Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Knuspernikus

by ruerob - Jam Entry

Our little christmas elf Knuspernikus loves sweets, hot chocolate and everyting about christmas.
But someone decorated the trees with all the sweets! Would you be so kind and help him to eat as much as his little tummy can carry?


Controls:
← jump on the left platform
→ jump on the right platform
←+→ jump on the middle platform

M toggle music and sounds

Concept art, voice acting and game design by Claudia Duwe(@ringelsau)
Programming, digital art, music, game design by Robert Rüdiger(@ruerobgames)

Used Tools:

Graphics
Inkscape, Photoshop

Music
Caustic, Audacity

IDE
Netbeans for JavaScript

Engine
Costum by Fabio Goto @go_go_goto and me @ruerobgames for future collabs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#427Graphics(Jam)3.62
#462Humor(Jam)2.73
#487Audio(Jam)3.06
#600Theme(Jam)3.59
#773Fun(Jam)2.84
#790Mood(Jam)2.80
#874Overall(Jam)2.89
#940Innovation(Jam)2.38

Comments

yuigoto says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:16am

I saw the development process of this game while we chatted on Twitter and all I can say is that the result is beautiful!

The graphics are cute, and totally fit the main theme of the game! Together with the sound effects and the music, you wrapped up a great Christmas game for the family.

Controls are responsive and I felt no delay while playing it! Works like a charm in all browsers! :)

Nice work, man, really! Great work! The optimization done is also great!

Cheers! ;)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12am

Really like the feel of this one. On more than one occasion I pressed right and still jumped left (I was already left). Overall really enjoyed it. The elf is too cute.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:48am

Unfortunately, the game doesn't load for me. On latest Mac OS with Safari browser. Loading bar gets stuck at around 75%.

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:30am

Nice little game you got here. I managed to get pretty far, but I did fail to eat any candies(?). Dunno if that was a bug or a feature :D.. Anyway, nice work :)

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:14am

The look and feel of this game are nice. I would like to see a more varied gameplay, but overall: good job!

ohmmus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:47am

Didn't load for me; brand new PC, Firefox.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:47am

Classic gameplay but effective! I would like to see more options too.

Remicy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:03am

wow. Really love this. It's so cute and character moves great. I'm very enjoy it! Nice work!

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Simple game, but still a lot of fun and more interesting than doing squats in front of growing tree xD Christmas mood~ So cute little elf c: I like the graphics and sounds, this game is adorable c:

LeReveur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:59am

Cute and simple :)

DrFallos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:26am

Good relaxing little game. Nice work!

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Happiness, cuteness, cheer!...more cuteness!! The music an sound effects were great. Art was nice too. I wish the elf had some fun animation to it. I found the hitting both buttons to jump in the middle spot a bit annoying. Wish the hop was high enough to quickly change your landing direction, instead. I think there was a glitch with jumping. It kept starting me over when I hadn't fallen. I also would jump into an item and it wouldn't collect it, pretty frequently.

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:23am

Cute yet surprisingly tricky and addictive - nice work!

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Really cute. i love the art, and the sound effects are pretty funny. nice work.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:30am

Very cool game! Loved the graphics and sound, loved the xmas mood! Very cool usage of the theme! I kept dying when there was a single platform in the middle, but I was still able to get some nice scores. Great game!

Jan 6, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Simple, well made, holiday game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/eeRk2tDl2JU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]