Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bean Rider

by dusho - Compo Entry

Ride the bean to lands in the sky, try to collect some gold, avoid birds, thunder clouds and giants.
Instructions:
Left mouse button (or left arrow, A) - lean left, turn left
Right mouse button (or right arrow, D) - lean right, turn right

(have also WebGL build, but don't know how to make it work - shows only blank or gray canvas)

Update: added Unity WebPlayer for non-Chrome users, you can steer now with arrows or A/D

Used:
Unity5.3
Visual Studio Community 2015
Paint.NET
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#211Theme4.04
#459Humor2.41
#481Overall3.23
#526Graphics3.00
#540Innovation3.07
#644Fun2.93
#660Audio2.04
#672Mood2.70

Comments

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:00am

its like a two button version of grow home. i mean that as a compliment. nice use of themes

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:39pm

What a beautiful and pleasant game. Very serene. :) On Mac here, so switching between click and two-finger-click is even more challenging. An option for a key equivalent would be nice.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Fun game!

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Definitely has a nice feel to it! It really captures the "Oh crap, I'm about to crash, and there's nothing I can do about it!" stress, in a really good way.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Mechanics are solid, require some planning and skill. Good entry!

mlepage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:15am

Deceptively fun. On Safari, the fonts didn't load initially, so I wasn't sure how to start the game. (I didn't realize it was a menu, without the labels.) I was never sure whether my bean had to collect coins, or my guy. And sometimes it seemed to hit my guy even though he should have been clear. Fun mechanic, trickier than it looks, maybe just needs a bit of smoothing up the concept into solid implementation. Throw in some background music and it could be a nice relaxing game, especially on mobile.

tGiant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Game is a bit too slow.

limered says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Nailed the Themes. Controls are fun, it's almost like drifting with a car.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Not a bad game. Damn, that beanstalk is hard to control...

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Nice little game! I really like the graphics and the mechanics are pretty smooth. I would've liked to see something like a score to see how height i was able to get at each round :)

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:58pm

i like that you tied in both themese but think the controls could of been a little tighter. with the principle of the game being dodging and collecting things it was actually quite difficult to do accurately with the turning arcs it had. a little faster with a little more rotation and i think it would of offered a much smoother control scheme and made it more fun to play

randomhuman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Hit detection's a bit off for the coins, but other than that a fun game. It's got the right feel for riding a giant bean-stalk!

Btw, I was able to fix my WebGL build by re-importing the problem sprites, not sure if that'll work for you.

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10pm

It's adorable! I especially love the way the vine and leaves grow. The simple backgrounds fit nicely too. The enemies make the game just hard enough though I think it would be cool if it increased speed over time. A+ on theme since you did both!

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:28am

Pretty solid game. Well done.
With some background music and some more sound effects for hitting different obstacles you could improve the mood of the game.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Cyclo - mario. like it!

dregamr says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:08am

Wow! Very cool! good job! ^_^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]