Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

▲GROW

by bodsey - Jam Entry

▲GROW puts you in the shoes of a trader, in one of the biggest stock market on the planet.

Help capitalism grow stronger by getting as much money as possible out of your financial transactions.

Buy shares at the lowest price with left arrow or left click.
Sell them when they’re the highest with right arrow or right click.

Every few seconds a new stock is on sale.

If you miss too much opportunities or lose too much money, you’re running the risk of getting fired.

Stock value can be influenced by events around the world, so make sure to keep an eye on that.

Have fun !

Edit: there seems to be an issue with some users with Nvidia graphic cards where the game is playing way too fast, and I apologize in advance if that happens to you. Sorry! xx


Art by Joseph Herbelin / Design&Music by Jérôme Bodin

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#17Theme(Jam)4.47
#33Overall(Jam)4.09
#39Humor(Jam)4.00
#50Fun(Jam)3.98
#53Graphics(Jam)4.51
#59Innovation(Jam)3.93
#139Mood(Jam)3.78
#175Audio(Jam)3.63

Comments

WASDMagician says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:05am

Very nice, took me a while to realise you could buy multiple stock at different prices and then had to sell them off individually.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:22am

Very cool! Theme is awesome :)

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:24am

Fun game, awesome artwork! :D
Took me a while to figure out how it worked.

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:24am

I am rich! I should consider a stock broker career. Jokes aside very fun, amazingly looking and overall satisfying game.

Lapiroxx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:27am

I love this.

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:40pm

I love the graphics. Really fun! I got soooo much money money money :D I wish the stock was on sale for longer so I could make EVEN MORE MONEY!! Good job ^_^

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Nice game! I had a lot of fun, but it gets boring after time

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Very interesting aproaching to the theme. Nice job! I am really hook to the game :-)

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00pm

The art design in this is great! Liked the main mechanic too, but I felt it got boring very quickly. It's quite easy to buy/sell at roughly the right time and amass money, but nothing happens with it.
Really good start though!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Fantastic game, had fun playing

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:47pm

The game looks very nice and play very nicely, really well done. I had quite a bit of fun with the game, only if selling and buying stock is this easy in real life.

There were two things that confused me in the beginning. I didn't realise each time it switch graph, it is a different stock, I thought it was one stock we were monitoring in the beginning and then I found it out the hard way by getting fired :P The second thing is I didn't realize I had to sell multiple times if I bought multiple times.

Overall it was a very awesome game, I would love to see more of it (maybe it gets harder or something)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:03am

Very funny game)

AdWARDS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:09am

Although without any substantial objectives, I just couldn't stop playing, I think this is called GREED...
BTW, The intro menu is astonishing, but the sudden stop of the theme track ruined it...

strong99 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:28pm

I love the artwork. Good job. Simple and fun game.

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:30pm

I've made the almost the same name game. And it's about triangles. But your game is really nice instead of mine. You're the best.

aare says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:54pm

A simple gameplay, but polished all the way up! I absolutelly LOVE the art style - easilly the best looking Jam entry I seen so far :D

I made so much money I cant see anything :D

flakoflak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:04pm

it's fast and fun.

sim9 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:36pm

I like that you can make so much money that it's hard to see the screen :P Clever use of the theme and trading/betting was fun. Didn't like that you lose for not making bad investments though

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:13am

Really nice game, creative use for the theme, I never thought I would be so good in financial things haha.
The art is perfect and I've never seen so much money in my screen! Great job!

CremaGames says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:37am

One of the best games of the jam. Great idea, great implementation of both ideas and a great funny subtext.

Kushulain says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Great job ! Nice graphics, sounds. Gameplay is pretty fun. I reached 1.1186462+e07 dollars :P

davidB says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:53pm

well done and fun, one of my favorite.

zulman says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Amazing theme approach :) But it's a bit complicated to play on high volumes because of dollars floating on my screen :) Also love it because it's very similar to our game Let's Play Simulator 2016, i will be happy to hear feedback from you :) http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=31114

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Really enjoyed your game! Made me think of the games my sister makes a lot for Ludum Dare.

It looked great, the humour was great and the sounds worked well with it. Overall I think you should be happy with what you created, even if I'm not a great stockbroker.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:50pm

So much fun! I liked how the screen literally filled up with money! Though that did make it a little difficult to see what was going on.

I was bummed out that I was let go, after making so much money, just because I wouldn't buy some crummy shares that were never going to make any profit, no fair.

Fantastic audio, and graphics, and a lot of humour. I liked how the news in the front right correlated to some of the stocks, perhaps coincidence? But all Great Federation shares were plummeting when they had a war on, fantastic game for a dare!

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Pro:
+ Great graphics and nice audio
+ Cool concept
Con:
- I wish I could earn money that easily T_T
Obs:
o Stock fluctuation seemed a bit random (though some cases the stock would drop when I buy)
o Didn't know how to use all that information, I just looked at the graph and sometimes the headline on the right monitor

Great job!

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:38pm

o But maybe the randomness of the stock is the idea...
o Didn't have a win condition... I guess you can just win money forever xp

Mar 28, 2016 @ 3:07am

Nice graphics, good game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/MR4ln4T3mFk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]