Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Defuse Run

by dreadzilla - Jam Entry

Collect all the fuel bombs before the timer runs out. You will get a small, time limited, throttle boost each time you pick up a fuel bomb.

Plan your route carefully as you must have enough speed to collect some of the bombs...

Ohh, and one more thing, you can only steer right and left (Two button controls!).


Controls:
A, D turns left or right.
Escape Pauses the game.


The game was made with Unreal Engine 4.10. My previous experience with the engine amounts to 8 hours the day before LD34.

I only used blueprints and no coding at all. The game is based on the starter project called Vehicle Advanced. I added the game mechanic of bombs, constant throttle, speed boosts and win/lose condition. The audio and graphics were all default from the engine (map was default and I just did some additional composition).

I am happy that I managed to make something even though I had practically no previous experience with the Unreal Engine. The game is also somewhat fun in my opinion. For my next Ludum Dare I think I would be less stressed if I use more familiar tools. :)

Hopefully I can make HTML5 work from a web server in a bit. If I manage to clean my code from junk I will upload it too.

Update: I added a web link.

From my own tests, it works in Chrome and Safari but not IE or Firefox. You may have to resize the web browser (Narrow is better). Sorry for the inconvenience about the screen ratio. :)

Unfortunately you will have to restart the game if you fall upside down. Escape button pauses the game and lets you restart.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#809Fun(Jam)2.77
#835Theme(Jam)3.24
#909Mood(Jam)2.53
#912Innovation(Jam)2.45
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:31pm

It was fun, although I kept getting stuck in corners or upside down. Maybe implementing a mechanic where if you don't change position after a couple seconds, it picks up and moves your car so you can continue to play without restarting. It was fun to just drive around though!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:34am

If not for driving upsidedown all the time and hopelisly stucking to every wall, it's a cool game idea.

fpwong says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48am

Good work on this, this LD was also for me to learn UE4. Would have liked to see some more lighting / texturing, they make the game look a lot more polished with not much work.

juaxix says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Pretty good for your first game with unreal for ld!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Would've liked to try but a UE4 game with on normal quality setting is unplayable in VMWare ;) Will look back later for a web version or if you can add like a Low quality graphics option. Good that you're learning new stuff!

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Fun game. It's a bit tricky to control at times, seems a bit too easy to flip over. Maybe add more weight to the car? Also the camera is a bit too zoomed in on the car. Otherwise its pretty good for a first time using UE4.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Like others have said, the steering might need some tweaking to stop it flipping over at times otherwise this was a rather fun entry to play.

Bocodillo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:33pm

Very fun game but a little too easy to flip.

SuperDolfy says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:21pm

I was able to drive while upside down :D

VDZ says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:38pm

An interesting game, despite its technical shortcomings. Though the 'no brakes' idea has been done before, combining it with a Trackmania-like stunt track feels surprisingly fresh.

That said, having to manually restart whenever you flip over in a lightweight car on a track apparently designed to flip you over is more frustrating than fun. The game would've been much more fun if you could just respawn with a time penalty or something like that. The tendency for the car to flip over in midair after a ramp as well as the bumps in the road nearly guaranteed to flip you over felt rather unfair. The challenge to get the boxes despite your lack of control was fun though, when it worked properly.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Nice, and with some similarities to my game, just as you said! I found the brake button, so I could cheat, so it's not really two buttons. :-)

Brightstar says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:15pm

It was fun. I got stuck on my back like a turtle a lot, though.

Big Cow says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:45pm

The graphics of the car and track are really good. I imagine with more time this would be a really good looking game. The dynamics of the car made it hard to control but it was fun going round the loops and finding the boxes. Kinda reminded me of quarantine a bit. Well done!

dreadzilla says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Thanks for playing my game and for all the invaluable feedback!

I see that at least one of you found the handbrake button! (I forgot to remove it.) :-).

The most requested feature is the "reset vehicle" feature that I left out due to lack of time.

I should probably fix the physics a bit, to make it harder to flip upside down. (The Windows version seems a bit less sensitive with regard to physics.)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]