Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

circular triangulation

by JulianMH - Compo Entry

Grow and travel through 3 Stages to become the ultimate colored circular object.

Controls (just two buttons of course)
SPACE or LEFT MOUSE - Jump, hold to jump higher.
CTRL or RIGHT MOUSE - Turn around, hold to reset the level.

Known Issues:
The game says the button to restart the level is SHIFT. This is wrong, you can restart by pressing and holding CTRL or RIGHT MOUSE.

To Play the Windows Version:
Download and extract the zip and start the executable file. You need XNA Redist to run the XNA Version:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914
Since XNA is unsupported these days, it might not work with Windows 8 or 10. Try the MonoGame Version instead.

Linux version is completely untested, It only exists because MonoGame on Windows has a shiny Linux project template. No idea what it does but it probably requires Mono to run.

About:
My third Ludum Dare entry. This time I was lazy in creating art and levels, but I like the core gameplay mechanics. The collision and jump physics could use some more work though

Tools:
The game was created in C# / XNA.
Image files are made with GIMP. Sounds made with a Microphone and Audacity.

Original Compo Version is the XNA Version.
Ported to MonoGame so it works for more people.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#233Theme4.00
#298Mood3.25
#315Graphics3.41
#357Innovation3.36
#363Overall3.38
#378Audio2.86
#392Fun3.27
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

Rogod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:24am

Nice idea, but frustrating to play.
There doesn't seem to be much dictating which planet I get pulled towards when I jump.
And jumping over the red dots when I get larger is just impossible because you don't move fast enough.
Also the simplistic art style gets old quick.
I'd have wanted to see some background or other entities moving around the place.

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:38am

Nice game. Level 3 was a bit of a difficulty spike.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:54am

The art is great. The minimalist design, while pretty tired, is much less tired than the retro pixel art feel of most of the games on here. The particles sometimes behave strangely, and the direction you travel after landing on a new planet seems a little counter intuitive. Try basing it off of your velocity when you touch the planet. and instead of anchoring the ball to the last planet you touched, you should be able to escape and get sent flying if you go fast enough. maybe add ramps. that'd be kind of cool. anyway, good going and keep it up.

Maixior says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:51pm

NICE!

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:03pm

The MonoGame version crashes immediately on start for me.

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Starting the linux version crashes with the message "Sdl.dll not found (which is strange, because it's right there in the folder).

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Hard to play, but a lot of fun! Sadly I got bored quickly since the restart level button (shift?) didn't seem to work, and restarting every time was bothersome. The graphics really suited the gameplay and gave of a really nice mood together. Very good game and nice design!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:37pm

nice game dude.

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Beatiful. Nice sound. I liked it when I started to go around several circles. A place where your grows ball - striking. Very nice effect of a trace of frost after passing the ball. It would be nicer to play if the ball would have rolled slowly.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:25pm

This one's super cute and fun. The levels are well designed, it feels more like a good puzzle than anthing else. Sometimes the physics/collisions were a bit wonky, but nothing that can't be expected from a 48 hour game. Bonus points for using both themes.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:29pm

I should add, jumping only when clicking instead of when the mouse button is down could help this game a lot.

JulianMH says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Hey thank you all for all the nice and constructive feedback so far! If I continue to develop this game I will definitely add some better jumping physics. :)

The art style is mostly thanks to adobe color cc which helped me to select the color schemes for the 4 stages in the game.

@gkxd try installing OpenAL, I have included an installer with the MonoGame version of the game.

@chriiis88 Thanks to Mono, you can have all the fun of missing Windows DLLs on Linux. :D Sorry, I can't help you, I do not have a linux machine around.

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Pretty nice concept, unfortunately it was a bit too fast paced in level 3 which was frustrating. It was also easy to glitch the game in level 2 if you moved inbetween planets. The art style was simple but clean.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:15am

nice game!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Fun game! It kinda sucks getting stuck, though.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Very cool game and a unique game concept.
Particle effect are also nice!

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Can't run either windows version. (Windows 10)

camlang says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Nice simple game. Like sfx and minimalism of this game. Very good entry! Well done!

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Enjoyed the game :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:03am

Simple looking, fun to play! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/r75qiAihqqk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]