Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Drunken Boss Fight

by aquisenberry - Jam Entry



Drunken Boss Fight was meant to be a boss fight with a teddy bear that has grown entirely too large, created by myself (Anthony Quisenberry) and Veronica Rivera. It is pretty far from complete as it was her first game and my first experience using the splat-ecs game engine. For now, you can just fly around and shoot until the time runs out.


Controls are wasd or arrows to move and the mouse to aim and shoot
please leave feedback on what is there and what you think would be cool to add in.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2311Coolness14%

Comments

Tacohej says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:56pm

I think the intro is kinda cool and the artwork looks great. Keep it up!

ssshepherd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:03am

Well I really like the art. I get that it's not done, so I'd like to play it when it's done, or closer to it. I was a little confused after it started. Then I read your description and saw that you identified that you could only fly around and shoot until time runs out. I try playing the games before reading just to see if I can figure it out. Hope you continue working on it.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Sad that its nothing much to do yet =\

shellbot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:03pm

At least you got something up for your first try :)

Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:17pm

The artworks look great but the game is not finished at all..
Do not hesitate to make a post Jam version and improve your skill to be better for the next LudumDare. ;)

ambocclusion says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Cool entry! Love the idea and the graphics.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:32pm

The art is fantastic! I'd wish you guys had more time to add additional gameplay to compliment the art.

Thanks to this game, I'm going to go grab a drink, put on my astronaut suit and shoot my teddy bear. I think he's been sneak dissin' lately.

-LeMix

Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:23pm

I like the art style. I'm curious about what the big bear was going to do.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]