Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growtye

by Goutye - Compo Entry

Always wanted to grow bigger? Bigger and bigger? Be the biggest of everyone and eradiquate the others? Growtye is your game!
Move your purple dude with your cursor (mouse) and click to active the bonuses (Boost, Heavy, Corruption, Repulse) in order to grow faster and bigger!
Get some bubbles, move under the pink light ray, avoid the purple area and you will grow easily! However, some other dudes cannot like that and they will try to push you out and corrupt your dude! Watch out! When you are corrupted, your growth is draining by each contact you made with your opponents!

----------------
If you have some trouble of FPS, I advice you to download the Löve2D version.
I am limited by WebGL and by my code as well I suppose even though I improved the framerate. Also, the web version is experimental. Sometimes it can works, sometimes not.

That's my fifth LD! I am really proud of what I did and hope that you will have some fun!

Best score I got: 1780! Was someone able to grow bigger?

If you have FPS problems, crashes, no music, please restart or download the Love2D version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#276Overall3.51
#278Fun3.43
#297Innovation3.44
#391Audio2.83
#432Graphics3.19
#490Mood2.94
#586Theme3.60
#620Humor2.04

Comments

dos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Very cool and well done! Aesthetically pleasing, nice music and solid gameplay.

Can't wait for Love2D version, as this one sometimes crashes :(

Goutye says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51am

Thanks dos. I just release the Löve2D version. Everyone can now play at 60 FPS without any crashes. The web version is still available because sometimes you can play at 30 FPS without crashes. (On 5 computers, 2 were fine, 3 got crashes)

So, if you can't play with the Web version, please play the Löve2D version :)

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30am

Nice job! I wish there was a better explanation, but this was a nice game! I love the style!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:58am

I was able to beat it even on the web version. Sometimes the "Boost" or "Heavy" labels would get stuck in the middle of the screen though, with me unable to activate the power.

I never noticed the "Corruption" or "Repulse" powers, though sometimes the screen went wavy.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Pretty cool, the minimalist look definitely suits the game well. Audio is a bit too simple, would've been nice if it was something with more ambiance.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:22pm

I like the look of the game. I was a little confused at the beginning but I caught on.

teamross says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Cool idea!
Needed a help at the beggining, but overall great job!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Just lost in the 1/2 final round. Had a lot of fun in there. Was on the top of the leaderboard for a long time, but those pink bubbles got me in the end.

Goutye says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10pm

I would like to say "Never lucky!" Ahah! Thanks for the feedback!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Really nice game! Lot's of objectives, and a main one to win.

Some few bugs, like there was a third small guy frozen for the rest of the rounds while the two of us battled it out. How many rounds is the final round, thoough? I went through about 8 final rounds before losing.

But that aside, it's still fun, like the mechanics, and physics involved.

Goutye says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Danidre14: Ouh. That was a bug indeed. Normally there is only one Final Round. However, the frozen third guy did this bug. Really sorry about it, I will check it out. It might happen in a special case of events. Thank you for the feedback!

smbe19 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:35pm

I'm still not really sure what I am supposed to do...

SiENcE says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Welcome LÖVER :). Nice minimalistic art style and a new idea!

One bug. "src/rounds/Round2.lua:206 'name' -> nil

SiENcE says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Btw. I just played your LD32 game. Thats the best!!!

Goutye says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Oh I messed up a bit I guess! Definitely linked to the danidre14's bug. Thank you for the feedback!
Oh, even played my LD32 game? Thanks! That's making me happy. Btw, I'm not really proud of the graphics of my LD32 ahah! I prefer this one! Thank you again!

Switchiers says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Very nice games and good mechanics!
Congratulations!

mukult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:54pm

good gameplay... love the mood!!

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Nice use of the theme. Fun but maybe a bit too easy. Also it glitched a little in the corners in the final rounds. Still good overall though :)

thristhart says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:05am

I managed to knock the first place bubble into the corner and out of the arena in the final round and thus took my undeserved victory! haha!

Goutye says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:34am

Thanks for playing! Indeed, it's one of the possibilities to get rid of your opponents. With too much pressure, the balls can be ejected of the arena. I'm usually ejecting two or three opponents during the middle rounds. But at the end, it's really complicated because the "Corruption" is applied to the biggest bubble, and if it's you, your power is drained by the other player. However you did manage to eject it at the final round, so, wow. Well played!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:05pm

I like the look of the game. I was a little confused at the beginning but I caught on. Neat ++

anv says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Few different mechanics + challenging AI (they always blocked me from getting blue spheres). Overall, very nice.

LeReveur says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Didn't totally understand what I was doing, but it was entertaining, so : well done. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]