Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bean up

by Viza - Compo Entry

I didn't really participated in this Ludum Dare (again)... I just started to do something on whim 3 hours before the deadline. So "Bean up" is what I managed to finish in that time. :)

Leave a comment (so I can see your user name) after rating this entry and I will play&rate yours!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#258Graphics3.54
#267Theme3.98
#632Overall3.06
#674Fun2.88
#847Innovation2.42

Comments

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02pm

great game

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Good game and looks nice. The best I could get was 30 seconds. Good use of the theme.

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Graphics are nice. Controls felt a bit sluggish.

I thought I was supposed to get the keys/leaves at first, so making them look more harmful would've helped.

daandruff says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Awesome that you used pico. And well done in 3 hours :)

Viza says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Thank you for your comments!
I played and rated everyone's game who commented here - and I will for future commenters too!

@gxkd: Yeah there is a bit of sliding and some forced circular motion on the controlled thing to make it a tiny bit more interesting/challenging to play, but I get how it can come trough as sluggish.
And you are right on the obstacles too - I draw them in like 10 minutes, and couldn't really come up more menacing small flying things besides the bees/wasps, so thats the excuse for the leaves/undefined things. :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Really nice graphics! I thought the controls were a little tricky but that made it fun.

Piode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Good fun game - especially since you only spent three hours on it!! Kinda reminds me of my own entry gameplay wise ^^

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Very fun, considering you only had 3 hours! Impressive! I thought I was supposed to collect the keys and leaves, so was caught off guard when I got game over!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Cool game! The physics are hard to get used to, but very fun overall.

Solifuge says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:15pm

43 minutes is my record. Great pixels, great colors, and great little touches like the coiling leaves. I love the charming art style and color-coded hazards. The controls were a bit floaty, but it felt like the beanstalk had a life of it's own, and that was a good source of challenge.

Fantastic work, astonishingly so given the 3 hour time frame!

Solifuge says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:17pm

^43 seconds. I always do that.

Just to add, there's a good amount of fun packed into this simple core mechanic. Thanks a ton for putting this together!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:20pm

well considering this took you only 3 hours and it is very similar (game play wise) to a few game I have played from people that spent longer ... on art and so on, I think this has turned out really well :)

...Reminds me of how outside of LD the initial version of my first ever functional game "ALMA - rainbow climber" release was made in about 6 hours and it was less impressive than this at the time :P well done.

knason says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Really nice graphic. I soon realized that I was not supposed to collect the keys and leaves, then it was a bit easier. Good job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Fun, though i frequently felt as though I wasn't able to react if an obstacle appeared right in front of me. Impressive for the time frame!

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Nice game with a great concept behind, even if this concept was taken by many jamer! You did a very good job :)

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Really great!,my high score was 30 seconds.

krashja says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Graphics are cool, i thought i have to eat everything!

Charzendat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:51pm

I liked it. The slight movements of the plant did make the game feel different from other similar ones I've played here today.

Donar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Fun little game. It's a weird feeling that the flower automatically grows to the left and right but that makes it a little harder, which is fine. It's just a bit frustrating when you want to grow right and the flower wants to grow left, so you go straight up; I can also use that for my advantage though. Probably it takes some training to work with the flow, not against it.

Anyway, simple but fun and the presentation is also pretty nice.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:53pm

I had high hopes on this game because of the graphics but it is hard to control and gets frustrating fast.
Why the seeds kills you?!

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34am

a bit simple, but well I can't really judge for something made in 3 hours. still gonna do it:D

it's pretty hard to play. the sin function in the movement makes things things harder but not really more interesting. I also feel the collision is not always on point.

but wth I feel stupid for criticizing something that is made in that timespan. So hey you finished it, good job. I couldn't have done that

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24pm

good Job! in 3 hours????? Thats fast for a game like this....

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Pretty nice! I would love to see this game with not only things to avoid but also things to get, to go quicker or have better control and so on... If you made that in 3 hours, adding this kind of thing cannot take long :p

dj_pale says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Impressive for only 3 hours of work! Fun to see some Pico-8 entries here ;)

ruerob says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:02am

Great work for 3 hours!!! Well done!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Really neat. I like the changes made in the post compo version.

ciaodavinci says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:15am

Charming graphics and colours. Really nice to see that it was done in Pico-8. Impressive work for 3 hours of work! I enjoyed the controls as I felt I was guiding the stalk rather than steering it. Good job!

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:55pm

Nailed both themes perfectly - at least literally - while delivering nice 8bit style visuals. Well done!
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

Fadobo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Pretty sweet, especially considering the short time you gave yourself. It's cool how little leaves etc. sprout.

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Simple, but great for 3 hours work! Only problem was that the things you crash into aren't things you'd expect to impede a plant's growth. :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]