Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hoarder

by Killbert - Jam Entry

15 Minutes to spare, got loads to add.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#658Humor(Jam)2.39
#699Audio(Jam)2.17
#853Innovation(Jam)2.60
#917Graphics(Jam)2.47
#948Mood(Jam)2.40
#955Fun(Jam)2.54
#1021Theme(Jam)2.64
#1024Overall(Jam)2.63

Comments

Killbert says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Although the LD34 version is the one I submitted, Version 1.1 is the bug fixed one therefore I recommend that one!

dkilford says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Cool little game! I got over 10,000 points before I stopped playing, and I'm not sure if the game had audio, but I didn't hear any while playing. I also never seemed to take any damage, so Thick Skin and SNS weren't worth using.

Good work making the game in Java from scratch. It's a really daunting task that I don't think I could do.

Echo Team says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Java FTW!

mf1214 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Very fun game! It would be nice to be able to know what the abilities do during gameplay because I forgot what all of them did after leaving the help menu. Overall, great game!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:01am

I had no sound on the game is that normal ?

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:23am

I had to exit the game twice to look at the help screen. Attacking is kind of difficult because you have to click on a moving target. I managed to get a couple thousand points on my third try.
Is there supposed to be audio in the game?

Killbert says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Adding audio today :)

bog13 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:27am

The game is cool and beautifull. Great works :D

Killbert says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:06am

Added sounds + added more balance into game.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:02am

Very cool concept!

Knowledge says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:25am

Weird game, kinda hard to play.

Killbert says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:36am

The latest version is more balanced, so not as difficult!

luysse_l says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:46pm

very fun game and i love this graphic, nice work

Newan says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Nice work but weird concept.

EstrelSteel says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:00pm

I think you should have had it so it looped around the map kinda like when you go off the screen on pacman.

akirassasin says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:41am

The controls could be changed into something like in DotA and LoL to ease things.

I was unlucky enough to run into 5 policemen :( why no one else found them?

alliel_a says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:39am

nice game

Paul Sinnett says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Great concept. I love the idea of building up a hoard and maybe gaining more abilities.

Tortoise says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:37am

Sounds were abrasive, and I had trouble understanding what was going on when I hit play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]