Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow Pandora

by Shivur - Jam Entry

Protect Pandora from the orcs by developping it and using the races who live there.

Inspired by the world Conflits eternels. http://www.conflitseternels.com/index.php

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#568Audio(Jam)2.87
#728Humor(Jam)2.23
#817Fun(Jam)2.76
#907Innovation(Jam)2.47
#933Graphics(Jam)2.42
#941Mood(Jam)2.42
#983Overall(Jam)2.71
#1045Theme(Jam)2.50

Comments

pokipsy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Were is the executable ? I can't find it and was not able to play

Shivur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:25pm

It's a .jar. It's java.

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:37am

It was a fun game. Didn't really follow the growing theme too much though, as it was much more fruitful to just have a single hut and make more units then it was to invest in higher tier buildings.

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:29am

Doesn't really follow the theme but not bad.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:32am

Sorry, just not a huge fan of click spam games. I also didn't really see the "Growing" theme here. Well executed though, so a good jam entry.

KZdev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:38am

I don't know what happened but the game froze and the same couple seconds of music started looping. I had a few units each from the first 3 buildings active. Sorry I can't be more helpful than that in finding the error. I was having fun before it froze though, and I'm giving you a decent humor score just because I thought it was funny to click next wave repeatedly and watch the massive hoard attack (which surprisingly wasn't what crashed the game, go figure).

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:58am

Placed buildings fine, but couldn't spawn my own units... click multiple times on the huts and on the castle... went over the tut twice. I don't know... Clearly I'm doing something wrong

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:01am

Good game.

iantttianttt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:21am

that is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO FUN!!!
that music is so epic~LOL
but i crush in wave 12.
is that a bug?

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:32am

Nice Tower-defence entry. Faced with some exceptions during playtime (http://pastebin.com/4AZ16zkr)

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:42am

Nice. It was hard to figure out what to do (I thought it was a tower defense game, so I didn't think I needed money to build units), but pretty fun. I couldn't tell which effects were my units dying vs. enemies dying, though.

Jelinib says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:19pm

It's neat how, unlike a typical tower defense game, the placeable units don't attack by themselves, but instead you spawn attackers from them which don't just sit in one spot.

I did feel like the mages died too quick for them to be worth the cost. I seemed to do quite well with hordes of archers though, but I also never got past wave 12-15 or so because the game kept freezing up. I looked at my task manager and it was using like nearly 1GB of memory when it happened. Memory leak? (Windows 10)

I was really trying to see what the Vargos and Thull things were like, but alas.

I think I would also appreciate a counter of your units that are still alive. It's really hard to tell who's dying when they're all clumped up in one spot attacking a single enemy.

Overall pretty nice. I just wish I could have experienced the whole thing!

Shivur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:33am

HongerTrollie The problem is probably because you didn't had enough money to buy units. Maybe I should have indicated their price in the tutorial.

I'm aware of the crashing bugs. I think it's because there's too much units. I tried different ways to limit the number of unit spawning but it's not perfect and the bug seems to occur randomly.

I agree it still needs some balancing, I tried my best to do so with the several hours I had left.

I'm glad some of you still enjoyed the game despite the bugs.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:15am

Same as HongerTrollie, I could place houses but couldn't spawn units.

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Hey, very fun little game! I found it a little frustrating that units would just stand still between waves (didn't feel like I had a solid control over things), but that's minor. It was still an interesting blend somewhere between tower defense and RTS. Did you make the music?

Starspell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:41am

I think that your game's economy is kinda broken. It's very hard to make enough money to proceed. The music is great however. What program did you use to make it?

Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:25am

Not very thematic, but well executed semi-tower defence / RTS type. I created problems for myself by buying rich buildings and having no money for units, and then having to wait until I was killed before trying again. Probably needs some passive income / automatic units. Anyway, nice job.

Shivur says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:37am

Ididn't made the music it's free source.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:42am

Nice little RTS, easy and relaxing, good job

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Looks good but the towers you can get is not enough to defeat the first wave (unless I do something very wrong maybe...)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]