Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Fertilized Crops Xtreme

by ForeignGuyMike - Compo Entry

Fertilized Crops Xtreme

You are the best farmer in the world. Now is the time to prove it. Sell as many crops as you can, as fast as you can. Beat the clock.

Objective: Earn $10000 total profits from crops in 15 days.

How to play: The farm is divided into patches. You must (1) Till the patch so it's ready to be seeded. (2) Water and (3) Seed the patch. Once the patch contains seed and is watered, the seed will grow into a crop. (4) Harvest the crop and walk to the truck to sell them. Use the money you make to buy more seeds in the shop as well as upgrades.

Tips:
- Just play once to get used to the game, then restart. It's going to take fast thinking to beat it.
- 1 day = 30 seconds, so you have 7.5 minutes to win.
- You can stay in the shop safely without the timer running.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Overall4.00
#66Fun3.86
#125Theme4.14
#136Mood3.57
#228Humor2.94
#271Audio3.10
#379Graphics3.29
#571Innovation3.00
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:36am

most fun I have had all day, and this is my 19th game, good work!

alechogerland says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:50am

Addicting! Took a few tries to finally beat it

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:24am

It froze up on the store for me a couple of times, but besides that this was quite fun! Repetitive actions, but somehow addicting!

alek345 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Really enjoyed the game. Really fast-paced and I liked it. The game was really easy to understand, didn't have to consult the "H" button. Probably gonna play this a couple of times until I make it

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19pm

I like it a lot! This is just what I was in the mood for. :)

thelasthour says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Damn, this game is good! Best farming game I've ever played. Beat it on my 4th try. Good job dude!

puddelipip says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:18pm

fun idea and nice graphics ! too bad I couldn't escape from the shop, And plant some more!

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Oh my Mike Sensei.... I really love this game~!!! OAO)9

It feels like playing Harvest Moon "in 8bit* ( =w=) hrmm hrmm... a very brilliant game.... keep up a good work...

Btw I learn alot from your previous tutorial ( >w<)_b

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:23am

Decent implementation of a farming game.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:49am

Sry. I don't know have to execute the game. :/ can I get some help ?

Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:00pm

You need at least Java 7 and just run the jar file. I really should get into the habit of compiling down to Java 6 though. You never know if some people might still have that.

Osaft says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:26pm

I am no fan of this 8-bit music but the rest was awesome :)

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:41pm

I like this very much!
The gameplay is quite satisfying, once you get used to it.
Some random critique:
-I think there are more crops than needed, since I didnt use the ones in the range of 12-10$ at all and most of the other ones only once or twice
-Upgrading mechanic is great, it gives lots of strategic potential
-I think the time constraint is quite generic. I would have likes a relaxed endless game mode. (Maybe additional)

The game reminded me a lot of harvest moon, but I like your controlscheme more! I think this has quite some potential :)
Great work!

ssodelta says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Haha nice game! I liked it a lot! and btw it was actually because of you I know what LD was because of your vid on youtube. SO THANKS A LOT!! Really like your game style! <3

Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Great fun! I wanted to keep playing it some more, which is the best praise I can think of for a game.

Afendar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:06am

farming game XD i love it ! your game is addictive :).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]