Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Black White War

by vicious_br - Compo Entry

HOW TO PLAY - READ ME, PLZ:

1)Left and Right arrows to move. Its move step by step: I designed for a mobile game, so the gameplay for PC was not so good. Consider this, please!

2)Automatic shots: Get the power up capsules to over AI.

3)Destroy the enemy territory to your territory grow.

Sometimes music don't play :(

Bugs Fixed:

1) enemy easier;
2) panel to display strength;
3) tutorial;
4) fixed enemy movement (now very weak for your enjoyment);
5) Recording victories: quick rounds for you to play often;
6) More capsules (see the tutorial in the game).

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#103Innovation3.83
#205Audio3.27
#424Fun3.23
#446Overall3.28
#586Theme3.60

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:31am

Gameplay is great. Only the moving with the arrows is a bit haltingly and there should be more "perks" as the freeze.

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:32am

I'm not sure what's happening. after a few minutes of waiting for the game to appear, it keeps being plain black.

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:13am

It's really cool. I loved it! The AI is too overpowered though. I mean, it can teleport? That doesn't make sense. There should also be a power-up to increase shooting speed, so that even if the two bots are shooting in the same column, one will still prevail.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:15am

What is the strategy of the game? You have to wait for the frozen thingy.. It takes too much time.
What is the objective? Get 100% of the territory on a repetitive pace?!

Oxeren says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:15am

Fun game :)

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Very good game, I really liked it, it would be nice if it were more perks and a dificulty setting.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Yes, nunesbarbosa.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:15pm

I think about, NuggetTeam. Less than 48h to create difficult to program it. Tku 4 your feedback!

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Interesting concept, but I don't know how much of a game there actually is here. Almost no matter where you shoot, you're going to be gaining the same amount of territory, so the only thing that really effects the game are the capsules that freeze the opponent.

Awesome music by the way.

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Little hard to understand and more power ups would be nice. Otherwise good job!

kepons says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:56pm

The AI felt kinda cheaty but the game was still pretty good and balanced overall. Could have used more powerups.

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:10pm

I noticed that the only real strategy is to make sure you get the freeze powerup. It's an interesting idea but I think it balances itself out too much.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Fun little game. A bit simple, but it looks nice.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Wasn't sure where the game was. How do I win? How do I lose?

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Oh yeah this is a nice game. The sound is very loud but the gameplay is realy funny. Well done.

sputnik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Great concept! Movement could be a little more fluid. Well done!

arvaris says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Fun game! Is there any way to win? The enemy shoots so much faster than I can and teleports around. Overall, really good job!

upisfree says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Gameplay is nice.
It's very hard, but it's ok :D

paulfysh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Nice, fun and simple, nice job.

Mantlair says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:10am

Nice concept and a good use of theme. (Had no audio source on pc when I played sorry.) I think AI is a bit OP or overall diffuclty is high. Maybe that me idk but i kinda gave up on winning and played to see if there are other cool powerups. Besides this its a good game for mobile 2P! Well done!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:46pm

The concept is a good one. I feel the biggest problem here was the slowish pace of the game. With more powerups and quicker movement this could have been very fun and enjoyable. I think with little fixes you can make this into a very fun experience!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Once i started playing couldnt stop till i finished awesome :)

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Gameplay was good, I feel this could be expanded with multiplayer and more advanced AI. Nice music as well!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:38pm

You should enable the innovation rating because your game is one of the most creative I've played so far, well done :)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Great little game! The concept I really like, but I feel there are some balancing issues, the game is static until there are the powerups and the becomes super unbalanced on one side.

felixreeve says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Feels like there could be a little more tactical involvement, as it is then it feels like you just have to wait for power-ups. Maybe you need more complexity to how fast you can shoot? Brilliant idea though! Would rate very highly on innovation, and nice use of both themes!

aare says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:29pm

I really liked the idea of fighting over the territory - I wish tough that there was a little bit more to it. Shooting at the same tile as the opponent, with the same duration feels pointles since you grow / shrink both sides at the same time. The only difference was with the powerups, but they at the other hand feel very unbalanced and over powered.

A good entry tough - I would really like to see this concept expanded.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Tks for all feedbacks!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:10pm

@vicious_br, tried your game again upon your request and still don't know how to win or lose. For example I was able to blast through the defenses and hit the black player, I thought and couldn't win, and then let myself lose to their onslaught and couldn't die ... so I don't know the conditions for a win or lose and as such, don't know the strategy I should employ to guarantee a win. El

Allthebees says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:34am

This is the best game I have played so far! Really like the artstyle and music is great.The game feels so finished too, there's a lot of polish which is crazy. It would be an awesome game to have multiplayer in :)

Adreqi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Nice little game, fits both themes, fun to play :)

little bugs I saw:
-sometimes the enemy moves between two lines, meaning he can shoot two squares at once. Requesting ban for cheating :p
-you can move out of the screen. I think you shouldn't but it's up to you ^^

Also, the powerup spawn makes it a little unfair, since the more you have territory, the more chances you have to hit it since it spends most time on the biggest one.

Mantlair says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Replayed and had sound access this time. Voted for both. And good move making enemy easier B)

squigglez says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:01am

unclear objective. enemy kept getting op powerups so i could not make whole screen white if that was the objective. grammar is not great in tutorial but i cant judge because you could not be from an english speaking country

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:04am

Perfectly fits the theme. Takes a little long but other than that very entertaining game.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Great game. It is really easy to win if you can take all bonus. However I like this concept - innovative. Overall, this is a really good project. The music is one of the best that I have heard for LD34. Thumbs up ++

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Nice. I guess it needs some polish, but the idea is quite interesting. This really should be a multiplayer game, or at least hotseat 1v1. Also, it seems to me one's victory is determined simply by collecting all the power-ups, which is a bit … random? I dunno, I wished there was more strategy to it somehow.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Simple and effective. Good job. :)

acotis says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:55am

Pretty cool. I like the bullet physics in the black & white world. The audio at the beginning startled me though :P Also, Enemy seems to have the ability to get between squares so he can shoot two at once, and to teleport around on his side. Is this a rendering bug or a regular bug or just something he can do?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]