Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snow n' Grow

by SuperDolfy - Compo Entry

Hello everyone and welcome to the post for Snow n' Grow, my game for Ludum Dare 34. It utilizes the Growing theme by how the snow grows and piles up on the ground. Please enjoy it!

The game consists of students (little 'felt patches') moving towards the school on the left of the screen. They cannot pass through snow as it is your job to shovel away the snow. As students reach the school you will see the bar on the top of the screen go up. Help students get to the school and fill up that bar!


Hot-Bar (select by scrolling):

(Descriptions are in the order of the hot-bar, left to right)
Shovel: Select the shovel and press s while near snow to shovel snow.
Pause: Pauses the game.
Play: Un-pauses the game after you have paused it or if you are in the shop.
Shop: Enters the Shop, see more about the Shop in the Shop section.
Home: Sends you to the Title Screen.
The rest of the slots are for things in the Shop.


Shop:

As you shovel snow you gain currency. With that currency you can buy things from the Shop. You can see how much currency you have by looking at the small, black number in the bottom-left corner of the screen.

(Descriptions in the order that you would read a book)
Snowplow: Costs 600 - The snowplow plows snow off of the road, not the grass. Be careful though, it has a small cost for usage.
Player Size: Costs 600 - Doubles your player's size.
Snow Speed: You can choose one of two costs, by clicking the left button you spend 100 and you lower the speed in which the snow is falling. By clicking the left button you gain 100 but you make the snow fall faster.
Bus: Cost 1000 - The bus drives across the road and drops four students off at the school. It has a small cost for usage and if it hits any snow then it will vanish and it will cost you.
Salt: Cost 250 - You can buy and place salt on the sidewalk (place between the road and the school). Snow cannot pile up on places with salt.


Controls:

Scroll to select in hot-bar; You can also hot-key with 1. 2. 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8.
Click to use stuff in the hot-bar.
Press s to shovel snow while the shovel is selected.
A:D - Left:Right
Space to jump.

To run simply unzip the downloaded file and open the .jar file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#712Innovation2.73
#862Graphics2.13
#882Theme2.94
#898Overall2.60
#936Fun2.13
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06am

It took me a while to figure out what was going on. Why did you make the controls so difficult?

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07am

Nice game. The UI is a little confusing.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:10am

It was fun but the icons and controls where super confusing.

SuperDolfy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:19am

Seems everyone is saying the controls are confusing. Could someone please explain to me how they are confusing?

Peekotus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:49am

Controls and ui are kinda confusing

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:15am

nice game!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:00pm

When people say the controls are confusing it's not perse that the keys are hard to use or anything but it's more a question of understanding what is going on. I was just holding S + A/D to plow the road continuously but I was not sure what the ball of felt patches was for (I now read it was a slider of student presence?), the money you have is hard to see as tiny black letters in the bottom right and once I suddenly entered the shop (the icon did not respond to clicks earlier) I could not get out anymore, only to the title screen and back. Things move quickly in this game and there are a lot of brightly colours, big pixely things vying for your attention and then some really tiny things like the students and you. Also note how if I write all of this in a single paragraph it's harder to read than with line- and paragraph breaks. That's the difficulty.

Not that it's bad but consider we go into this without any context (and many people will never read your (extensive) description but just jump in.)

Anyway, good effort.

SuperDolfy says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Thank you zenmumbler, I'll fix the description.

Big Cow says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Was really relaxing watching the snow fall. Worked out you can periodically get rid of a bit of snow and jump not sure what else there was. Cute graphics. Nice.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]