Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

When in doubt...C4

by Divinorium - Compo Entry

The city has a problem, a globe need to be removed from it's center and there's no trucks available. What to do?
"When in doubt... C4."

And that's how you now have to use C4 to push the globe of this urbanism nightmare of city. But don't worry all the buildings, like the globe, are made of titanium.

Left click - add C4 in the floor or make it stronger.
Right click - Reduce the charges of C4.
Esc - Open/close menu

The game was made having a 1920 1080 resolution. Use that if possible or the game may behave strange.

** Author Note **
This year only got barely a day to make the game. Made the best possible, but had to cut a alot of stuff, like citizens, casualty and damage done counter.
But well maybe i come back later to improve on it.
(The explosion sound i used one i had and edited to use it as base so it's fair game?)

Anyway thx for playing.
Divinorium

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#246Humor2.89
#342Innovation3.38
#452Fun3.19
#573Audio2.42
#664Graphics2.76
#673Overall3.00
#678Mood2.69
#860Theme3.05
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:40am

Enjoyable.

I liked how you used 3 or so assets to make a game that showed a difficulty curve. For what it's worth, as a design amateur, you have my respect for that.

Would have been interesting to see how a vertical challenge would work. As in, what would happen if you added a second floor?

Divinorium says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:01pm

@The Pelranthean
Thanks for the feedback.

In fact i was planning to make a "jump over a river" session as a vertical challenge.
But i figured it was hard enough to make the globe jump as it's, in fact i ended making it easier than what i had planned, and making a mandatory stunt jump may "kill" the game.(It's ludum dare, i don't believe i should force the players to "master" the game mechanics to complete it)

But there's some shortcuts that you may try to achieve.

Again, thanks for the feedback.
Divinorium

Suui says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:36pm

It was nice playing it, simple but and you get to feel the learning curve.

Unfortunately you didn't have much time, it may have turned into a greater experience, but really good for putting your effort in it for a single day, I appreciate that.

Lares Yamoir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Instead of moving the globe I just made it jump over the towers with the explosives, because it was easy to do. To bad you only had one day to work on the game, would have liked to see more element in the game.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Very fun little puzzle game. Had a bit of Missile Command in it but anticipating the ball's path and timing multiple C4 packs accordingly was pretty neat. i wish it had had a few more screens. But that's definitely something! Respect!

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:41am

Simple and fun.

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:08pm

enjoyable. i wasn't quite sure what i was doing. sometimes when the globe went off-screen, the camera didn't change. eventually when trying to move the glove between two building, the globe was on top of a few giant c4's and went into the sky, never to be seen again. whoops. cool concept though.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Very fun. Oh, right clicking reduces the charge. Well...I didn't want that anyway. ;)

Rustam says ...
Jun 28, 2017 @ 12:02pm

I was surfing net and fortunately came across this site and found very interesting stuff here. Its really fun to read. I enjoyed a lot. Thanks for sharing this wonderful information.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]