a little bit too easy to die at times from falling, which can make it a little frustrating.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32am

I really want to give this a higher score, but I can't.
I like the idea and the simplicity behind it, but it is just impossible to play. I tried at least 15 times to beat the first level, and I just could not do it. The ball was pretty hard to control and it would break from going to fast when it did actually land on the flag. Maybe I'm just terrible at this game.
I liked the graphics and audio though and I did feel like it overly fit the theme of Two Buttons.

Overall, this game needs some slight adjustments to make it less difficult and thus playable. Other than that, it's nice. Nice work (it's a heck of a lot better than what I can do).

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34am

Actually after reading over comments, I just realized I was playing it severely wrong. I shall play this again immediately and review it again. Sorry for my harsh review xD

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35am

Ran ok on my linux machine (Debian). Had to get libsdl2-mixer-2.0.0 though.

Interesting concept. Tutorial text got in the way sometimes, but it was still fun.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:37am

Thanks thirteenspiral, really nice of you for looking into it again. The idea is that the ball can't land too hard on the ground, so you really need to keep it close to the surface all time.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38am

Great game! You should create more levels!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46am

OK, I'm an idiot. I should learn to read directions better. So, after trying this game again, I reallllly like it. The controls are still tough, but now that I actually know how to play, I like it. It's not an easy game, but challenging instead. I felt so accomplished when I beat the last level after failing 20 something times. I'm sorry again about my previous review, but hopefully this appeases you xD Really freakin' nice work on this! I really enjoyed it.

snowshovelboy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

A pretty solid puzzle game. I wish the ball could fall a little farther, its hard to get over the spikes.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:16am

This was fun; I finished the game hoping for more levels. The one criticism I have for the game though was that the flipping processing was disorienting, specifically, I had to find the ball after each flip as the level flipped about it's center, rather than round the ball, which is what I was concentrating on. I'm not sure how easy it would be to do with your implementation, but having the camera center on the ball at all times have made this easier.

Other than that, very nicely done.

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:21am

All good, just the music bothers a little.

SeaDads says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:15am

Quite challenging! If the environment rotated around the ball I think it would feel nicer to play, since the ball wouldn't be jumping around the screen and disorienting the player.

Anachron says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:03am

Cool idea and a fun game mechanic! Would be nice to have a level select so don't have to play through the tutorial every time you start-up the program.

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:17am

Really fun game. Fits the theme well and I enjoyed the puzzles. Great work

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:18am

I thought this was a great game! I did make it to the end, but it took some determination. You do get better at controlling and even saving yourself from mistakes with a bit of practice. Nice job.

aplomb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:48am

Tough little puzzler! I wish there were more levels. Nice work!

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:57am

Nice puzzle! The ball could be a little faster though! Nce game either way! Congrats.

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:06am

Very well designed stages! they are fun and challenging. The tutorial stages are a bit long, but after that it really gets interesting!

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:08am

plus, maybe you should tell people that you can't just fall onto the finish line and win. I tried for about 10 times at stage 1 before I realized that i should roll instead of jump.

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:10am

Quite fun, I would have liked a room rotation animation or a less brittle ball. Still a fun game, good job.

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:18am

Nice music. The rotation is pretty abrupt, some brief animation would help a lot with keeping the player oriented. The tutorial text blocked the player's view, but it was a good tutorial. Cool entry overall.

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:06am

5-star. For this is what I always wanna make. You made it well. Suggestion: add a small piece of animation when change gravity. The gravity changing all of a sudden make me confused at first, but after I adjust to it, it's only fun :)

Thembi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:09pm

I like it. You might consider moving the banner out of the way so it doesn't ever cover the player. Besides that, maybe rotate with the camera always centered on the ball like another person suggested so it's not quite so disorienting. But all-in-all, very well done.

GFM says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:06am

I liked this game's idea, but I have a few issues (well, mostly personal preferences) with it:

- It's too slow. For some players, this may be good, but I would prefer it a little faster... I would prefer it if I could make the game move faster (e.g., by pressing a button) or if the game got faster as it progressed.

- The texts take too much of the screen, making it hard to see were you are going to (and making a few moves somewhat tricky, since it hides you and the trap you are trying to jump).

- Turning it too abrupt. It's quite hard to see where you'll fall and when you can turn again (in case of consecutive moves). If turning was smooth, this wouldn't be a problem, probably (even if the player still could only turn 90 degrees at a time).

Still, nicely done! :) I like being extra picky when commenting, so... sorry, bear with me. XD

Also, two things that I really liked when playing this game:

I abused a small glitch, or is it a planned feature?, on the final level which allowed me to complete it without leaving the first corridor. I just had to make a small jump toward the ceiling.

Also, I remember abusing the fact that you can switch direction by turning the world in an specific order to beat another level quickly... but I forget which...

And thanks for the comment on my game. =D

Quique says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:24am

I's a funny, game.
Plese create more levels ;)

freaknarf says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Last level was really tricky i ragequited after some tries :)
Clever concept, this kind of games flips the brain too !
I requires patience, the ball is so fragile...
As it's getting quite hard at a point, meybe checkpoints or instant retry could be nerve saving :) cool and challenging compo!

Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:23am

A fun idea! The jumping was a bit tricky, but it was a lot of fun. There were a few areas where bits of the puzzles could be skipped entirely; this includes most of the last level. I think a bit of continuity (a very brief animation or some directional lines) would help you keep track of what's going on when a rotation is triggered, but it wasn't detrimental to gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]