Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growdom

by Wevel - Compo Entry

As a king of the holy realm, your God-given task is to expand your kingdom and be triumphant over all who try to oppose you. But remember, not everyone can be king, only those who fully balance their growing economy will succeed. Your army is important to expand your reach as well as protect those who serve under you, build castles to enable a growing army. But your population will also want homes to live in, for this they will produce gold from trade and work your farms for food.

-Castles will produce soldiers but require population and gold
-Farms will produce food but require population and a small amount gold
-Towns will produce population and gold but require food and soldiers

Each building will produce double resources on certain tiles
-Castles = Mountain
-Town = River
-Farm = Planes

Enemy kingdoms will gradually build up strength so attacking them will get harder over time. You will need to take all of their tiles to defeat them so building up your army before you attack is a good idea.

Two buttons for input:
-Left mouse button for most things
>click on tiles outside of your border to attack them, inside your border to select and upgrade (either level up/down or build a building on an undeveloped tile)
>hold down left mouse button or hover over the upgrade buttons to see where you can attack/upgrade and how much it will cost and how it will affect your net income
-Middle mouse button to pan/scroll the camera

Game play walk though:
https://youtu.be/yjNNBW9YyA8

Made Using:
-Unity 5
-Visual Studio
-Photoshop
-Audacity

Sound fx recorded using my mic and mainly hitting something with something else
(throwing coins at my desk, hitting my cup against my desk ect.)

Linux version is untested.
Mac version was removed as it didn't run.

I have updated the game to fix a bug making late game basically unplayable, but I have kept the original versions here if you want to play them instead.

Thank you for playing my game, I will try to play everyone who leaves a comments games.

I will be updating this game but unless another game breaking bug is found I will not update the builds here, just on the itch.io page and even then this probably wont happen till the end of voting.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#404Theme3.82
#522Audio2.56
#557Innovation3.04
#585Overall3.12
#627Fun2.96
#677Humor1.79
#694Mood2.66
#749Graphics2.56

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:55am

Placing things got weird after a while, it would not do it, but it was vey fun.

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Moderately moist. ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Jajo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Brilliant game. I found the most fun (if not the best) tactic was to be aggressive, but that's just me. Maybe some music next time?

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Intriguing concept. I enjoy it a lot.

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Nice, a lot of effort for 48 hours. Always good to see more sim/strategy games in LD.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Could not open this on Mac, it says "The application “Growdom_Mac” can’t be opened".
Maybe it works if you make a universal build (Build settings > Architecture > Universal)???

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:07pm

So I played the web-version.
It is very in-depth for a Ludum Dare submission, good job!! It is a bit hard to grasp in the beginning, but after a couple of tries I got the hang of it, and it is fun to play.
Next time please export it as WebGL so Chrome users can play it in their default browser.

Overall very well done!

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:10pm

I played this many times over, I thought it was very clever having to balance the economy to allow you to expand. I even enjoyed it at the end when I am just clicking as fast as I can.

I liked the sounds, I wonder how you recorded them.

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Interesting idea, although seems a bit broken after a point as no new buildings can be placed.

ciobeni says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:38pm

It took me a few tries to understand the game. And after a while It wasn't letting me place stuff. But overall, good work.

mikołak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Interesting three-dimensional balancing concept (inspired by Go by any chance)? Can confirm it works on Linux, with "Good" or lower graphics and windowed mode.

shrapx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:52am

a deep game, its the game that lasted the longest for me so far, which means a lot i think. i enjoyed it. if anything i think it may have been a bit too clicky but thats nothing.. good work!

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:17am

Like the idea, but the game doesn't communicate well to the player, especially the messages in the right, it would be better to just grey out the buttons that cannot be pressed at the moment, and always show the cost of purchase near the button (in red if you don't have enough of this particular resource).
Keep it up! :-)

Osaft says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Frustrated me a little that I could not expand imediatly without Loosing.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:35pm

I didn't really get it, maybe I'm a bit thick - I couldn't work out what the problem was when things started to go wrong. I did think it was quite innovative, it has a lot of potential if the player communication problems could be ironed out.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:21pm

with some more detailed feedback for the players about what is happening, the game would be much better. But I like games where you know that the developer was thinking about complex rules... +1 for that. If you think your game is too heavey for players without a tutorial, why not make a youtube video where you explain the rules to all the intereesed gamer :D

Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Can't get to the Windows build. :\

Wevel says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:02am

Well that teaches me not to rename folders in dropbox

jlauper says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:34am

nice game, if a bit explanation-less. But there is a bug if I click on new games for a few times (enemies to close...), with the 6th click, the game crashes.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:01am

A fun game! Once I figured out what I was doing... It would make a great online multiplayer game.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:12am

I'm not that good in gestion games, but I'm not sure this one is well balanced. However, I know how balancing is diffcult to do. Classic interpretation of the themes, but game is working, so, good job. :)

juxipolo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:13pm

a tutorial would go a long way, I ran my economy to a standstill several times before figuring out why. This would be pretty fun on a touch screen

thedashdude says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Really not my type of game, but I had fun trying to destroy all the purple people.

Farelle says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:24am

I didnt really understand how to get more gold though :/ all in all it seems to be a very nice strategy game though :) I also liked that boardgame feel created by the rolling dices :D

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Mechanics and balance are nice, but rage-click is a bit long at the end. Nice also to see that AI player respect the same rules.

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Love hand made art!

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Also (sorry for posting it here) sorry for not clear rules in Let's Play Simulator 2016 (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=31114). Hope this screenshot (http://take.ms/flHZu) will help you to understand how to detect good/bad games :)

Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Neat little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/-PrUibNueHg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]