Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Momentum

by Wumbo - Compo Entry

MAKE SURE TO RUN IN A 16:10 SCREEN RATIO, like 1280 by 800, or 640 by 400 et cetera.

Get the other team's flag and return it to your base.

Umm.... Well, this might have been a very poorly-thought-out design. Multiplayer games aren't really any fun when there is no one playing. <Facepalm> You live and learn, I guess.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#372Audio2.87
#933Overall2.47
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

f7f5 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:58pm

I only get a black window/screen on Fedora 20 64bits (music is cool though)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Nobody is playing - this means I can't actually play it. Sorry bro.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:26pm

I couldn't get the game to join a server or host a server. Menu had scaling issues for me. Was unable to create web server.

Zaeche says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:51pm

I actually pulled a friend of mine in to give this a shot. Here's some feedback (I hope it helps!):

- Just a heads up but there were some latency issues (we were playing over the Internet); that said, good job on the network coding (it's such a pain). The initial setup of the UI was a bit confusing, but we did manage to connect in the end, so there's that.

- The controls were clever, I really liked the execution of the theme. They still require some tweaking and balancing but you have something good (iterate it). I felt it was a perfect suit for the mouse (felt a bit off when using A/S).

- The objective was simple but fun, and allowed us to focus on trying to outdo the other. A note on the avatar interactions
(when the players collide): they need some tweaking (right now colliding doesn't seem to do much?) Good job on the level design (didn't seem to be disruptive to the mechanics or objective).

- Kudos on the audio, 'twas pleasant.

((Also consider playing with a press-hold-drag-release scheme for the right-mouse button so that the player can 'choose'
where to dash by 'swiping' the mouse--opposite direction's fine but the game would be more fast-paced/responsive
with more control))

Tselmek says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:20am

Couldn't manage to connect to a server, the all interface was very confusing. A few screenshots would also be very welcome before trying the game. Kudos for pulling out a multiplayer game in such time constraints.

Simonaiso says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Too bad it did not find any other players... love the fact you tried to make an online game though!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Can't run the game.
You should make a Blog post and keep playing online a few hours to allow peoples to play and vote.

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:01am

Pro:
+ Concept seems nice
+ Audio is great
Con:
- Didn't find someone to play with >.<
Obs:
o So I'm just voting for Audio this time ^^;

Great work!

Madball says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:41am

Hi! It's Rodzos, remember? I was about to play with you on my stream, but you left. I was only able to play with myself by using several windows. So... um... I don't even think you have a second chance to play with me.

Still, a good game. The menu is complicated and messy, but the gameplay is interesting, and I liked the music, too. Also, there was no option to use 16:10 ratio for me.

Phil Strahl says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Sadly found no players but enjoyed the menu music :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]