Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mike's Garden Simulator 2015 Platinum Edition

by smbe19 - Jam Entry

Mike's Garden Simulator 2015 Platinum Edition
=============================================
Mike is a nature friend and loves his garden. Unfortunately the apocalypse occurred and there are now bad thorn bushes and zombie gardeners everywhere. However this doesn't stop Mike from enjoying the few hours of sunlight he has in northern Canada. Help him enjoy nature in this post apocalyptic world in peace.

Controls
--------
There are two buttons: `Plant` and `Attack`. On Desktop they are mapped to `A` and `D`, on mobile on the left and right half of the screen. In menus you can use `Plant` to select an option and `Attack` to confirm it.

Gameplay
--------
Destroy the bad thorn bushes and zombie gardeners (`Attack`). Pick up coins along the way to purchase upgrades and buy awesome new seeds. You can plant climbing vines in front of buildings to get on the roof. While climbing you can plant a new vine next to you (`Plant`) or jump of (`Attack`). You can plant a rose in between buildings to restore some health or plant a bridge plant by throwing seeds in a gap. However you have to purchase one time use seeds for those two plants. If you progress more to the right, your coin multiplier will be increased.

Update 19.12.16: Make game playable on low end mobile devices, fix damage upgrade not working

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#350Theme(Jam)3.85
#481Audio(Jam)3.08
#496Humor(Jam)2.67
#637Innovation(Jam)2.96
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00
#779Mood(Jam)2.83
#839Overall(Jam)2.96
#1009Fun(Jam)2.37

Comments

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Needs more action.

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:28pm

nice concept, the game seems to have a good life time.

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:28pm

I love upgrade games, but the main mechanic I think its a little boring

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:31pm

The hit box needs to be made smaller for the player. I was getting hit when I wasn't close the zombies. Also, the color of the thorn bush needs to be changed so that it stands out. I initially thought it was just part of the background scenery.

The game does follow the theme very well though. Overall, a good game. Just needed a little bit more polish.

sathorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Cool game. A bit weird to control and to understand what you are supposed to do.

DeinFreund says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:38pm

blub?

XenosNS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Tried the android version. Took a moment to figure out the controls but my fault for not reading the instructions haha. Cute game. Reminds me a lot of the Karnov game on the NES for some reason.

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Not sure how you cross pits in the level. I don't have enough to buy a bridge on the first run, am I intended to die then buy some? The control scheme feels very awkward. I like the music and the graphics quite a lot.

smbe19 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:35pm

@Bobsleigh: you can climb onto the buildings to jump across the pit.

denycetm says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:28pm

A bit repetitive. the music reminded me of the genesis shadowrun game which was great. Sometimes the gaps show up without time to plant a seed and I found that frustrating. Good main character.

Roffe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Tried the android version. Very nice. Simple controls and, except that i didnt notice the tree as hostile at firat, Very nice graphics. Good job :)

rujo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:44am

i like it a lot eventough i didnt understand it completely
btw the gameplay is original and the graphics are super cool

jschenk says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:32pm

http://imgur.com/V437DbB

Did I win?

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Interesting concept, controls seem a bit wonky at times, but I enjoyed myself anyways.

DeinFreund says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:43am

@jschenk: Looks normal to me.. But congratz on getting that far without the gamme going crazy because of a multiplier >= 2^31
Easy mode: Overflow the multiplier(bottom left of screen, 32 bit)
Hard mode: Overflow the money counter(64 bit)

Tosic says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Nice! Definitevly full of humor!

Mar 30, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Really interesting game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]